We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs some TLC”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Bhu Nga Thani Resort and Spa
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Railay Beach
Kamala, Thailand
Level Contributor
147 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Needs some TLC”
Reviewed May 6, 2014

Our room was very nice indeed. We booked a deluxe room with sea view and it was gorgeous. Very well equipped and comfortable with separate bathroom, WC and large walk-in shower. A lovely balcony really does have sea views albeit above the roofs of lower parts of the hotel in front (make sure you get a 3rd floor room). Strangely, though, there is only one lounger on the balcony and no table or comfortable furniture you can move there. The only negative for the room is that wifi is almost non-existent there.

Housekeeping was poor. The remains of the complimentary fruit served on arrival were still there on our second morning as were hairs in the basin.

The grounds and pool are in need of some maintenance. In many places the paint is worn or mildewy and the paths cracked.

Also as other have noted you should plan on eating elsewhere. The food is mediocre and the service terrible. It boggles the mind how a resort like this can let their reputation suffer in this way. Surely every hotel reads Tripadvisor by now.

Overall though we were satisfied and will probably go back - especially as we discovered the Bang Bang Bar just around the corner serving possibly the best cocktails in Thailand

Room Tip: If you want ocean views get a third floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tamvong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

692 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    274
    221
    102
    54
    41
See reviews for
90
397
27
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2014

This resort is definitely worth the price. Location- great location right in the middle of Railay east where most of the restaurants and hotels are located. Restaurant- great food, a little pricy but the menu has a lot of variety and good quality. Pool- beautiful pool that offers a nice quiet relaxing experience. Rooms- very clean and updated. This was the second hotel we stayed in on Railay and after looking in the area this is def one of the best the area has to offer.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leslie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kata Beach, Thailand
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2014

Very friendly staff, great breakfast. Small but nice pool and the cocktails on the pool bar are amazing. Clean rooms and great shower. Any how railay is a true haven!!! Don't miss it!!! Good location on railay east where most of the bars are

Room Tip: Long tail drops you on railay west its a 5 minutes walk to railay east, boat operator will tell you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canandaigua
Level Contributor
83 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2014

Nice rooms, clean. Beds are firm, but ok. The grounds are well kept. Pool with swim up bar was great. Breakfast buffet was good, dinner was not good. The location is close to East side stores restaurants & bars. You can not swim on the East side beach. It is a 5 -10 minute walk to the other beaches.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Phsykes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Simons Island, Georgia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2014

I only ate dinner here one night. The outdoor patio was stunning even if it does overlook the mud side of Railay Beach. I ordered the Thai fish cakes for a starter, chewy and bland, but really nice presentation. For the main course, the grilled white fish with a lemongrass, butter sauce with coconut rice. The waitress was thoughtful to ask if I wanted the head. The fish was cooked perfectly, but there was no seasoning and sauce which was more of a curry and less of a subtle butter, lemongrass was on the side. Although the meal was simply okay, the service was the best I've had in Thailand.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Baranda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
35 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Bhu Nga Resort & Spa for 6 nights. The hotel itself was very good and we enjoyed our stay there and have no complaints.

The hotel grounds are well maintained and I'd certainly say is was one of the better looking, and better maintained hotels in the area. The room was very spacious, and kept clean. It was very relaxing and peaceful - no disturbances whatsoever.

Facilities were good - a reasonably sized pool with swim up bar, a small gym, good (and free) internet access, and a spa (although we didn't use it as can get cheaper elsewhere). The breakfast was also good with western and traditional thai breakfast, plus the token egg station!

Staff were friendly but not overly tentative I found - for instance the pool bar wasn't constantly staffed.

On the whole - I'd recommend the hotel to people who chose to stay at Railay, but I do feel that there are some useful points that other travellers should note:

- Railay is quite a small place, and despite doing our fair share of research, we didn't realise it was only accessible by boat. This is worth considering as it's fair to say restaurant choice is fairly limited (mainly hotel restaurants). You can get a long tail boat to Ao Nang for c.£8 per person return at night but it didn't seem the boat drivers were overly keen to do return journeys later than 11pm.

- Railay East doesn't have a beach. It's more like a marsh - quite ugly in fact. However Railay West and Pranang are less than a 10 minute walk away (Pranang only accessible from East Railay). Railay East does have a 200m stretch of bars though which is vibrant and worth a visit in the evening

- Railay West has the nicest beach (in my opinion). About 10 hotels are located on this beach. We dined around this area most evenings and the beach was the best we encountered in Krabi.

- Pranang is a nice beach too. accessible from East Railay. However - you have to access it via a walkway full of overly enthusiastic and vicious monkeys who aren't afraid to jump on you and steal your possessions! Enter with caution!!

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Banno88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herzeliya
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2014

the hotel is over prices, located on the east beach (no access to the beach- only on the west side of the island)
the breakfast was poor, there was a smell of Sewerage in the isand (entress of the hotel)
the pool is small & there is not a lot of shades, it seems it wasnt been cleaned for a while.
the room was big, with a balcony & clean
a range of DVD you can borrow (and you must because there isnt a lot to do in Raily)
all the resterunt in the island close around 22:00- the hotel one too, & room service closing early too.
the staff dosent understand english

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Morin255
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Railay Beach
0.1 mi away
Sunrise Tropical Resort
Sunrise Tropical Resort
#2 of 13 in Railay Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 773 reviews
0.2 mi away
Railay Village Resort
Railay Village Resort
#3 of 13 in Railay Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 884 reviews
1.2 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Ban Sainai Resort
Ban Sainai Resort
#1 of 107 in Ao Nang
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,387 reviews
0.2 mi away
Railay Bay Resort & Spa
Railay Bay Resort & Spa
#8 of 13 in Railay Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,031 reviews
0.4 mi away
Rayavadee Resort
Rayavadee Resort
#1 of 13 in Railay Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bhu Nga Thani Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bhu Nga Thani Resort and Spa

Property: Bhu Nga Thani Resort and Spa
Address: Railay East Beach, 142 Moo. 2, Ao Nang, Krabi | Railay East Beach, Railay Beach, Krabi Town 81180, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Railay Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Railay Beach
#3 Luxury Hotel in Railay Beach
#4 Spa Hotel in Railay Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Bhu Nga Thani Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Bhu Nga Thani Resort and Spa Set sail on a traditional long tail boat and putter through the calm turquoise waters of the Andaman Sea to the exotic and secluded Railay Bay. Sheltered by magnificent limestone cliffs and protected mangrove forest Bhu Nga Thani Resort & Spa is a hidden paradise where tranquillity and solitude awaits. This is just the beginning of an exceptional journey to an unforgettable place where romantics and families alike can relax, rejuvenate and feel free. The beautiful colonial style rooms and villas are furnished to delight with special features like private pools, outdoor showers and oversized sunken bathtubs. Relax by the seafront swimming pool, dine at the elegant restaurant, let your cares drift away at the pampering spa and take a scenic tour of Railay Bay to discover the pristine white sand beach, world class rock climbing and spectacular temple cave all within easy walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Priceline, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Bhu Nga Thani Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bhu Nga Thani Hotel Railay Beach
Bhu Nga Thani Resort And Spa Railay Beach, Krabi, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing