We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow!! What a weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Opuwo Country Lodge
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Opuwo
Swajopmund
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wow!! What a weekend”
Reviewed November 24, 2013

What a wonderful experience!!! The staff was very friendly and the management couple was wonderful.
The food was outstanding and the rooms excellent.
Thank you Opuwo Country Lodge we will see you again!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Lientjie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    151
    100
    32
    13
See reviews for
57
177
3
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
loomis ca
Level 6 Contributor
482 reviews
193 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 325 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2013

The campsite was a short distance away from the lodge. We had access to the pool, bar, and restaurant during our one night stay. The campsite had grass, power, and nice ablutions. One of the less expensive places at $19 for two. On the other hand, we opted to dine in the restaurant that evening. We felt $24 each for a mediocre buffet was a bit pricey, but after 5 weeks on the road, we were happy for a change of pace. Wine was reasonable. We purchased an ok bottle for $10.
We also used the hotel to book a 2 hour tour to see the Himba. We shared a vehicle with another couple. The cost was a hefty $44 each. One cannot visit a village on their own, but had we more time, we would have investigated a way to do this less expensively.
Still worth it. In fact, it is worth just going to this area. Very colorful and non touristy. Herero woman walk the streets in their beautiful Victorian looking dresses and head gear. Himba men dress unusually with a skirt in front and typically carry some sort of chair or stool with them so they can stop and socialize with friends at any time. The women are magnificent in their traditional clothing. It is worth going into the OK grocers just to watch the Himba shop in their local garb (bare breasted and in their goatskin skirts). We hired a teen or unofficial guide to take us through the local market behind the store. It wasn't much of a tour but provided us access where we might have felt unwelcome otherwise.
It is so tempting to park oneself and take photos of the magnificent people going about their daily lives, but this is totally frowned upon. We respected their custom and will have some beautiful memories of our visit. I highly recommend going to this area. A totally unique experience.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ernieLoomisCa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 1, 2013 via mobile

Excellent Location,
Uneducated and very unfriendly Management !
Unfriendly Reception can't even check a small group of guest in, Manageress could not even assist with check in just stood at the back and tried to give a so called wave with her Hand, useless.
Ordered Food this afternoon and had to wait 1 hour & 15 min, when I questioned the Waiter he had lots of Excuses.
We all should Book somewhere else sorry for the excellent Location.
But who needs useless Service???

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank rolfh969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nederland, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2013

This beautiful on a hilltop located hotel, has a nice swimming pool. But the staff (espessially the girls) in the restaurant is very uninterested.They look and react in a way: "please do not ask me anything". That's why the deserts and the salads are quickly finished. So you have to be early. The waiters in the restaurant are friendly and helpfull. At breakfast it is the same. When you ask the girls to make a omellette, they look "who, me, does it really have to?". The food it self was ok. The owner's think they live still in kolonial times, I think. They command their personal in a way, we don't appreciate. I should react the same way as the girls do. The owner's let even there own dog in the restaurant, begging at the tables of the costumers. They can still learn a lot. The rooms are OK, but the cleaning was bad.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LaoJohnny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windhoek, Namibia
2 reviews
Reviewed September 30, 2013

The personnel were very professional and friendly a great service
The rooms were neat and tidy but bathrooms could be allocated more space
I felt N$240.00 for the dinner was a bit expensive for a set menu for a buffet the price would be in line
A stunning view and I would definitely recommend this establishment


  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Kevin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geetbets
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Opuwo Country Hotel is at the end of a road full of holes and pits and on a hill above the city. It is a very nice hotel with a beautiful and large reception area. The camp sites are also fine, with plenty of shade on some pitches, water and electricity and even some grass. The large sanitary block is ok. The dinner is irreproachable with the choice of three options for starter and main course as well as dessert. This with a stunning view while enjoying your dinner makes it the place to stay and/or eat when you are in Opuwo.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janssens10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

The rooms are fairly basic and are in long chains - about 8-10 rooms adjoining. The noise between rooms is noticeable, and given that guests going off at dawn to visit Himba you may find this a problem.

Some of the rooms are quite a few minutes walk from the central complex, and the ones furthest away seem to get noise from the camping area (or something noisy nearby - music , laughter and the occasional scream).

Meals were average, though the staff try hard in this regard.

Front desk staff were the poorest aspect of this stay - not helpful and lots of vague excuses. Checking-out may take a very long time.

The resident manager (new in 2013) is are of the shortcomings and trying to fix a few of them .

The main complex has a stunning view and an infinity pool which makes it a pleasant place to relax.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wild_World_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Opuwo
0.0 mi away
Okahirongo River Camp
Okahirongo River Camp
#9 of 11 in Kaokoland
17 reviews
0.0 mi away
Uukwaluudhi Safari Lodge
Uukwaluudhi Safari Lodge
#32 of 51 in Kunene Region
21 reviews
0.0 mi away
Otjiwa Safari Lodge
Otjiwa Safari Lodge
#4 of 15 in Otjiwarongo
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Waterberg Wilderness Lodge
Waterberg Wilderness Lodge
#8 of 15 in Otjiwarongo
149 reviews
0.0 mi away
Fiume Lodge
Fiume Lodge
#2 of 12 in Grootfontein
83 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sossus Oasis Camp Site
Sossus Oasis Camp Site
#3 of 9 in Sesriem
284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Opuwo Country Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Opuwo Country Lodge

Property: Opuwo Country Lodge
Address: Opuwo, Namibia
Location: Namibia > Kunene Region > Opuwo
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Opuwo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Opuwo Country Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Opuwo Country Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing