We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exclusive and spectacular resort”
Review of Rayavadee Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rayavadee Resort
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Railay Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 8, 2012 via mobile

This resort is indeed spectacular, located on a secluded peninsula with three beaches and surrounded by amazing limestone hills. We were picked up by the hotel van from Krabi airport then transferred on to speedboat passing by beautiful beaches and landscapes (whole trip about 40mins). We arrived at Nammao Beach with the beautiful hills (we even saw dozens of rock-climbers) and we were greeted by the very attentive staff at the reception. Our first impression: The resort is situated in a something between a coconut plantation and a tropical forest with all the villas dispersed all over the resort. Wow! Our deluxe villa in a traditional rustic Thai style is great, somehow dated, but clean. It has two storeys: ground floor reception/ living and upper floor bedroom; and a little garden. The beaches: Nammao beach is for arrival and service, not really for swimming. It is shared by a dozen of other mid to low end resorts. There are even restaurants, bars even with convenient stores and tailor shops! Phranang beach is most beautiful with Happy Island in front, the Princess cave on one side and the Bat cave on the other side. It is exclusively accessible only by Rayavadee, however during daytime daytrip tourists come via boats from Aonang. During sunset we had the most amazing view at Railay beach. This beach is also shared with other resorts and is also the pick-up place for day excursions. Dinner at the hotel is very expensive. We found the recommended Thai restaurants being empty several times. So we had dinner at other resorts at a reasonable price.When we came back to our villa the hotel was so attentive enough to send me a birthday cake and a bottle of red wine at my birthday! The hotel itself has many activities such as walk to viewpoints (dangerous), bat caves (dangerous), kayaking, tennis, squash, gym, and other day trips some for free and others very, very expensive. Therefore we joined a daytrip at the neighbouring resort and went to the stunning Hong Island.This hotel even has free (and good) afternoon tea set. The breakfast buffet was good and delicious with a supplemented menu (hot food). The hotel provided lots of bottled water. The minibar is free for snacks and juices except some alcohols. In the evening the staff even put some biscuits next to the bed. How nice is that! Overall, we have a heavenly experience in Rayavadee with great service. The downside is the very high price and the dated villas.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Crobbie2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,894)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,038 - 1,044 of 1,894 reviews

Reviewed November 3, 2012

if you want luxury and the best go here, private speed boat to get us to the island. red carpet arrival, met by the manager of the hotel. pavilions simply stunning, food and service brilliant. will be going back and would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Burtoft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

Just spent a very enjoyable 10 days at the Rayavadee resort.

Once at Krabi airport the Kuoni rep directed us to our designated driver who took us to meet the boat...transfer time about 15 mins.
The Rayavadee boat picked us up from Nong Nuch pier taking us to the resort...transfer time 10 mins. If the tide is out a tractor and trailer comes out to the boat to meet you and transfer you and your luggage to the beach.
We were met by the Rayavadee greeting party and booked in swiftly. We declined orientation as we had been travelling for 24 hrs and needed a rest .
After 10 mins in our room a chilled bottle of champagne was delivery....thank you Rayavadee.

The first thing to say about this resort is the fabulous setting...its like living in a jungle. The palm trees and foliage are home to monkeys, squirrels, hornbills, birds of prey, lizards, geckos and an abundance of beautiful butterflies and other buzzy things.Your own private detached bungalow is nestled in the foliage and has a labyrinth of Koi filled ponds/ stream snaking around the resort. No other hotel on the Railay peninsular is like this hotel.

The accommodation is superb, a two story bungalow with downstairs lounge area with toilet and upstairs bedroom and bathroom...all very modern with a HUGE bed. The upstairs bathroom has a very good range of spa shampoos , soaps, insect repellant etc which is topped up daily, all in all an excellent range of products. Complimentary Tea and coffee making facilities and water are supplied every day and ...shock horror....a LOT of complimentary chocolate, beer etc in the mini bar......which is also replenished daily. Nice touch.

Breakfast is situated at Raya Dining and boasts a well appointed buffet...anything from cornflakes to curry, pastries to smoke salmon , an English cooked breakfast can be ordered at your table.

Another nice touch is the hotel offers complimentary afternoon tea from 4pm til 5pm at the Raya Dining. Basically some nibbles and nice deserts with gallons of tea or coffee.

The hotel has a library where you can use free wifi and has a good range of books and DVDs for those afternoon thunderstorms.The boutique is very beautiful but unfortunately out of my price range unless I wanted to take out a small mortgage.

So, once we had settled in we went exploring, First to Pharang Beach...its very beautiful with the limestone stacks in the water and the cliff backdrop BUT....its so busy. Visitors are continuously dropped off by noisy long boats/speedboats and within 5mins of setting foot on the beach we were accosted by Goy, the local beach masseuse who pesters the life out of you.....So we had a look around walked up and down the beach and then carried onto the next beach.

We walked through the gardens to the pool and Railay beach which for us was just fantastic. The pool area is beautiful with Jacuzzi and infinity pool overlooking the beach and once again surrounded by a cliff backdrop. Monkeys in the trees and a bird of prey circling above. Nice and quiet and relaxing.
Railay Terrace restaurant looks over the beach and thankfully gets the sea breeze...yes...its very hot. We dined there most of the time. You can order lunch from the pool which is rather pleasant. The pool boys give an excellent service and are very polite.

Although the boats do come to Railay Beach they are further down and not so noticeable ...from there you can walk to 'Walking Street' where there are various shops and bars where we indulged ourselves with a few cocktails. Other hotels also have restaurants on the beach front so we tried out a few. Although a bit cheaper they were no where near the service and quality of the Railay Terrace.
So we walked from Railay beach through 'Walking Street' down the path to Nammao Beach or Railay East as its also called........and this is where it gets a bit grim. Unfortunately is very tidal and once its low tide the mud stinks. The shops and bars take on a more youthful aspect...lovely if your in your twenties and enjoy the hippy lifestyle on offer......some of the bars are ok...we went to see the Thai boxing and visited the Bob Marley bar and the Last Bar.

We also like to do a bit of snorkelling but probably due to the stormy weather the sea was not particularly clear. Once the weather settled down we tried again...it was better but if snorkelling is a big part of your holiday go to the Maldives.

In my opinion it was the hotel that made this holiday special...the gardens, the excellent service, the quiet location (although we were just out of season) the wildlife.

....the only downside was the price of the alcohol...its hellish expensive £70 a bottle. Needless to say we didn't indulge and drank at one of the bars on the beach.

As for the weather...it was lovely and hot 30 + got a bit humid sometimes and was invariably followed by a welcome thunderstorm. Remember your fly repellant and factor 30.

I would definitely stay at the Rayavadee again and can recommend the resort.

We booked our stay with Blue Bay Travel /Kuoni who got us a fabulous deal......shop around, its much cheaper out of season and also much quieter.

Room Tip: Rooms 319..321..323 all look out over a grassed area and onto the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cathyt25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Unfortunately for the Rayavadee, we came straight from Six Senses on Yao Noi, one of the most wonderful places we've been on our travels. But, the Rayavadee is a quality resort, make no mistake. It's hard to quantify what it was about the place but it just missed something that made it outstanding. I think it's best to make points:

Good points:
Outstanding Breakfast
Amazing Swimming pool area
Incredible staff - some of the friendliest we've encountered
Table Tennis table
Free beer and Chocolate in the rooms
Beautiful Surroundings shared with the monkeys!
Afternoon Tea was great and a lovely touch

Bad Points:
Rooms are a little dated, but still very nice and comfortable (TV upstairs didn't work)
Shower in the bathroom was very poor
No free wifi in the rooms, but they did provide it in the library.
Expensive dining (but like all resorts of this quality it's to be expected)
Poor lighting around the area at night, but I assume it's to increase the ambience

Overall, I think a slight upgrade (I think some rooms are being upgraded) and this place could be superb.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Worems
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2012 via mobile

Just a wonderous supreme location. They pick you up at a private pier after the airport van transfer seamless. Checking in flawless with over the top 2 storey rooms for all guests. Restaurants are excellent but resort prices. Easy access to less expensive Thai beach style restaurants and bars if you wish. Staff very attentive. Inclusive breakfast Buffett flawless. We did not use the spa as was expensive and running temporarily out of one of the villas which was beautiful but not the full service you would expect for the $$$. Free wifi in the library good, signal on room $15/day but too slow to use. Mostly honeymooners and families with very young children. Beaches are awesome but no chairs or services. Resort borders 3 beaches with restaurants and pools. Many day tripping tourists particularly on the west beach but other beaches not so much. Great spot you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Muskoka21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed at the Rayavadee resort for 3 nights from october 20th 2012 on the krabi leg of our far east tour which included stays at 5 star hotels in Bangkok (Siam Kempinksi) and Siem Reap cambodia (privalege floor borei anghor) and 2 night stopover in Dubai (burj Al arab). We were therefore excited to visit the Rayavadee resort and booked it based on reputation and the beautiful pictures and reviews we had read. Here are a few of our thoughts:

The Good:

- The setting of the resort is beautiful and the limestone cliffs are truly stunning
- Having own little 2 floor "villa" is a nice concept and so there is a degree of privacy
- The bathroom products in the rooms are very nice indeed
- We tried the Raya dining and the Thai restaurant with the latter being the better in our opinion. The set menus offered a wide range of varied dishes which were delicious but obviously come at a high price which is expected of a resort like this.
- The private boat excursions offer flexibility and the guides were good at finding the quiet spots on the beaches
- Large selection of soft drinks and chocolates in the fridge are complimentary

What can be improved/the not so great experiences we had:

- The interior of the villas seem very dated and it is suprising to see small size box tv's with poor picture quality and no in-room wifi (wi fi is only available in the library) in a resort in this price range. During our stay we could see that some of the villas were being refurbished so hopefully the technology will be improved.
- The Rayavadee is billed as a tranquil and peaceful resort however when in bed you can hear the thumping bass of dance music from a bar outside the resort and the air conditioning was also very loud. The longtail boats can be loud too...
- The staff were very friendly however the restaurants seemed very understaffed (perhaps because we visitied in low season?) with only 2 waitresses and so the service was very sluggish and it took a long time to get bill etc The restuarants close at 11pm which we felt was quite early and many of the staff seemed to live in lodgings that are a boat ride from the resort and so seemed to rush to get the last boat. Therefore we felt rushed too to eat our food but we had only been sat longer because the service was slow to deliver each course to our table.
- We had a cockroach in our room which I believe was not to do with the cleanliness of the room because it was fine it probably just down to the "jungle" type setting - there are bound to be insects about. I killed the cockroach with a slipper and left the slipper next to the splattered cockroach - we then left for a walk and dinner and left the "please make up room sign" on door. later in the evening we returned to find the room had been made up, and the slipper that was next to the cockroach had been moved yet the splattered mess still remained on the floor. We thought that was odd it had not been cleaned or nothing was noted of it.
- at night it can be hard to navigate around the windy paths of the resort since there is not much lighting. However there are buggies on hand to take you from A to B.

Verdict:

The Rayavadee resort was beautiful but it is far from exclusive. The beaches are beautiful though are public so are only really quiet before 9.30am or after 4.30pm. On check out when you see the final bill it is astonishing how all the costs can mount up. We stayed in a standard deluxe pavillion for 3 nights and did 2 full day boat trips of james bond and phi phi islands and ate at 3 of the resaurants (raya dining, Krua Phranang, the grotto) and the bill came to just over £3,000 which in my opinion is far too expensive when in our opinion we did not feel like we had a 5 star experience. The refurbished pavillions and slight sharpening up of the customer services in our opinions should make this place go from very good to outstanding.....

Room Tip: - the beaches are beautiful but are far from exclusive because they are public - however they are qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gl0betr0tter1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012

Enjoyed an extended long weekend here, first time at this hotel but not the Irish time to Krabi. Breathtaking location - magical limestone cliffs may have been the inspiration for Avatar's floating mountains! Resort staff kind and enthusiastic, well trained. Food consistently good from generous breakfast to very good Thai dinner and beachside snacks in between. Library equipped with large DVD collection. Boutique offers exceptionally good collection of one of a kind items. Built-to-last,solid attractive villas show good quality workmanship and gardeners keep grounds shipshape. Beds are wonderfully comfortable.

Management needs to reinvest some of their ample profits however to upgrade aging features- old tube TVs must be replaced by flat screens, iPad docks are needed for personal music, the wifi system is worse than useless - no band width at all and the swimming pool needs a big facelift. Many villas do not have private outdoor lounging areas- we wanted to book a villa with a pool or outdoor garden and exterior shower but could not, and hotel was not full. At $500 a night for a basic villa we could have booked an off season villa at a Banyan Tree (the gold standard)- Rayavadee is perfectly pleasant but banking on its aging reputation.

Spa was under renovation and we were not advised in advanced that many services would not be available. Nonetheless, basic massage services were excellent.

And WHEN will Krabi administrators insist on mufflers for the long tail boat engines? Despite the natural beauty, the long tail boats are the main reason we avoid holidaying in this otherwise gorgeous place.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Laura A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Railay Beach
0.2 mi away
Railay Village Resort
Railay Village Resort
#5 of 12 in Railay Beach
926 reviews
1.2 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi
1.7 mi away
Ban Sainai Resort
Ban Sainai Resort
#1 of 111 in Ao Nang
1,565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sunrise Tropical Resort
Sunrise Tropical Resort
#2 of 12 in Railay Beach
819 reviews
0.2 mi away
Railay Bay Resort & Spa
Railay Bay Resort & Spa
#7 of 12 in Railay Beach
2,161 reviews
8.4 mi away
Phulay Bay, A Ritz-Carlton Reserve
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rayavadee Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rayavadee Resort

Address: 214 Moo 2, Tambon Ao-Nang | Amphoe Muang, Railay Beach, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Railay Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Railay Beach
#1 Luxury Hotel in Railay Beach
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Railay Beach
#1 Spa Hotel in Railay Beach
Price Range: $499 - $1,220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Rayavadee Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rayavadee's setting on the edge of Krabi's National Marine Park at the heart of the stunning Phranang Peninsula perfectly blends lush foliage, limestone cliffs, white sand beaches and the emerald waters of the Andaman Sea. The resort's award winning architecture and tropical landscapes were inspired by the atmosphere of a southern Thai village. Rayavadee's enchanting two-story pavilions and beachfront villas are spread over 26 acres of coconut groves, their spacious interiors and décor providing unsurpassed comfort for the property's highly discerning guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Rayavadee Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rayavadee Hotel Railay Beach
Rayavadee Resort Krabi
Rayavadee Hotel Krabi
Rayavadee Krabi
Rayavadee Resort Railay Beach, Krabi, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing