We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Himba experience fullfilled”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Opuwo Country Lodge
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Opuwo
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Very bumpy road to reach the hotel, better to use 4x4. Hotel has a great location and reception area. The rooms are very basic and dusty in the bathrooms you have to use water from the 10 ltrs bottle to was your hand or brush your teeths. The restaurant has a great view but the food variety and quality poor. The staff in the restaurant and reception was helpfull and friendly. Our children had an unforgettable experience and time in the Himba Village which was our aim for our visit to Opuwa.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kers-Arana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (397)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

169 - 175 of 397 reviews

Reviewed August 14, 2012

We stayed at the Opuwo Country Hotel's campsite twice in five days recently, the campsite itself is situated on a hillside with quite good views over the surrounding countryside. Campers are allowed to use the hotels infinity pool which has stunning views and has to be recommended on a hot day. The campsites themselves are in general somewhat smaller than otherwise found in Namibia which isn't a problem if using a roof-top tent type of vehicle, however for larger overland type vehicles some of the spaces are far too small. For this reason we booked both times, requesting a larger space - on the first occasion the receptionist couldn't have been more helpful or clear, suggesting site number 3 for its clearance which turned out to be perfect. On the second occasion we were answered by a different receptionist and requested the same site to be told that it was already booked but that site number 9 would also be ok and we therefore reserved it. On arrival we checked in at reception (which is at the lodge, not the campsite - this is important to note) to be told that site 9 was already taken but that a variety of other sites were available and we could "go and choose for ourselves". On inspection each of the "available" sites was either miniscule or already occupied. Returning to reception (a walk of approx 1km) the receptionist could not understand the issue, clearly did not want to help and only resolved (very ungraciously) the problem after great insistance on our part. This took almost 2 hours of our time - not a relaxing start to our stay. The difference between the 2 receptionists attitudes was like chalk and cheese!
The campsite ablutions are ok - not very clean, but not as bad as some others - beware of the water running out occasionally though!
The approach to the hotel is somewhat difficult - a steep sandy and deeply corrugated track of perhaps 2km out of the town (well signposted though). This would be interesting in a 2 wheel drive vehicle - and particularly so for those without good ground clearance.

Room Tip: If you have a large vehicle for the campsite, request site No 3, 9 or 12 - and insist on them respec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank yenrab666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2012

Probably the average of lodges/accommodations we stayed in Namibia is so high, that I haven't appreciated this one, which is probably the only solution to stay in Opuwo.
The ways to reach the reception are totally awful: full of big holes and rocks, worst than all the road we did!You must have a 4x4 (and we had) to avoid bad tires surprises!
The welcoming was not so nice and warm as usual (which is something that distinguishes Namibia) and we spent a bit of time in understanding why our reservation didn't seem to be..not very nice considering there are no options in Opuwo!
The room was quite different from the picture in the web site (old,dark and small),but further more it was really dusty! The worst was the bathroom:the wc didn't work properly,in fact there was 10 liters bottle to "help yourself",which is unacceptable!Even if in Africa there is not probably a lot of water,this is not the way of doing.Also because water pipes for the grass/pool were a lot around!
The launge is nice,the pool beautiful,wifi worked but under payment (first time again in Namibia).
The dinner was at the buffet:there was a lot of food,but I tried different things and I succeeded only in eating an acceptable grilled kudu:I didn't find the food fresh/good. The service was low.
We didn't sleep well because there were music,songs and noises all night long, like there were a drums/rave party around.
Nice excursions at himba, even if I had the feeling it was a bit artificial specially at the end, when after the visit there is a "bazaar" where the sale their products and they ask money to see them dancing (we was told it's to gain money for medicines).The fun thing is that at the end 10 of them came in our "bus" to go to the center city..with a sheep!Strange isn't it?

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank solecheride79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2012

Pretty rough road from main street of Opuwo up to the lodge- better you have a 4x4. But when you succeed, enjoy an outstanding view from terrace of diningroom, from pool right in front of it or- if you have booked a lux-room- from veranda of your room over Kaokoveld. Warm welcome, nice and helpful staff, but got the impression, that some members of staff´s behaviour toward people in lux- rooms is different toward those staying at campsite (we stayed in a lux- room) .........
Really good game dishes for dinner, good winelist. Extremely nice and funny dumb cook.
Although this lodge is very clean, forget the pool- washrooms- they must have forgotten them for weeks.
But all in all a recommendable lodge.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Josef R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2012

Our trip to Namibia was planned as a fully self catered camping trip. But after travelling from Orupembe to Opuwo on a road that was non-existent in places, we were in serious need of some TLC.
Our GPS listed the Opuwo Country Hotel and we decided to rather stay at a bed and breakfast type establishment instead of camping that night. We had our doubts after travelling through what to us felt like the less savoury part of town, but we arrived at this oasis in this arid land.
The hotel offers various types of accommodation in the form of camping, standard and luxury rooms. We opted for a standard room and at €130 it was not cheap by any standard, the breakfast that was included in the rate was out of this world, the beds comfortable and the air conditioning was functional.
The lodge facilities are first class and the views from the hilltop spectacular at sunset and sunrise.
Will we stay there again? Yes! and we might even consider camping because all the lodge facilities are available to campers as well.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Adamastos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2012

We stayed there just for one night. In the morning bad surprise: No water for several hours... The road to the hotel is practically for 4WD cars! - In bed shape! Rooms very basic - and expensive if you compare them w/amenities.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Babinicz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2012

The hotel is quite luxurious in the main lodge although the rooms are quite average and small for the price of 135 Euro. The main lodge is a beautiful thatched building (largest thatched building I have ever seen), with amazing views over Kaokovald. Room was comfortable and good air conditioning. Reception staff were very friendly and helpful with advice and other questions.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Braveliver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Opuwo Country Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Opuwo Country Lodge

Address: Opuwo, Namibia
Location: Namibia > Kunene Region > Opuwo
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Opuwo
Price Range: $145 - $299 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Opuwo Country Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Opuwo Country Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing