We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful resort”
Review of Rayavadee Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Rayavadee Resort
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Railay Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Beautiful resort”
Reviewed September 26, 2013

An amazing resort with access to 3 beaches. We had an incredible time here. The resort feels very exclusive yet integrated and we loved the design with its wonderful gardens and separate Chalets spread throughout.
Our room was stunning and huge with thoughtfully placed items that just completed the experience for us.
The staff were friendly, but not as welcoming as we had experienced elsewhere, however they were extremely attentive. The access to two pools and three beaches is really wonderful as you can feel like you are on a different island each day.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TouringTrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudine T, Director of Sales at Rayavadee Resort, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Dear TouringTrick,

Thank you very much for your kind feedback on your recent stay with us on TripAdvisor. We are very glad to know you loved the design of the pavilions and the way that they have been situated in amongst the gardens. It makes us very happy to know you enjoyed a wonderful holiday with us.

We hope to have the chance to welcome you back again someday soon.

Wishing you all the best.

Kind regards

Claudine T.
Director of Sales & Marketing
Rayavadee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,822 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,411
    248
    87
    41
    35
See reviews for
377
1,107
24
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (293)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 6 Contributor
67 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2013

Although the resort itself was nice, beaches around this area are not beautiful at all. West Railey beach was really dirty, full of garbage. East Railey beach was a mangrove forest, and Pranang beach had many longtail boats and chinese group tour occupied the area all day. For this price, I prefer my stay at a water bungalow in the Maldives.

Room Tip: Although the resort itself was nice, beaches around this area are not beautiful at all. West
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DonRome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudine T, Director of Sales at Rayavadee Resort, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Dear DonRome,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with others on Trip Advisor. Despite the fact that the beaches around the resort were not what you were expecting, we are glad to know that you liked the resort itself.

Of course the Maldives and a water bungalow are wonderful but Thailand and Maldives are two very different beach destinations and experiences. As all beaches in Thailand are public, we cannot prohibit those who would like to visit from coming. Colorful long tail boats do come as well during the day. Most of our guests are fine with this and find it all part of the lively Thai beach experience but of course if you were expecting the privacy of the Maldives, then it would not meet your expectations. As for the beaches themselves, Nammao East as you mention is a tidal beach with mangroves and is a popular place for rock climbing. Our guests tend to make use of Railay Beach which is a broad crescent swimming beach surrounded by dramatic limestone cliffs and Phranang Beach which offers white, soft sand and lovely views of the islands in the distance.

Once again, thank you for visiting us and we wish you all the best.

Kind regards,

Claudine T.
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larnaka City, Cyprus
Level 6 Contributor
223 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

Had a full 7 days there with my family middle of august 13' . The paradise that will make the most memorable & alive times of our lives ..... The resort that is secluded in 3 awsome outstanding breathtaking beaches, situated in a lush jungle greenery that makes each day more adventurous & so unigue that at last you dont want to leave this place..... and so as we...... The hydro pool pavillion so huge , 2 floors was a dream , that made our days so special for us and kids, so away from reality ... all restaurants fantastic cuisines with breathtaking views , staff was superb everywhere you stand in the resort and so lovable and friendly to the kids, the picturous & most beautiful spa, ambiance and dressed in fantastic thai culturous art, the beautiful treatments & massages that had the opportunity me & husband to do nearly every day... so unforgetable, the scenery beaches , that made our hearts to melt each day..... this is the place to define the beautiful paradise on earth.... for us so special , different & unigue, thanks to my husband who made the most memorable birthday i had ..... For sure Rayavadee will see us back with family again .... wishing all staff and people there all the best to this dreamable place !! 2 things could make things even more special : could add a restaurant with fine steakhouse since nearly all restaurants are offering thai cuisine / food , but brilliant kids menue for all ages just to add that!!! the other thing i wish and could be really more nicer was to keep the brilliant 3 beaches private by not allowing all the yaughts to bring the tourists there.... but i guess since the views are so breathtaking we guessed these as the attraction beaches.... but for such a unigue paradisious place on earth could worth all the privacy with no doubt!! Rayavadee , you made our aug 13' vacations tge first on list from all assian getaways ..... big congrats! we ll be back!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kikola12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudine T, Director of Sales at Rayavadee Resort, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Dear Kikola12,

Thank you so much for your glowing review. We are really happy to know that you and your family enjoyed your stay at our resort so much and that it was a very special birthday celebration for you. Thank you as well for your nice compliments on our staff and service, our spa, the restaurants and of course our natural setting. It is such a pleasure to know when our guests have had a truly memorable holiday with you.

We hope to welcome you back again one day very soon.

Kind regards,

Claudine T.
Director of Sales & Marketing
Rayavadee, krabi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Impeccable friendly service, beautiful pavilions and beautiful location. Our two young daughters loved it and so did we. Probably the best hotel I have ever stayed in of the many luxury hotels I know.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jhsymington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudine T, Director of Sales at Rayavadee Resort, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Dear JH Symington,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience of Rayavadee with others on Trip Advisor. We are very glad that you and your daughters enjoyed your stay with us and would rate us perhaps the best luxury hotel you have ever stayed at. It is a big compliment and we really appreciate it.

We hope to have the chance to welcome you back one day in the near future.

Kind regards

Claudine T.
Director of Sales & Marketing
Rayavadee, Krabi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, South Korea
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

It was my second visit to this resort. I've been there 10 years ago as a honeymoon and I revisited this resort with my daughters for 10th year celebration!

The resort was exactly same with 10 years ago.

There was nothing special equipment for children like kids club, slide in swimming pool or a bed guard system for little kids. However, stay in this place was perfect.

The weather was so great (I couldn't see raining at all, even though it was rainy season). The attendants were perfect.

We could see monkey in front of my living room window. We could see small lizards so much.

We could spend nice time in swimming pool and phranang beach.

I hope to revisit this resort again.. but the problem is "the cost". .. ^^

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank reonora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudine T, Director of Sales at Rayavadee Resort, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Dear Reonora,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback on your stay with others on Trip Advisor. It is very nice that you came back to visit us for a second time after 10 years with your daughters and liked it as much as the first time. We are glad you had nice weather and that you and your family enjoyed the nature, the monkeys and the lizards and swimming in the pool and at Phranang Beach.

We hope to have the chance to welcome you back again one day very soon.

Wishing you all the very best!

Kind regards,

Claudine

Claudine T.
Director of Sales & Marketing
Rayavadee, krabi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2013

We checked in the standard pavilion, and very lucky we got the one which was near the Infiniti pool, 1 min walk there! Strongly suggest this resort, excellent room view, nice weather, beautiful beaches, and all the staffs are professional and sweet.

We tried all the restaurants in rayavadee, and my personal favorite was grotto, the cave was magnificent, and ofc the food was good. They offered grotto set menu, 1 set for 1 person, but actually two ppl can share, and order 1~2 appetizer then it'll be pretty enough.

And I also recommend taking the sea excursion, although itz a bit pricy but totally worth it. We took the double engine speed boat to Hong Island, where Leonardo shoot the movie "the beach", and it was beauuuuuutiful!!! Not many tourist there when we arrived, not crowded at all, and the sand & the sea view was wonderful. There are half day & whole day sea excursion, we chose half day, but if u hv plent of time in krabi, whole day will be a nice choice including the picnic!

We definitely will go back to rayavadee again, i think the only bad thing is too many mosquitos there, rmb to use the mosquito spray all the time, u can get it everywhere in the resort! Ur room, the restaurant & the pool.

Room Tip: Actually the standard pavilion is already very nice, but u can check w the counter if u can get the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Katie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudine T, Director of Sales at Rayavadee Resort, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Dear Katie L,

Thank you for visiting us and for sharing your feedback on Trip Advisor. We are very glad to know you had a wonderful stay with us and enjoyed the pavilions, the staff service and the beautiful beaches. Thank you as well for your nice comments on dining at The Grotto, our restaurant in a limestone cave.

It's great that you enjoyed your half day excursion via our resort speedboat to Hong Island. It is really beautiful as you say and a wonderful way to spend time relaxing.

We hope to have the chance to welcome you back in the very near future and thank you for letting friends and family know about us too.

Kind regards,

Claudine T.
Director of Sales & Marketing
Rayavadee, Krabi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013

We chose to stay here since we could not stay at Tubkaak in Krabi for our whole trip as the room we wanted was booked. Also a deciding factor was the high ratings for Railay Beach and the hotel. The rooms themselves are great. We loved the furnishings and toiletries. It felt like a nice adventure at first since we had to take a boat to get there. The employees were friendly. Food was ok but not 5 star. The views were amazing but I much preferred the Tubkaak beach over Rayavadee's beaches. The views at Tubkaak were just as amazing. There is a lot of shell and coral in Rayavadee's beaches that we find uncomfortable to swim in with kids especially. I think we would have been better off to just take a boat out there for a day. We did get one monkey sight. We were walking back and I had a bag with take out pizza in it. From behind me the monkey punched through my bag and took a slice of pizza. It scared me to death but was still exciting. We only stayed there 2 nights and I would say that was enough for us. We kind of got bored there. The areas outside the hotel are not very clean. That was a turnoff. Room service was bad.

Room Tip: We had a deluxe room in the middle of the property. All look pretty much the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MyNazzal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudine T, Director of Sales at Rayavadee Resort, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Dear MyNazzal,

Thank you for your kind feedback regarding your recent stay. We appreciate you sharing your feedback on Trip Advisor. I am sorry you were not able to book the hotel you first had your heart set on (the Tub Kaak) which is a lovely property but in a different price range and with different facilities available from ours.

Despite this we are very glad to know you enjoyed the pavilions and the furnishings and amenities provided and found the arrival experience via speedboat a nice and adventurous way to reach the resort. Thank you as well for your positive comments on our staff and their service.

We are glad you got to see a monkey during your stay, albeit a naughty one. Very sorry that he/she made off with your bag of pizza.

We are also sorry to hear you felt bored after two days with us. Please feel free to write to us at sales@rayavadee.com with suggestions or new activities if you have a moment. We do have complimentary nature hikes daily, afternoon tea with cultural activities, at least two complimentary kids activities on the programme each day (free of charge), tennis and squash courts and complimentary water sports equipment as well as paid activities such as cookery classes, snorkeling excursions to nearby islands, kayaking activities in the mangrove forests, rock climbing for adults and kids and a full service spa for those who prefer to just take it easy. We would love to have your suggestions though so please do send them through.

As for your comment on the room service, we will share this with our team so that we can make improvements in the future.

Thank you very much and we hope you enjoyed the rest of your stay in Thailand.
Wishing you all the best.

Claudine T.
Director of Sales & Marketing
Rayavadee, Krabi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Railay Beach
1.3 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi
0.3 mi away
Railay Village Resort
Railay Village Resort
#6 of 13 in Railay Beach
910 reviews
1.8 mi away
Ban Sainai Resort
Ban Sainai Resort
#1 of 108 in Ao Nang
1,476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
Amari Vogue Krabi
Amari Vogue Krabi
#4 of 12 in Nong Thale
2,369 reviews
0.3 mi away
Railay Bay Resort & Spa
Railay Bay Resort & Spa
#8 of 13 in Railay Beach
2,098 reviews
8.5 mi away
Phulay Bay, A Ritz-Carlton Reserve
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rayavadee Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rayavadee Resort

Property: Rayavadee Resort
Address: 214 Moo 2, Tambon Ao-Nang | Amphoe Muang, Railay Beach, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Railay Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Railay Beach
#1 Luxury Hotel in Railay Beach
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Railay Beach
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Railay Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Rayavadee Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rayavadee's setting on the edge of Krabi's National Marine Park at the heart of the stunning Phranang Peninsula perfectly blends lush foliage, limestone cliffs, white sand beaches and the emerald waters of the Andaman Sea. The resort's award winning architecture and tropical landscapes were inspired by the atmosphere of a southern Thai village. Rayavadee's enchanting two-story pavilions and beachfront villas are spread over 26 acres of coconut groves, their spacious interiors and décor providing unsurpassed comfort for the property's highly discerning guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Rayavadee Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rayavadee Hotel Railay Beach
Rayavadee Resort Krabi
Rayavadee Hotel Krabi
Rayavadee Krabi
Rayavadee Resort Railay Beach, Krabi, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing