We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great lodge, campsite isolated”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Opuwo Country Lodge
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Opuwo
Ghent, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“great lodge, campsite isolated”
Reviewed December 29, 2013

As mentioned in other reviews, the campsite is a 10 minute walk from the restaurant and pool. If you don't mind walking, it is ok. There is no light on the path so after sunset you really need your flashlight, we saw a scorpion on the road. The restaurant is ok, the pool is great. After some trouble we left on the Himba tour. Very good guide, learned a lot but then they take you to the "market" and all the women push you to buy the goods. Be prepared! Some of the campsites are really small if you have rooftop tents, first come first served. Sanitary block clean and working.

Room Tip: Be early and find a nice campsite
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank katleen_lybaert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    147
    98
    30
    13
See reviews for
52
174
3
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Windhoek
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2013

Not bad at all - but lacking attention to detail in some important areas. The swimming pool is beautifully positioned - but the edges and steps are slimy and slippery - could also be dangerous.
Staff are resonantly efficient - but could be a lot frendlier. The reception staff are certainly the exception. They were great. The waiters and waitresses certainly need a bit of attitude training though. Not bad, but lacking in training in customer courtesy I would say. The rooms. Great - apart from our door hinges. Our family in the adjacent room to ours had the top hinge (which had clearly been shoddily repaired) literally come off. Our room's door was hard to close, as the top hinge was loose and also about to come off. It seems that inferior quality doors had been installed to start with!
Other than those few (relatively minor) moans - it was really good Food quality - great! Thank you

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Pieter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swajopmund
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 24, 2013

What a wonderful experience!!! The staff was very friendly and the management couple was wonderful.
The food was outstanding and the rooms excellent.
Thank you Opuwo Country Lodge we will see you again!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Lientjie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
loomis ca
Level 6 Contributor
464 reviews
189 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 314 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2013

The campsite was a short distance away from the lodge. We had access to the pool, bar, and restaurant during our one night stay. The campsite had grass, power, and nice ablutions. One of the less expensive places at $19 for two. On the other hand, we opted to dine in the restaurant that evening. We felt $24 each for a mediocre buffet was a bit pricey, but after 5 weeks on the road, we were happy for a change of pace. Wine was reasonable. We purchased an ok bottle for $10.
We also used the hotel to book a 2 hour tour to see the Himba. We shared a vehicle with another couple. The cost was a hefty $44 each. One cannot visit a village on their own, but had we more time, we would have investigated a way to do this less expensively.
Still worth it. In fact, it is worth just going to this area. Very colorful and non touristy. Herero woman walk the streets in their beautiful Victorian looking dresses and head gear. Himba men dress unusually with a skirt in front and typically carry some sort of chair or stool with them so they can stop and socialize with friends at any time. The women are magnificent in their traditional clothing. It is worth going into the OK grocers just to watch the Himba shop in their local garb (bare breasted and in their goatskin skirts). We hired a teen or unofficial guide to take us through the local market behind the store. It wasn't much of a tour but provided us access where we might have felt unwelcome otherwise.
It is so tempting to park oneself and take photos of the magnificent people going about their daily lives, but this is totally frowned upon. We respected their custom and will have some beautiful memories of our visit. I highly recommend going to this area. A totally unique experience.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ernieLoomisCa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 1, 2013 via mobile

Excellent Location,
Uneducated and very unfriendly Management !
Unfriendly Reception can't even check a small group of guest in, Manageress could not even assist with check in just stood at the back and tried to give a so called wave with her Hand, useless.
Ordered Food this afternoon and had to wait 1 hour & 15 min, when I questioned the Waiter he had lots of Excuses.
We all should Book somewhere else sorry for the excellent Location.
But who needs useless Service???

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank rolfh969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nederland, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2013

This beautiful on a hilltop located hotel, has a nice swimming pool. But the staff (espessially the girls) in the restaurant is very uninterested.They look and react in a way: "please do not ask me anything". That's why the deserts and the salads are quickly finished. So you have to be early. The waiters in the restaurant are friendly and helpfull. At breakfast it is the same. When you ask the girls to make a omellette, they look "who, me, does it really have to?". The food it self was ok. The owner's think they live still in kolonial times, I think. They command their personal in a way, we don't appreciate. I should react the same way as the girls do. The owner's let even there own dog in the restaurant, begging at the tables of the costumers. They can still learn a lot. The rooms are OK, but the cleaning was bad.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LaoJohnny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windhoek, Namibia
2 reviews
Reviewed September 30, 2013

The personnel were very professional and friendly a great service
The rooms were neat and tidy but bathrooms could be allocated more space
I felt N$240.00 for the dinner was a bit expensive for a set menu for a buffet the price would be in line
A stunning view and I would definitely recommend this establishment


  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Kevin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Opuwo
0.0 mi away
Okahirongo River Camp
Okahirongo River Camp
#9 of 11 in Kaokoland
17 reviews
0.0 mi away
Uukwaluudhi Safari Lodge
Uukwaluudhi Safari Lodge
#34 of 51 in Kunene Region
19 reviews
0.0 mi away
Otjiwa Safari Lodge
Otjiwa Safari Lodge
#4 of 15 in Otjiwarongo
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Waterberg Wilderness Lodge
Waterberg Wilderness Lodge
#8 of 15 in Otjiwarongo
146 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sossus Oasis Camp Site
Sossus Oasis Camp Site
#3 of 9 in Sesriem
277 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mukuku Rest Camp
Mukuku Rest Camp
#3 of 13 in Rundu
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Opuwo Country Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Opuwo Country Lodge

Property: Opuwo Country Lodge
Address: Opuwo, Namibia
Location: Namibia > Kunene Region > Opuwo
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Opuwo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Opuwo Country Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Opuwo Country Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing