We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“magnificent view on the valley”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Schuchmann Wines Chateau & SPA
Ranked #1 of 56 Telavi B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 19, 2013

Together with my family I was visiting Schuchmann Chateau during my trip in the beginning of may. I is a neat, modern but stylish facility built on the place of the old wine cellar. Separated from neighbourhood sorroundings with pretty high fence, although when you are in, you would not notice that, overwhelmed with magnificent view on Alzani valley and distant caucasian ridge. Especially from the restaurant terrace. Very inspiring and interesting trip through wine cellar and production processes. Very good service, very good wine, but medicore kitchen as for Georgia standards. I was surprised hearing that other guests were delighted with food. I think that Germans who come to Georgia don't always have enough guts to come to more local place when you have to communicate in Georgian or Russian, or you just have to use your hands ;) What I missed there was especially this specific local Georgian climate.
Anyhow recommended place for relaxation getaway.

Room Tip: take the room over the restaurant, when possible :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ms777566
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (240)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

145 - 151 of 240 reviews

Reviewed September 8, 2013

Really enjoyed spending a night here. Ilya, the manager, led us in a tasting of a wide variety of the winery's output, illustrating the difference between the different grapes and production processes. His English was good, as was his understanding of our group dynamics. The food was tasty and complemented the wines well - well-matched to western palates. The rooms were luxurious and the complementary taster bottles were a nice touch.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scottgmilne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

This was my first trip to the wine region and, although the hotel is a little off the beaten track, it was worth the trip.
The chateau has a beautiful setting, with modern facilities and good service. If you want to splash out and relax with some excellent wines then this is the place to do it.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Naive2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Have been there not even for 1 night, just used the room, bathroom and was invited for Wine degustation. very impressive professionalism from the staff and desire to serve at the top quality, even in a distant and isolated place like that village..

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eounax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

My wife and I had never been to Georgia's wine region before. We booked this property because of the positive reviews on TripAdvisor. They are well deserved! We had a beautiful room with the Caucasus Mountains in the distance. The food was good and the staff was very friendly. Plus prices in Georgia are much lower than in Western Europe. We had a great experience and it was a great value.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rcovington4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

First, this place is a great deal. For around $100USD, you get a night's stay, dinner for two, breakfast for two, wine tasting for two, and a tour of the winery. That's significantly cheaper than several similar properties.

The place is tucked away in the countryside surrounding Telavi, and it's incredibly peaceful. We sat on the front terrace for several hours just watching the breeze blow through the grapevines and enjoying the silence. The food was good, the wines are good, and the overall service was excellent. The only sounds were birdsong and the occasional donkey, dog, or rooster.

The hotel is nice and modern, with good mattresses and bathrooms. There was good water pressure and very hot water. There was only one problem for us: the room wasn't air-conditioned, and the windows had no screens. There was a perfect breeze so we were quite comfortable with the windows open in the evening, until the biting flies started to attack us. I ended up with probably 15 bites and my husband had another 10. So, a word of warning before you open the windows: put on some bug spray! Other than that, our stay was perfect and we are extremely likely to go back soon.

Room Tip: We stayed in room #3, which is nice because it's on a corner and has windows on two sides.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lotsotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Very modern high standard hotel with a great view, nice and clean rooms. The food in the retaurant is good and nicely served. The staff is very friendly and helpful, speaking good english. Definately the best place to stay in this region of Georgia.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mojeopinie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Telavi
10.8 mi away
Lopota Lake Resort & Spa
Lopota Lake Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Napareuli
282 reviews
15.7 mi away
Kvareli Eden Hotel & WIne SPA
0 mi away
Hotel Erekle
Hotel Erekle
#3 of 3 in Telavi
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.8 mi away
Ambasadori Kachreti Hotel
7 mi away
Chateau Mere
Chateau Mere
#2 of 56 in Telavi
138 reviews
9.9 mi away
Twins Old Cellar
Twins Old Cellar
#3 of 56 in Telavi
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Schuchmann Wines Chateau & SPA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Schuchmann Wines Chateau & SPA

Address: Kisikhevi, Telavi 2200, Georgia
Location: Georgia > Kakheti Region > Telavi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 56 B&Bs / Inns in Telavi
Price Range: $79 - $102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Schuchmann Wines Chateau & SPA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Schuchmann Wines Chateau & SPA Georgia/Telavi, Kakheti

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing