We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best place to stay in Opuwo”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Opuwo Country Lodge
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Opuwo
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
100 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Best place to stay in Opuwo”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013

We specifically booked this place as they advertized Himba Village tours. We were not expecting much in the way of accommodations and we were pleasantly surprised. Getting to the hotel is a bit of a challenge...first to find the turn off...a bit out of town...and then driving up one of the most rugged, unpaved roads I have ever driven. But the view from the top of the hills is spectacular! There is a gorgeous pool overlooking the valley and an outdoor patio where you can eat. The rooms were nice enough--not fancy--set on the hillside below the lodge and most have a deck overlooking the valley. The food was marginal...we stuck with stuff we knew...lots of grilled ham and cheese sandwiches! Breakfasts were very good.

The tour to the Himba Village was really wonderful. We had a guide from the hotel and he did a good job of preparing us and walking us through the village. It was fascinating to see the Himba people in their own environment. It is probably the best place in Namibia to see the Himba people.

There are lots of Himba and Hero people in the town of Opuwo, but we wanted to see their village and have an opportunity to interact with them. The town is like the rugged "old west"...never know what you will see...it is great people watching but limited for shopping or eating. There is a big grocery store right as you enter town and that area seems to be the gathering point for the town. There is also an outdoor market (mostly for local people) right near the OK Grocery Store.

Room Tip: Ask for a room close to the lodge
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Schleuder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    135
    92
    29
    12
See reviews for
52
159
4
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sandton, South Africa
Level Contributor
228 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

Very nice hotel, excellent dinner, breakfast lacked at little if compaired with the dinner. Beautiful large pool overlooking the Kaokoveld. Ideal stay over if you would like to explore the area and visit a Himba Village.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susanne412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
39 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

We spent one night at Opuwo Country Lodge on our way to Epupa Falls. We had emailed them requesting a camp spot but apparently they didn't receive it, so we ended up staying in a room (they did give us a bit of a discount to apologize for the mixup). The rooms were very basic and we didn't feel that they were especially clean, but we were comfortable enough. The really great thing about this lodge is the spectacular view from the lovely pool & restaurant area. Almost worth staying here for that reason alone! The food was pretty much like all the other buffets we experienced in Namibia - lots of variety including wild game. Nothing spectacular but totally fine. Opuwo is amazing, by the way - not to be missed on any trip to Namibia! On our way back from Epupa, we did manage to get a camp spot at the Opuwo Country Lodge - right on the edge of the plateau overlooking a gorgeous valley. How beautiful! We arrived fairly early so there were many spots to choose from, but the campsite did fill up quickly. There aren't many other places to stay in Opuwo, so get there early! The shower facilities, etc. were basic but fine. The really best thing about this lodge is the staff - they were all lovely. Oh - and of course the view! Wow!

Room Tip: If you want a camp spot - arrive early!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank buzzinn1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013 via mobile

My girlfriend and I visited in February and loved it. The staff were all fantastic, the food was really top class (makes me hungry thinking about it) and the location is beautiful and peaceful.

The hotel provided a great himba experience which we will never forget. We even went back to the village a second time with some off duty hotel staff who had never experienced the himba culture either.

I would recommend at least 2 nights here.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ReggieShandler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London UK
Level Contributor
83 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2012

Wonderful location with stunning views from the terrace, pool and bar area, as well as from the balconies of many of the rooms. Helpful staff but so-so food. Lovely, if slightly small, infinity pool.

We took the hotel's trip to a Himba village - a fascinating encounter that was a highlight of our time in Namibia and an undoubted privilege - although we fought with our misgivings over whether this sort of intrusion by foreigners hung about with cameras is really appropriate?

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BackInLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Namibia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

We decided to go up for drinks and a meal last weekend. How disappointing that in the midst of this beautiful hotel with perfect views the lunch we were served was inedible! We were also offended by the over familiar, cheeky, waitress who obviously had no training in customer service. Unfortunately the Manager wasn't around for us to speak to.

I have to say that the staff in this place are usually very polite and well mannered - even if the food is not always great. This particular day, in addition to the rudeness of the waitress, we felt unwelcome as though the staff wanted us to leave quickly - continually bringing our drinks bill even when not requested!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DianeinNamibia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Opuwo hotels

Windhoek, Namibia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

Recently visited Opuwo Country Hotel.. Great service, such friendly people, including staff members (genuine), beautiful views and the food is superb!

Would definitely go back again!

Its also a stopover to Epupa Falls if you are keen.

Room Tip: Ask for the luxury rooms, great sunset views from your own balcony! :-))
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chriszelda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Opuwo
95.7 mi away
Hobatere Lodge
Hobatere Lodge
#9 of 35 in Etosha National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
0.0 mi away
Uukwaluudhi Safari Lodge
Uukwaluudhi Safari Lodge
#26 of 51 in Kunene Region
4.0 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
0.0 mi away
Okahirongo River Camp
Okahirongo River Camp
#9 of 11 in Kaokoland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
435.0 mi away
Namib Naukluft Lodge
Namib Naukluft Lodge
#9 of 12 in Sossusvlei
4.0 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
279.0 mi away
Waterberg Guest Farm
Waterberg Guest Farm
#1 of 2 in Okakarara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
0.0 mi away
Otjiwa Safari Lodge
Otjiwa Safari Lodge
#4 of 15 in Otjiwarongo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Opuwo Country Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Opuwo Country Lodge

Property: Opuwo Country Lodge
Address: Opuwo, Namibia
Location: Namibia > Kunene Region > Opuwo
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Opuwo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Opuwo Country Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Opuwo Country Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing