We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The truth”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bhu Nga Thani Resort and Spa
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Railay Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 9, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights. Upon arrival we were greeted by two thai ladies working in reception. They were brilliant. Gave us two glasses of lemon juice which was amazing considering i dont normally like lemon juice. Once we got sorted one of the ladies showed us our room. She carried by backpack to the room. God help her it was heavy!

The hotel room was amazing at the start. The bathtub was amazing. never seen one so big. Once we got settled we went to the hotel resturant. Beware of the prices as it looks cheap until you read the fine print which states you need to add on 17percent for service charge and tax. The food is incredible. I am a fussy eater when it comes to places holiday. The scallop rolls are amazing. The starters were huge. They treat you like kings and queens the service they give you.

Railay is a very quiet place. There is not much to do on the island. There is a few places to eat and about 4 shops. The beaches are lovely. Although the beach facing the hotel isnt much of a beach. Your best going to the other beaches.

The lagoon is up a very steep hill which will get you stinking and its all overed in clay and a very hard hill to climb.

There is a hotel on the island called railay sea resort which has lovely food.
Walking street isnt great, the service is terrible.

Def would come back to this hotel again but would bring more money. Railay itself is expensive but its worth it.

Massages in the hotel are expensive. Staff are lovely and the breakfast is average. Its your normal thai breakfast....eggs, bacon, ham,chicken sausage,salad, rice, noodles, pancakes, hash browns/potatoes, watermelon, pineapple, yoghurts, cereals etc.


The one thing that was annoying was having to get a long tail boat to railay as no cars are on the railay bit. It costs 1,000baht if its just the two of you. You need about 10 people. Waiting on 10 people could take awhile. When we arrived to get a boat we had to walk out into the water up to our waists to get into the boat and the same to get out. I would recommend wearing your swimwear as it took 3 days for our shorts to dry out. It doesnt state on the website about the long tail boat.

The hotel offered room service which was great. Bed sheets were changed daily and fresh water, toiletries and towels were replenished daily.

My opinion was this hotel was a bit overpriced as the closer you looked you could see the downfalls like the toilet roll holder was hanging off the wall and the sliding doors from the bathroom to the bedroom didnt close properly. But even though these were minor things i would def stay in the hotel again as the staff are brilliant and the foods great.

We are planning on coming back to this hotel next june! Just not in the rainy season as the island is a bit crap when it rains



  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank laurawallace123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (760)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

376 - 382 of 760 reviews

Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed a lovely 3 night stay in this hotel and during that time the staff were very accommodating and helpful. We stayed in a deluxe room with possibly the biggest bath I have ever seen! The room itself was really clean, comfortable and of a good size. The hotel itself is on the East side, which means it's not the most beautiful side of railay, but it's only a 10 minute walk to the other beach. The only down side is when arriving and leaving we had to carry out cases through the muddy mangroves- however this is not the hotels fault, just something to be aware of when you arrive. While we were there we went to phra nang beach which you can find by coming out of the hotel, turning right and following the signs. You walk down by the caves which are very impressive and we found the beach to be more beautiful than the others. We also enjoyed a trip to the emerald pool which the hotel can help you to organise. The food on walking street is good but quite expensive towards the beach end. However if you carry in walking and follow signs to utopia you will come across a small group of restaurants where the food is brilliant and well priced. Mangrove was our favourite and only a short walk from the hotel. We had a great stay here, helped by the wonderful attitudes of the staff.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank SkippyGuildford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

It is sometimes hard to believe you went to the same hotel as some of your fellow tripadvisor reviewers.
It is true that the hotel is located on the mangrove side, and not on the beautiful beach side. However, the mangrove is charming when the tide is low, and you have plenty of restaurants on the path beside. The hotel is quiet, you cannot hear any noise during the night.
When you arrive, ask the hotel to arrange your transfer. If you do so, they will pick you up at the airport, and transfer you directly to the hotel. Unlike what other reviewers said, you will never have to walk in the mud. And the arrival in the waters of the mangrove, sided by rocks, is quite a cool experience.
To go to Railay Beach, you just have to walk five to ten minutes maximum. All the hotels on this side have a more direct access to the beach, but none of them seem to be as good as Bhu Nga Thani.
The facilities and room are very good. We had a room on the ground floor, with the largest bath tub i ever saw in a hotel. The room was very clean. The bed sheets were changed every day, as well as the towels. They clean up the room twice a day. They put new orchids on your bed every day. It is true that here or there, they should refresh some paints or fix some details. For example, some traces of silicon around the taps (but it is not dirty, as other reviewers said).
Having read the other reviews, we were surprised and amazed by the service. All the staff is well trained, focused, attentive to customers requests. They are welcoming, kind and smiling. What a contrast with what the reviews lead us to expect. This is what I found very unfair in the previous reviews.
Excellent breakfast. We had diner once, the last evening, at the restaurant of the hotel: it was our best meal during the 4 days we stayed in the area.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank ngamdupli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

After flying from Bangkok, a two hour drive, and a long boat ride, we were greeted by cool water tractors and a beautifully lit up hotel. The room was nice and clean with a view of a giant pretty rock and some ocean (from afar). It was a nice welcoming after a day of travel. It's not on the beach side, which I was fine with because of the short walk to it. The hotel is close to some cool and fun restaurants and a boxing ring. The entire atmosphere is gorgeous during the day and night and the pool makes onlookers envious.

I'm my experience, the only downfalls were the unfriendly staff (just one girl in the lobby) when we got water or food poisoning. I spent half the day in the pool and had water in the hotel restaurant with my friend. She fell ill at 11am and I fell Ill at 10 pm. It was non stop sickness ( I don't want to share in detail but I probably lost five pounds over night). We missed our boat to Phi Phi because of the sickness and had to pay for another night because there's only one morning trip to leave Krabi. When we left the next day, we met a couple on the boat who stayed in our hotel and he was so sick the same day that he had to pay for a dr to provide an IV. What all three if us had in common was the pool and the restaurant. My advice is just be careful in the pool and ask for bottled water don't drink what they give you. I was disheartened by the unfriendly female staff who we had to negotiate another night with because she switched prices between our phone call and walking to her. I wasn't looking for her to hold my hand and take care of me but a little sympathy and advice on our boat options or doctor or pharmacy would have been appreciated.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Susan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

We just stayed a couple of nights at the Bhu Nga Thani, the rooms and hotel are a good standard. The only downside for us was the location as when we arrived we had paid for a taxi to AoNang, only to be told that hotel was only accessible via long tail boat. (This would have been fine but it is not stated anywhere when booking!) So it was very dark and there was no-one at the piers when we arrived, after waiting around in the middle of nowhere we eventually managed to get a overpriced boat to take us over. Once we arrived the room and hotel was very nice, the staff however were a little too passive, one waitress was literally sleeping at the pool bar while we were eating and other customers were waiting! The location is nice and remote so its a good getaway from the hustle of mainland Krabi, we were left thinking for the price paid you could probably find a better hotel on Railay West were the beaches are nicer.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank deevyash v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the off season so was great value for money. Rooms were nice, good air con and very clean. Pool is nice (prob not the nicest ever), but from pool chairs there was a great view of the daily staff volley ball match, which guests were invited to join in. Staff were extremely friendly and helpful, especially in the restaurant when dealing with my friend's allergies. The food was also delicious. The location is not too bad, all shops, restaurants and bars are a short walk. However the views from the hotel, pool and restaurant are not as pretty as on the other side of Railay. Overall a very nice hotel with great service.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jillian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Came here on our honeymoon...restaurant had great food and great breakfast buffet. Nice pool and pool bar, and close distance to be able to walk to beaches and nightlife. Had a nice room with a sea view. Staff was accommodating and friendly. Only negative is that there isn't a beach right outside, about a 10 minute walk to two beautiful beaches. Getting here can be tricky in that you have to take a boat (no cars here) and wade through water carrying your suitcase during low tide.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Vballmarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Railay Beach
0.2 mi away
Railay Village Resort
Railay Village Resort
#5 of 12 in Railay Beach
942 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sunrise Tropical Resort
Sunrise Tropical Resort
#3 of 12 in Railay Beach
824 reviews
1.2 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Ban Sainai Resort
Ban Sainai Resort
#1 of 111 in Ao Nang
1,596 reviews
0.2 mi away
Railay Bay Resort & Spa
Railay Bay Resort & Spa
#7 of 12 in Railay Beach
2,190 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rayavadee Resort
Rayavadee Resort
#1 of 12 in Railay Beach
1,911 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bhu Nga Thani Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bhu Nga Thani Resort and Spa

Address: Railay East Beach, 142 Moo. 2, Ao Nang, Krabi | Railay East Beach, Railay Beach, Krabi Town 81180, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Railay Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Railay Beach
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Railay Beach
#2 Luxury Hotel in Railay Beach
Price Range: $92 - $412 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bhu Nga Thani Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Bhu Nga Thani Resort and Spa Set sail on a traditional long tail boat and putter through the calm turquoise waters of the Andaman Sea to the exotic and secluded Railay Bay. Sheltered by magnificent limestone cliffs and protected mangrove forest Bhu Nga Thani Resort & Spa is a hidden paradise where tranquillity and solitude awaits. This is just the beginning of an exceptional journey to an unforgettable place where romantics and families alike can relax, rejuvenate and feel free. The beautiful colonial style rooms and villas are furnished to delight with special features like private pools, outdoor showers and oversized sunken bathtubs. Relax by the seafront swimming pool, dine at the elegant restaurant, let your cares drift away at the pampering spa and take a scenic tour of Railay Bay to discover the pristine white sand beach, world class rock climbing and spectacular temple cave all within easy walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bhu Nga Thani Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bhu Nga Thani Hotel Railay Beach
Bhu Nga Thani Resort And Spa Railay Beach, Krabi, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing