We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great views over Kaokoveld”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Opuwo Country Lodge
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Opuwo
Klosterneuburg, Austria
Level Contributor
149 reviews
135 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Great views over Kaokoveld”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

Pretty rough road from main street of Opuwo up to the lodge- better you have a 4x4. But when you succeed, enjoy an outstanding view from terrace of diningroom, from pool right in front of it or- if you have booked a lux-room- from veranda of your room over Kaokoveld. Warm welcome, nice and helpful staff, but got the impression, that some members of staff´s behaviour toward people in lux- rooms is different toward those staying at campsite (we stayed in a lux- room) .........
Really good game dishes for dinner, good winelist. Extremely nice and funny dumb cook.
Although this lodge is very clean, forget the pool- washrooms- they must have forgotten them for weeks.
But all in all a recommendable lodge.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Josef R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    135
    92
    29
    12
See reviews for
52
159
4
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2012

Our trip to Namibia was planned as a fully self catered camping trip. But after travelling from Orupembe to Opuwo on a road that was non-existent in places, we were in serious need of some TLC.
Our GPS listed the Opuwo Country Hotel and we decided to rather stay at a bed and breakfast type establishment instead of camping that night. We had our doubts after travelling through what to us felt like the less savoury part of town, but we arrived at this oasis in this arid land.
The hotel offers various types of accommodation in the form of camping, standard and luxury rooms. We opted for a standard room and at €130 it was not cheap by any standard, the breakfast that was included in the rate was out of this world, the beds comfortable and the air conditioning was functional.
The lodge facilities are first class and the views from the hilltop spectacular at sunset and sunrise.
Will we stay there again? Yes! and we might even consider camping because all the lodge facilities are available to campers as well.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adamastos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2012

We stayed there just for one night. In the morning bad surprise: No water for several hours... The road to the hotel is practically for 4WD cars! - In bed shape! Rooms very basic - and expensive if you compare them w/amenities.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Babinicz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Andrews, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
261 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2012

The hotel is quite luxurious in the main lodge although the rooms are quite average and small for the price of 135 Euro. The main lodge is a beautiful thatched building (largest thatched building I have ever seen), with amazing views over Kaokovald. Room was comfortable and good air conditioning. Reception staff were very friendly and helpful with advice and other questions.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Braveliver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2012

Opuwo country Hotel is situated on a hill looking over the endless Kaokoland, truly breathtaking scenery. Especially in the morning when you can enjoy your breakfast outside watching this view and the sunrise. One of the most spectacular views to experience. The hotel main building itself is beautiful, nicely built with an African touch. The rooms we stayed at were in a complex and the rooms were attached to each other. This was a big minus when the thatch roof carries all sounds from the neighbouring room. The room itself was a bit small but otherwise nice with mosquito nets, beautiful bathroom and African style decor.
The dinner was overpriced for the value and it is a pity that there is only a set menu. Breakfast on the other hand was tasty. I would recommend this as the number one place in Opuwo, but there is a risk that the management considers themselves as the monopoly in Opuwo and does not keep the good standards high and maintain a good customer service.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank honeybush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2012

This is certainly a luxury hotel compared to the houses in which the residents of Opuwo live. It would be unfair to compare this hotel to a 'luxury' hotel in (for example) a European city. However they do charge European prices (N$ 655 p.p. sharing p. night for a standard room with no view, and N$ 930 p.p. sharing p. night for a luxury room with view, both incl. breakfast), which is totally inappropriate for the (lack of) quality&service this hotel offers.

We stayed for 1 night in a luxury room, which according to the hotel description is supposed to have 'the view'. However this is not the case. That's because the rooms are set up in blocks, and only the front blocks of the luxury rooms have a view over the valley- the other luxury rooms face the back of the blocks in front of them. Since our luxury room was located in a block with no view I asked if we could change to a room with the promised view. Luckily this was not a problem because the hotel was virtually empty.

The hotel opened in 2005 and is already beginning to show it's age. The interior of our luxury room was dark&dusty- there were a lot of stains and holes in the mosquito net, stains on the curtains, and the sliding door to the balcony did not close properly.

The pool area is nice with beautiful views over the valley, but there were only a few deckchairs (not more than 6) which were already taken. When I asked the person in charge of the pool if there were more deckchairs, he just shrugged with his shoulders and nodded no. As mentioned before, the hotel was almost completely empty- I wonder how they deal with this issue when they have more guests.

The food was nothing special and the service quite horrible actually. No 'hello' or welcome smile from the waitress. No smiles at all in fact during our stay.

Apart from the bad experience in this hotel, we used Opuwo basically as a stopover to get to Epupa, and in the end we were glad we did. Although it is interesting to experience the mix of traditional Himba and Herero women walking in the main street and in the local supermarket, Opuwo has unfortunately little more to offer.

Room Tip: Beware if you booked a luxury room for the view! Only the luxury rooms in the front 2 blocks have a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank UtrechtFlyingfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
276 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2011

The hotel is located on the hill right outside of Opuwo (which is a very interesting village). The view from the hotel is beautiful. We have spent two nights there in a deluxe room. The room itself was good but I would not define it deluxe. However, it was very comortable. The main building of the hotel is really cool and has a beautiful terrace where dining tables are located. The food was good as well as the service.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pilone11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Opuwo
95.7 mi away
Hobatere Lodge
Hobatere Lodge
#9 of 35 in Etosha National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
0.0 mi away
Uukwaluudhi Safari Lodge
Uukwaluudhi Safari Lodge
#26 of 51 in Kunene Region
4.0 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
0.0 mi away
Okahirongo River Camp
Okahirongo River Camp
#9 of 11 in Kaokoland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
435.0 mi away
Namib Naukluft Lodge
Namib Naukluft Lodge
#9 of 12 in Sossusvlei
4.0 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
279.0 mi away
Waterberg Guest Farm
Waterberg Guest Farm
#1 of 2 in Okakarara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
0.0 mi away
Otjiwa Safari Lodge
Otjiwa Safari Lodge
#4 of 15 in Otjiwarongo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Opuwo Country Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Opuwo Country Lodge

Property: Opuwo Country Lodge
Address: Opuwo, Namibia
Location: Namibia > Kunene Region > Opuwo
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Opuwo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Opuwo Country Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Opuwo Country Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing