We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel but could do with a paint job”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bhu Nga Thani Resort and Spa
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Railay Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 17, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights in November 2013. Lovely hotel with a superb location, good price as well. Staff were excellent and pool area was great. Easy walk around Railay as well. There was a lot of construction work going on next door which didn't sound great for people having dinner, the place could do with a bit of a paint job as well as some parts looked outdated. Overall though I would recommend and I will stay here again.

Room Tip: get a transfer from the airport especially at night as its a bit of a trek if you do it on your own
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gerard K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (780)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

378 - 384 of 780 reviews

Reviewed November 11, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights during our vacation in Thailand. After messaging a few previous commenters, we decided to accept the resort's offer to pick us up from the Krabi airport for 1400 THB for 2 people. It was worth the money! A driver met us at the hotel, took us to the pier where we were met with a longboat from the hotel, which took us directly to the hotel. Our friends, who were also staying at Bhu Nga Thani, decided to find their own transportation to the hotel. They were taken by longboat to the opposite side of Railay, and since it was low tide, they were required to carry their luggage and wade in the water to the beach, and then walk another 10 minutes to the opposite side of Railay where our resort was located. So, I repeat, contact the hotel for pickup! It's worth it! The resort itself was very nice. We had a deluxe grand room with the jacuzzi tub -- not worth it. We never use the tub, and quite frankly, it didn't look like it was very clean. I would just get a simple room. We were barely in the room, because Railay is absolutely beautiful and we couldn't stay away from the beach. The breakfast was subpar -- we had better breakfasts at our other destinations. However, all in all, we were very happy with our stay!

Room Tip: We stayed in a deluxe grand room with a jacuzzi tub, which wasn't worth the extra price. I woul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2013

Room: New, clean and big! Sea view room was so excellent with its facilities, a scenery view leather bed at balcony was one of the examples. Very comfortable and relaxing!

People: Friendly and polite. My birthday was celebrated there and my husband requested hotel to prepare a cake. The hotel people insisted to gave the cake for free. I was so impressed of the service!

Convenience - The location of the resort is very good! The beach in front of the resort although is not so nice, there is a beautiful beach with 10 minutes walk where you can swim and view the unique caves and mountains. It is at the right hand side of the resort in which you face to the sea . On the side behind the resort with around 10 minutes walk, there are many seafood restaurants facing the other beach. There is one bar on the left of the resort provide fire show and boxing show. Fire show fee is basically the tip that you wanna to give, not fixed. How amazing of the fire show !

Transport: It requires a 30 minutes taxi ride from krabi airport to Nam Mao Pier at 600 batt and 10 minutes long tail boat ride from the Nam Mao Pier to the resort at 100 batt per person. The boat ticketing counter offered to book a whole boat at 500 batt. Normal price par boat is 800 batt. They told us if not booking the whole boat, we got to wait for at least 1 hour. Although was expensive we chose to book a whole boat ultimately as we didn't want to waste the time. Hotel does provide private van for airport transfer, boat ride and truck to load the luggage from seaside to the resort at 1400 batt per way. This price is reasonable only when there is a group of 3 - 6 people. Truck is necessary for those tourists with many luggages and do not wish to step the feet into the sea and walk to the beach while alighting from the boat which is around 200m from the beach.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 567yfcbn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2013

The hotel is clean, the staff are really genuinely friendly and helpful. Our room was lovely with separate shower and bathroom. Very deluxe! The swimming pool is clean and an (almost) infinity pool looking towards the sea. This hotel is on the east side which is not so glam as the west but definitely in our opinion has more character. Warning though - they are building a new hotel next door but this wasn't too intrusive or noisy,(and will be finished soon no doubt)

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank evilgenius666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Being met at the airport, transferred to our hotel via long boat as this is the only way to get to Railay Beach. We were then met and taken to our room which was "wow"! Huge bed, huge room with amazing amenities. Breakfast was incredible and service was impeccable. We ate at their restaurant and couldn't fault the food there either. The grounds were well kept and lovely to wander around. It was a short walk to other eating places or to the beaches. Would we stay here again? Definitely!

Room Tip: rooms higher up have a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RuthHowes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pansa T, General Manager at Bhu Nga Thani Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2013

Thank you for visiting us and for sharing your feedback on Trip Advisor. We are very glad to know you had a wonderful stay with us and enjoyed the room which was "wow"! Huge bed, huge room with amazing amenities, the staff service and the beautiful beaches near by.
Thank you as well for your nice comments on Breakfast and dining was incredible at Bhu Nga Sari Restaurant.
We hope to have the chance to welcome you back in the very near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2013

We would have to say we rate Bhu Nga Thani as one of the best accommodations we have stayed in. It had an amazing room with full sized facilities. An Asian King bed that meant plenty to space to sleep. The bathroom was enormous with a bath the size of a public swimming pool. It was set in an amazing little garden like room with a water feature. There is a lovely pool area for relaxing around for the afternoon. The staff were very warm and welcoming they were also very professional in the way they looked after us. Always checking up to make sure that everything was OK and their attention to detail was superb.
This resort is quiet and is on the mangrove side of Railay, so the water outlook is very tidal. We like the way that this gives something new to see with each tide. It is a short walk to the most amazing Thailand beaches, which are not like anything you would find on Phuket and the usual Tourist spots. Sunsets on these beaches are worth watching. OUr only regret was we had to return back to work so our stay was too short.

Room Tip: Make sure that you arrange a transfer with the resort before you arrive. If you don't you will e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank whowesit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pansa T, General Manager at Bhu Nga Thani Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2013

Dear Value Guest,

We are very pleased to thank you for your enjoin during your stay at our Resort. Thank you for your review that we can continue to improve our service. Furthermore, your experience help other vacationers with thire travel planning.

Thank you for your stay with us once again and thank you for your time with the review. Hopefully to see you again soon.

The Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013 via mobile

Would definitely recommend this hotel for a stay in Railay.

Ticks all the boxes and is one of the best places to eat!

We experienced a bit of wet weather so decided to indulge in the resort's spa to pass the time. Although the prices are not cheap, you pay for what you get and it was a lovely experience. Definitely worth spending a couple of extra $$$.

Book your accommodation through the resort's website and you can organise transfers when booking too. Makes it so much easier as you don't have to struggle on / off the long boat with luggage or deal with the walk in the water if the tide is out!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ljcgrh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Railay Beach
0.2 mi away
Railay Village Resort
Railay Village Resort
#5 of 12 in Railay Beach
958 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sunrise Tropical Resort
Sunrise Tropical Resort
#3 of 12 in Railay Beach
842 reviews
1.2 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Ban Sainai Resort
Ban Sainai Resort
#1 of 111 in Ao Nang
1,647 reviews
8.6 mi away
Amari Vogue Krabi
Amari Vogue Krabi
#4 of 12 in Nong Thale
2,518 reviews
0.2 mi away
Railay Bay Resort & Spa
Railay Bay Resort & Spa
#7 of 12 in Railay Beach
2,237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bhu Nga Thani Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bhu Nga Thani Resort and Spa

Address: Railay East Beach, 142 Moo. 2, Ao Nang, Krabi | Railay East Beach, Railay Beach, Krabi Town 81180, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Railay Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Railay Beach
#2 Luxury Hotel in Railay Beach
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Railay Beach
Price Range: $75 - $378 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bhu Nga Thani Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Bhu Nga Thani Resort and Spa Set sail on a traditional long tail boat and putter through the calm turquoise waters of the Andaman Sea to the exotic and secluded Railay Bay. Sheltered by magnificent limestone cliffs and protected mangrove forest Bhu Nga Thani Resort & Spa is a hidden paradise where tranquillity and solitude awaits. This is just the beginning of an exceptional journey to an unforgettable place where romantics and families alike can relax, rejuvenate and feel free. The beautiful colonial style rooms and villas are furnished to delight with special features like private pools, outdoor showers and oversized sunken bathtubs. Relax by the seafront swimming pool, dine at the elegant restaurant, let your cares drift away at the pampering spa and take a scenic tour of Railay Bay to discover the pristine white sand beach, world class rock climbing and spectacular temple cave all within easy walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bhu Nga Thani Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bhu Nga Thani Hotel Railay Beach
Bhu Nga Thani Resort And Spa Railay Beach, Krabi, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing