We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding”
Review of Rayavadee Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Rayavadee Resort
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Railay Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Impeccable friendly service, beautiful pavilions and beautiful location. Our two young daughters loved it and so did we. Probably the best hotel I have ever stayed in of the many luxury hotels I know.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jhsymington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudine T, Director of Sales at Rayavadee Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2013

Dear JH Symington,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience of Rayavadee with others on Trip Advisor. We are very glad that you and your daughters enjoyed your stay with us and would rate us perhaps the best luxury hotel you have ever stayed at. It is a big compliment and we really appreciate it.

We hope to have the chance to welcome you back one day in the near future.

Kind regards

Claudine T.
Director of Sales & Marketing
Rayavadee, Krabi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,913)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

959 - 965 of 1,914 reviews

Reviewed September 3, 2013

It was my second visit to this resort. I've been there 10 years ago as a honeymoon and I revisited this resort with my daughters for 10th year celebration!

The resort was exactly same with 10 years ago.

There was nothing special equipment for children like kids club, slide in swimming pool or a bed guard system for little kids. However, stay in this place was perfect.

The weather was so great (I couldn't see raining at all, even though it was rainy season). The attendants were perfect.

We could see monkey in front of my living room window. We could see small lizards so much.

We could spend nice time in swimming pool and phranang beach.

I hope to revisit this resort again.. but the problem is "the cost". .. ^^

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank reonora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudine T, Director of Sales at Rayavadee Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2013

Dear Reonora,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback on your stay with others on Trip Advisor. It is very nice that you came back to visit us for a second time after 10 years with your daughters and liked it as much as the first time. We are glad you had nice weather and that you and your family enjoyed the nature, the monkeys and the lizards and swimming in the pool and at Phranang Beach.

We hope to have the chance to welcome you back again one day very soon.

Wishing you all the very best!

Kind regards,

Claudine

Claudine T.
Director of Sales & Marketing
Rayavadee, krabi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

We checked in the standard pavilion, and very lucky we got the one which was near the Infiniti pool, 1 min walk there! Strongly suggest this resort, excellent room view, nice weather, beautiful beaches, and all the staffs are professional and sweet.

We tried all the restaurants in rayavadee, and my personal favorite was grotto, the cave was magnificent, and ofc the food was good. They offered grotto set menu, 1 set for 1 person, but actually two ppl can share, and order 1~2 appetizer then it'll be pretty enough.

And I also recommend taking the sea excursion, although itz a bit pricy but totally worth it. We took the double engine speed boat to Hong Island, where Leonardo shoot the movie "the beach", and it was beauuuuuutiful!!! Not many tourist there when we arrived, not crowded at all, and the sand & the sea view was wonderful. There are half day & whole day sea excursion, we chose half day, but if u hv plent of time in krabi, whole day will be a nice choice including the picnic!

We definitely will go back to rayavadee again, i think the only bad thing is too many mosquitos there, rmb to use the mosquito spray all the time, u can get it everywhere in the resort! Ur room, the restaurant & the pool.

Room Tip: Actually the standard pavilion is already very nice, but u can check w the counter if u can get the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Katie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudine T, Director of Sales at Rayavadee Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2013

Dear Katie L,

Thank you for visiting us and for sharing your feedback on Trip Advisor. We are very glad to know you had a wonderful stay with us and enjoyed the pavilions, the staff service and the beautiful beaches. Thank you as well for your nice comments on dining at The Grotto, our restaurant in a limestone cave.

It's great that you enjoyed your half day excursion via our resort speedboat to Hong Island. It is really beautiful as you say and a wonderful way to spend time relaxing.

We hope to have the chance to welcome you back in the very near future and thank you for letting friends and family know about us too.

Kind regards,

Claudine T.
Director of Sales & Marketing
Rayavadee, Krabi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

We chose to stay here since we could not stay at Tubkaak in Krabi for our whole trip as the room we wanted was booked. Also a deciding factor was the high ratings for Railay Beach and the hotel. The rooms themselves are great. We loved the furnishings and toiletries. It felt like a nice adventure at first since we had to take a boat to get there. The employees were friendly. Food was ok but not 5 star. The views were amazing but I much preferred the Tubkaak beach over Rayavadee's beaches. The views at Tubkaak were just as amazing. There is a lot of shell and coral in Rayavadee's beaches that we find uncomfortable to swim in with kids especially. I think we would have been better off to just take a boat out there for a day. We did get one monkey sight. We were walking back and I had a bag with take out pizza in it. From behind me the monkey punched through my bag and took a slice of pizza. It scared me to death but was still exciting. We only stayed there 2 nights and I would say that was enough for us. We kind of got bored there. The areas outside the hotel are not very clean. That was a turnoff. Room service was bad.

Room Tip: We had a deluxe room in the middle of the property. All look pretty much the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MyNazzal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudine T, Director of Sales at Rayavadee Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2013

Dear MyNazzal,

Thank you for your kind feedback regarding your recent stay. We appreciate you sharing your feedback on Trip Advisor. I am sorry you were not able to book the hotel you first had your heart set on (the Tub Kaak) which is a lovely property but in a different price range and with different facilities available from ours.

Despite this we are very glad to know you enjoyed the pavilions and the furnishings and amenities provided and found the arrival experience via speedboat a nice and adventurous way to reach the resort. Thank you as well for your positive comments on our staff and their service.

We are glad you got to see a monkey during your stay, albeit a naughty one. Very sorry that he/she made off with your bag of pizza.

We are also sorry to hear you felt bored after two days with us. Please feel free to write to us at sales@rayavadee.com with suggestions or new activities if you have a moment. We do have complimentary nature hikes daily, afternoon tea with cultural activities, at least two complimentary kids activities on the programme each day (free of charge), tennis and squash courts and complimentary water sports equipment as well as paid activities such as cookery classes, snorkeling excursions to nearby islands, kayaking activities in the mangrove forests, rock climbing for adults and kids and a full service spa for those who prefer to just take it easy. We would love to have your suggestions though so please do send them through.

As for your comment on the room service, we will share this with our team so that we can make improvements in the future.

Thank you very much and we hope you enjoyed the rest of your stay in Thailand.
Wishing you all the best.

Claudine T.
Director of Sales & Marketing
Rayavadee, Krabi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

It's just stunning. We spent couple of nights with our family here and we were just thrilled. Great beach (sometimes too many boats and tourists), epic location and scenery. Our son was climbing at the nearby rocks and he just loved the place. Cabins were great and staff was friendly. Just nice!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pinkcallalily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudine T, Director of Sales at Rayavadee Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2013

Dear Pinkcallalily,

Thank you very much for the nice feedback on your recent stay at Rayavadee. We are glad to know you enjoyed your time at the resort and especially that your son had a good time, enjoying the natural environment around us and the activities on offer. We hope to have the chance to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Claudine

Director of Sales & Marketing
Rayavadee, Krabi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Seriously?!!! This hotel is a joke...
I am really surprised about the excellent reviews (written by their marketing department??).
The hotel is old and half under construction, so dont be surprised by the paint smell instead of frangipanis.
The Staff seem untrained & overworked. Management was unseen.
Deluxe room was small with useless swinging chair taking the whole space, and 0 view (none of the villa have a view on the sea, but located in a bushy garden filled with scary monkeys and their extrements...).
When our family arrived we did not feel any luxury touch expected from "5 stars" hotel (except for the price) and some Staff even seemed bothered by our questions, or maybe just did not understand English.
If you try to call for a room service, be prepared to wait a long time and dont be surprised if they forget your request.
No surveillance at the pool which is disturbing when you are with kids, you cannot relax at all.

Anyway, you cant relax with the beach filled with thousands of backpackers and dozen of very very noisy boats...Backpackers would even try to sneak in the hotel area and would take one of the very few beds!! Nobody stopped them to protect our privacy and our belongings left by the sunbeds. Me and my husband wanted to leave the hotel, but at the price we paid... we could not sacrifice those few thousands dollars paid...

The next day we tried again to go to the beach very early in the morning to avoid the crowd, however it was high tide no sand left and the first backpackers already took in the resort sundeck! Seriously, this was so much stress...I was afraid to let my kids swim in the water which was filled with empty bottled and suspicious foam.

Talking about suspicious there was dead fish inside the resort many pond, shocking my kids

Some positive, just to cheer us up...The hotel has electronic cards for the doors, it was nice to witness a bit of modernity. The library had a great book& dvd offer, the boutique was amazing...but we didnt come there for that...

Some of the staff were nice and trying hard, other looked tired. The little carts that drive you around the resort do not merit the long wait (15min pus)

It was not a calm and relaxing stay. I felt cheated on the price with very little value added
no personal touch at all. Disturbing lack of the management presence even though the hotel was probably half full.
Food is ok. Nothing spectacular, some restaurants closed.

It was not what I imagined and certainly not what the official pictures show. Be warned.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
26  Thank eloa e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudine T, Director of Sales at Rayavadee Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2013

Dear Eloa E,

Thank you for your feedback on Trip Advisor. We are very sorry to know you did not enjoy your stay with us. Sadly, we have no record of you sharing your feedback while on property or asking to speak to the General Manager about your grievances. We did not find any feedback/guest feedback from you after check out either so that we could contact you personally. Too bad.

It is worth nothing that your opinion is not shared by the majority of our guests. Our marketing team does not write any of the comments on Trip Advisor as you insinuated, so while you may be ‘surprised’ by the excellent reviews of others, they are objective and written by past guests who loved the property. A few comments in response to yours:

-Regarding the refurbishment work: The resort is refurbishing the interiors of some of its pavilions during these quieter months. This work is being undertaken in small sections so as not to impact our guests’ stay and guests are assigned pavilions at a distance from this to avoid disturbance. It is normal to undertake work each year to maintain and improve our resort but we are by no means ‘Half under construction.’

- Regarding the pavilions: We are sorry you found your two-story pavilion small for your taste. Pavilions have tropical garden views not sea view but guests are never more than a 5 minute walk to one of our beautiful beaches from any point in the resort. We do not promise sea view to guests and indeed we add a clear mention of this fact in every reservation confirmation letter to avoid any misunderstanding.

-Regarding safety at the pool: We have dedicated staff assigned to offer towel and food and beverage service to our guests at the swimming pool. The staff undergo lifeguard training certification each year but we do not provide life guards and this is stated clearly on the sign of safety regulations at the pool. Our staff are ready to assist and service guests at all times but parents are ultimately responsible for the safety of their children.

- Regarding the beaches: We are not able to provide private beaches for our guests’ use only. All beaches in Thailand are part of National Park property and therefore open to visitors. Beaches can get busy at certain times of the year, normally between the hours of 11 and 3 when day visitors come. However to say there are thousands of people on our beach at this time of year is just not correct. And reading that you did not have any place to lounge at our pool or on our lounge deck because backpackers were stealing them from guests sounds very unusual indeed. Here we can only say we wish you had contacted our Guest Services or the General Manager to make them aware of your concern.

- Regarding restaurant closures: During your stay, Raya Dining was closed due to annual maintenance work. Breakfast in the meantime was served at Krua Phranang restaurant, overlooking the sea. Lunch as well. And The Grotto restaurant, a favourite of many of our guests, was open for dinner to compensate for this.

-Regarding our natural environment: We are sorry to know you came across a dead fish in one of the ponds on your travels around the resort and that this ‘shocked’ your children. We are in a natural environment with lots of flora and fauna around us so it is possible although we have not encountered such a thing ourselves. We are a very natural property on the edge of a national park and while everything is clean and tended regularly by our gardener team, we are not a manicured golf course resort, nor do we strive to be.

In the end, we are sorry that Rayavadee was not the right resort for you and your family. We work very hard to please all of our guests but appreciate that we may not be a perfect fit for everyone. We wish you all the very best and hope that the rest of your trip in Thailand was pleasant and enjoyable.

Kindest regards,

Claudine T.
Director of Sales & Marketing
Rayavadee, Krabi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Starting with the positive:
-stunning location between two beaches, one of them "Phranang" probably the most beautiful beach in the world. This is not advertised enough in their websites...
-boat pick-up: small speed boat with crew and captain, felt quite a VIP! Journey at Rayavadee started with the boat pick-up which was the only real luxury touch of the whole stay. Altough they didn't even say hello/ welcome to Rayavadee neither did they ask for our name when we got in...very strange.
Getting cold water after our long trip would have also been a nice touch...
-complimentary beers, soft drinks and snacks in the fridge
-wide grounds, although we got lost many times and its not well lighted at night, we loved the "jungle feeling" of the resort. Gardens are not manicured and perfect but rather a bit wild, was quite nice to feel we were in "real nature".
-beautiful infinite pool located in front of the beach
-really nice Spa

Now, the negatives...
Felt the management is not present, poor Staff organisation& inconsistent service. They also seem under-staffed and some of them just work too much, it made me feel very very uncomfortable.

-Staff: would not automatically greet or acknowledge us, seems it only relies on the staff personality than a proper quality service training required for this kind of price range. Don't expect the golden rule "Hello-Thank you-Goodbye" from everyone...
When asking a buggy standing right in front of us, one cold-faced lady "Jazzy" just told us: "you have to wait because buggy is busy to pick-up luggages first...". Felt luggages were just more important than us, quite a disturbing answer!! Anyway we waited, she jumped on the buggy as well and jumped-off to her next duty place without even saying goodbye or anything...???sorry to disturb lady...

Also witnessed Staff on night duty (8pm-all night long at the reception) still helping at breakfast at 12pm...I asked her if she slept she told me "no sleep yet! But I'm used to it!"...made me sick and uncomfortable. I am not spending my money to exploit people.
Same at check-out, only 1 guy in his 50's came to pick-up our 60kg luggages (by walk, not buggy or luggage carriage). It made me sick, 2 people should be mandatory.

- We were upgraded for a Pool Villa, nice but not Waou. Ground floor looks a bit old fashion (brown curtains, heavy brown furnitures, cheezy wood carved bambous and marble alike wall!!). The pictures on their website are a way more sleek...
We loved the 2nd floor: pristine white bathroom, really good quality bed.
Terrasse was just ok, few sun and we would have appreciated to be warned about the monkeys: we were attacked by 5 monkeys after peeling 1 mango outside, that was quite a scary experience!!

-At the end of our stay we asked the hotel to organise for transportation until Ko Samui. This is how our stay ended in nightmare...
Without explaining us anyting about the travel conditions (which we would have refused) they booked us for a bus-boat transfer. Assuming we are requesting to a "luxury" hotel and not a travel street agency, I completely relied on them...Don't!!!
A mini-van already full of backpackers came to pick-us up at the pier after the boat ride,no Staff was there we had to load our heavy luggages ourself and to travel 2 persons in the front by the driver with no security belt working... Then we had to change for a bus, still the luggage issue and full of backpackers! Impossibe to sit together with my fiancee.
Then the boat.

Ok let me get that clear, they could have arranged for private car transportation to the boat. We were not even offered with the option, the money was not an issue and we could have enjoyed the resort much longer rather than be stuck in a slow bus with cheerful backpackers...I was very frustrated.

So basically this hotel is not consistent. Sometimes its luxury, sometimes its just ok or low-quality. They have so much potential to grow and become a top destination. Good luck to them...a lot has to be done. Paying same money there as let's say the Four Seasons is a joke.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank mimosachan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudine T, Director of Sales at Rayavadee Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2013

Dear Mimosachan,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback on your recent stay at Rayavadee with us on Trip Advisor. I believe our General Manager sent you a reply last week to follow up on your feedback regarding your transfer experience but please allow us to reply here as well. Firstly, we are glad to know that overall you enjoyed your stay and as per your note to our GM after your departure saying that you felt that “Everything was very nice during the 3 days at Rayavadee. We received lovely villa upgrade and spent nice time. Few small mishaps but the nature and beach were magnificent so we did not think twice, and left you a very positive comments".

We are glad that you appreciated the surrounding nature and the jungle-like gardens which are part of the natural appeal of the resort. We apologize if the monkeys, which inhabit the cliffs around the resort, startled you. We do make an effort to tell our guests about them and based on your feedback we have included a paragraph about this in our arrival letter. Thank you for the suggestion.

We are also glad you enjoyed the five-star arrival experience in the resort’s own private speedboat, our beautiful beachfront infinity pool and our spa and that you appreciated the small touches such as the complimentary beer, soft drinks and snacks provided to you daily in your pavilion as well as the décor of the upper floor of your pavilion, the bath and the bedding. We are sorry to read you did not really like the décor on the ground floor. It is a brand new design and we receive many positive comments on it and all of the small handcrafted details such as the bamboo fittings which are inspired by our natural surroundings.

We do need to address your feedback on our staff and apologize here if you did not find their welcoming warm and friendly. They are our greatest asset and we normally get wonderful feedback on the excellent and caring Thai style service they provide. We have taken all of your comments however into consideration and have shared them with the team to see what can be done to improve in this area. I would like to assure you that while our team work hard, they have normal schedules and no one is taken advantage of/exploited or required to work beyond their scheduled hours. I appreciate that you had this impression and felt concerned but it is simply incorrect.

Finally, regarding your departure arrangements to Koh Samui, we feel very badly knowing that you had an uncomfortable and unpleasant experience with this outside operator. Our staff did try to explain the various options available to you, including the private hotel van transfer which we do indeed offer but which is a much pricier choice. Unfortunately, they understood wrongly that you were not interested in this more expensive option. I am afraid that the message just did not get through and for this we are truly sorry.

We thank you sincerely for your comments and for sharing and will continue to strive to improve our guests experience and stay. We wish you all the very best and hope that we may have the chance to welcome you back again one day in the future.

Kindest regards,

Claudine

Claudine Triolo
Director of Sales & Marketing
Rayavadee, Krabi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Railay Beach
0.2 mi away
Railay Village Resort
Railay Village Resort
#5 of 12 in Railay Beach
942 reviews
1.2 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi
0.2 mi away
Sunrise Tropical Resort
Sunrise Tropical Resort
#4 of 12 in Railay Beach
825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Amari Vogue Krabi
Amari Vogue Krabi
#4 of 12 in Nong Thale
2,470 reviews
0.2 mi away
Railay Bay Resort & Spa
Railay Bay Resort & Spa
#7 of 12 in Railay Beach
2,193 reviews
8.4 mi away
Phulay Bay, A Ritz-Carlton Reserve
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rayavadee Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rayavadee Resort

Address: 214 Moo 2, Tambon Ao-Nang | Amphoe Muang, Railay Beach, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Railay Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Railay Beach
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Railay Beach
#1 Spa Hotel in Railay Beach
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Railay Beach
Price Range: $413 - $1,304 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Rayavadee Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rayavadee's setting on the edge of Krabi's National Marine Park at the heart of the stunning Phranang Peninsula perfectly blends lush foliage, limestone cliffs, white sand beaches and the emerald waters of the Andaman Sea. The resort's award winning architecture and tropical landscapes were inspired by the atmosphere of a southern Thai village. Rayavadee's enchanting two-story pavilions and beachfront villas are spread over 26 acres of coconut groves, their spacious interiors and décor providing unsurpassed comfort for the property's highly discerning guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, MrandMrsSmith, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Rayavadee Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rayavadee Hotel Railay Beach
Rayavadee Resort Krabi
Rayavadee Hotel Krabi
Rayavadee Krabi
Rayavadee Resort Railay Beach, Krabi, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing