We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't be fooled by the pictures”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Bhu Nga Thani Resort and Spa
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Railay Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Belvedere, California
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Don't be fooled by the pictures”
Reviewed February 20, 2014

This hotel has a gorgeous facade but has a lot of problems. For one its on East Railay beach which is ugly and sucks. The water coming out of the faucet and shower drips down like a leaky faucet and is salty! If you have thick hair forget about washing your hair. They provided us with two sets of threadbare, overly used towels, a wash cloth and a bath towel. The breakfast is included but the selection is terrible and the taste awful. The pillows are hard as rock and they don't have any other. The receptionist offered to give us another pillow so we could have three hard pillows! Internet connection in rooms almost non-existent. Overall very very disappointing.

Room Tip: Don't say here!! Save your money and go elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank azinajafi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

716 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    286
    230
    103
    55
    42
See reviews for
95
413
27
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2014

This is my second time staying at this lovely hotel and once again it did not disappoint. The service is great, the amenities are lovely and the beds are super comfy. Even the extra rollaway wasn't bad at all. I have already booked again for March.

Room Tip: The basic deluxe are just as good as the sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wolfymumfrels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2014 via mobile

The boat trip to the the resort was enjoyable and it was scenic, got us looking more forward to reach the destination.
We were warmly welcomed by the staff and the lovely purple welcome drink. We loved the room very much as well as our spa session but just remember to wear slippers to the spa as the stone walkway to the spa was hot!
Food although was not really impressive I would suggest to have your meals else where.
As it's not situated at the stretch of the iconic beach, you will walk for about 10mins and pass through a stretch of cave with monkeys around, which was interesting. The monkeys were pretty harmless.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Rae C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed February 11, 2014 via mobile

Don't ever think about it. Food is very bad. They spend 2 mints to clean up the room they just change the bed sheet and Some toilet paper and 2 bottles of water.
Internet service very bad. Very bad location. Bags all over the place.
Noisy Boots all over the place

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ahmed A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2014 via mobile

Well, the food was ok, but the service nothing special. We ate at the terrace restaurant. They actually had "reasonably" priced wine to be Thailand. The second time I went something strange happened. I went on my own since my companions had fallen ill. When seated a lady (not the guy who seated me) came up and told me there would be an hour wait for the food. I was the only one she told, the couple who arrived same time as me were given bread on the other hand. I felt a bit singled out to be honest. Hence I wonder if they don't like single men eating there. In any way, whether it really was one hour wait or it was for other reasons, i cant give this restaurant more than mediocre score. Being "asked to leave" however politely is not my cup of tea. :-)

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank OsloKrisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2014 via mobile

This is a tough one: we both wound up with food poisoning/norovirus, but can't say for sure where we got it. The accommodations were fine other than that. We did have a mouse/rat visit the room one night. This hotel is on the "back side" of Railay and the beach it fronts is miserable and not used; however, there are numerous restaurants and other facilities nearby. The pool is okay, but no hot tub. The main tourist beach is about a ten minute walk. If we were to do it again, we'd stay on the main beach, as the beach was the primary reason for staying in Railay.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Paul K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 30, 2014

Considering the USD 360 per night that we paid for the pool villa, the following things cannot happen:

- for a full day, there was no running water in the villa.. when the water came back, it was brown
- no internet despite claim that internet was included
- you get 21 ridiculous tv channels with about 5 in English (we didn't plan on watching tv but as we both got sick, there was no other option than to watch National Geographic all day)
- we found bugs in the breakfast
- non-existing service (no smiles from staff, very strange for Thailand) paired with minimum level of English, making every conversation exhausting.. when we left and said "bye", the reception staff didn't even look up and completely ignored us
- On the 2nd day, both of us caught a food poisoning... my boyfriend was in a worse shape than me and couldn't stop throwing up. When he started shivering and developing a fever, I asked the reception where I could find a doctor. I couldn't believe my ears when they told me that there was no first-aid kit at the hotel and no doctor on the entire island, I would have to take a boat to Ao Nang where there was a clinic, and for basic medication, I had to go the pharmacy myself. No sign of concern, no "let me walk to the pharmacy with you", no "is there anything we can do".

For these prices, you have to deliver... especially in Southeast Asia. We were very relieved to leave!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lasminia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Railay Beach
0.2 mi away
Railay Village Resort
Railay Village Resort
#4 of 13 in Railay Beach
903 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sunrise Tropical Resort
Sunrise Tropical Resort
#2 of 13 in Railay Beach
786 reviews
1.2 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Ban Sainai Resort
Ban Sainai Resort
#1 of 108 in Ao Nang
1,445 reviews
0.2 mi away
Railay Bay Resort & Spa
Railay Bay Resort & Spa
#8 of 13 in Railay Beach
2,073 reviews
0.4 mi away
Rayavadee Resort
Rayavadee Resort
#1 of 13 in Railay Beach
1,797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bhu Nga Thani Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bhu Nga Thani Resort and Spa

Property: Bhu Nga Thani Resort and Spa
Address: Railay East Beach, 142 Moo. 2, Ao Nang, Krabi | Railay East Beach, Railay Beach, Krabi Town 81180, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Railay Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Railay Beach
#2 Luxury Hotel in Railay Beach
#3 Spa Hotel in Railay Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Bhu Nga Thani Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Bhu Nga Thani Resort and Spa Set sail on a traditional long tail boat and putter through the calm turquoise waters of the Andaman Sea to the exotic and secluded Railay Bay. Sheltered by magnificent limestone cliffs and protected mangrove forest Bhu Nga Thani Resort & Spa is a hidden paradise where tranquillity and solitude awaits. This is just the beginning of an exceptional journey to an unforgettable place where romantics and families alike can relax, rejuvenate and feel free. The beautiful colonial style rooms and villas are furnished to delight with special features like private pools, outdoor showers and oversized sunken bathtubs. Relax by the seafront swimming pool, dine at the elegant restaurant, let your cares drift away at the pampering spa and take a scenic tour of Railay Bay to discover the pristine white sand beach, world class rock climbing and spectacular temple cave all within easy walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bhu Nga Thani Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bhu Nga Thani Hotel Railay Beach
Bhu Nga Thani Resort And Spa Railay Beach, Krabi, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing