We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kendenup Cottage Green”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kendenup Lodge and Cottages
Reviewed July 8, 2013

This has been a very enjoyable, peaceful and relaxing home away from home. Finding it was made easy due to the well placed signs. Having both a log fire and air-conditioner made it very comfortable. Dinner at the Supper Club was delicious and very filling. Sitting on our verandah overlooking the paddocks, listening to the birds and sheep and watching the awesome sunset over the Stirling Ranges and then this morning seeing the amazing red sky sunrise has been so beautiful. Felt like we had front row seats watching the "wonderful nature show" of the Stirling Ranges. We have had a day in Albany and Denmark and are looking forward to doing the Porongurup Skywalk. Thanks so much for the serenity. Fran

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fran C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (65)
There are newer reviews for Kendenup Lodge and Cottages
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 65 reviews

Reviewed June 26, 2013

Finding Kendenup lodge was such a lovely stroke of luck as we found ourselves settled into a very relaxed and peaceful place to stay for a few days.
The well signed country road led us straight to the "farm gate" of Kendenup lodge.
Our home "the family cottage green" sits peacefully on the edge of an oasis of gum trees surrounded by lush green farmland. The mighty blue Stirling Ranges in the distance.
Opening the door to our cottage allowed us to step into a very stylish, well appointed open plan living space. Beautiful linen covered all the beds in two good sized bedrooms. A very functional, clean, bathroom completed our new home for a short stay.
The wood fire all set and ready just to light as the cool evenings closed in for the night.
Bella our little fluffy dog is also welcome here.
A well stocked kitchen allows any cook/chef to create most meals.
Late afternoon we settle into very comfortable chairs on the deck, glass of wine in hand, Bella at our feet, to watch the setting sun to our left change the blue colours of the Stirlings.
As the closing day settled and the peaceful blanket of the darkening night enveloped us we relaxed. We slept soundly that night, cosy in this warm cottage.
Waking early and with a coffee in hand we stepped out into an early morning chill to watch the mist covered rising sun climb over the hidden Stirlings Ranges.
A flock of grazing sheep silhouette through the mist gently wander across the paddock. Chirping birds, all busy in and around the many gum trees.
A beautiful winter morning with the promise of a very relaxing and peaceful day ahead.
Meeting the very welcoming and friendly owners Linda and Rod Harris, led us into a verbal and informative story, Rod showed us through and shared with us the wonderful and interesting history some of the salvaged materials used in the construction of their function centre.
Many of the special features included are;
A large and a small function room
A cocktail lounge.
A beautiful restaurant tastefully decorated in its rustic charm.
Barbeque area and pizza oven. [wood fired of course]
This amazing place tucked into a picturesque country landscape with the Stirling ranges in its background is well worth a visit.
Any future planning of a special event is also worth consideration.

Petra Sevier.
Bridgetown. WA.

.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Petra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

A totally different experience to our normal Margaret River jaunts. Very few tourist trappings just total serenity drinking wine on our verandah looking over the fields to the Stirling Ranges. We took a 45 minute drive to Albany this morning had a great time bimbling round the markets and now are just relaxing with the log fire warming the cottage as we sip wine on the verandah. Well equipped very peaceful and a great escape from the rat race. Pete and Jen

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peterfs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

Having spent 4 nights at The Kendenup Lodge (2 nights) and Cottages (2 in Green Cottage) we are happy to recommend either style of accommodation as the perfect getaway for couples, families or groups looking for the right balance of relaxation, sophistication (Supper Club) and luxury.

Peaceful mornings were interspersed with the sounds of the native birds singing their beautiful odes to the day, with The Stirling Ranges beckoning the more adventurous.

The owners and staff were helpful, friendly and jovial going about their duties allowing us to gain the maximum pleasure from the surroundings and facilities. A special "Thank you" goes out to Chris who was very nice in the way she went about her duties.

The lodge amenities including the kitchen, spa and sauna were more than expected and the large shared lounge room was a great place to gather and meet new friends as was the outdoor pizza oven area. Yum!

As for our cottage (Green); Wow! The perfect little home with comfy beds, toasty warm fireplace and lovely lounge chairs to sink into after a long day hiking up Bluff Knoll or just lazing about.

The view of The Ranges from the front verandah was spectacular, offering varied colours and perspectives throughout the day dependent upon the time and prevailing weather patterns.

Thanks again for making our stay so wonderful.

Karl and Monica

Room Tip: We loved the Green Room due to the view. But they would all be good.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karl J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

We stayed in the blue cottage for 4 nights and it was a perfect place to escape the hectic city life. breakfast and coffee on the veranda with the morning sun peeking over the scenic Stirling ranges and watching the majestic glow of the sunset dance off the hillsides in the evening with the fire roaring away for snuggling up when the cold creeps in. Saturday night with wine and a fantastic, delicious dinner served with a smile at the Supper club that's certainly not to be missed. Over all a truly relaxing and wonderful place to recharge those battery's.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank supaitchyfeet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2013

We are currently staying in the family blue cottage and have been having a lovely, relaxing holiday. The staff have been very friendly and helpful and the location is just beautiful - the view out to the Stirling Ranges from the verandah/kitchen/lounge room windows is just magnificent and one you would never tire of! We have bought the whole family - a 1 and 3 year old and 2 dogs and it is so nice to be able to holiday all together. The cottage is comfy and clean, the beds are beautiful and the towels and linen high quality. We were also supplied with a high chair and portacot which made packing a bit simpler. Would be perfect with just a few adjustments - would be lovely if there was some basic outdoor play equipment for the kids, would be ideal if there was a screen to put in front of the combustion stove, lack of one has meant we have had to hold off lighting a fire until the one year old is in bed. Also there is no longer a gym on site even though it is still mentioned in the literature in the cottage and the pump on the spa is broken so we could not have a spa which I was quite looking forward to. Other than that the setup is great and we are having a brilliant time- as our three year old says "I love our cottage!"

Room Tip: The family blue cottage has a magnificent view!
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AussieJules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013

We were given a voucher to the Kendenup Cottages as a Christmas present. When we rang we decided to upgrade from a lodge room and also stay for an extra day - are we so glad we did.
We were greeted in a very friendly way and given the key to our cottage- the Blue Cottage and when we arrived we couldn't believe the quality of the accommodation and the magnificent uninterrupted view to the Stirling Ranges.
The cottage consisted of 1 large lounge, dining and kitchen, two bedrooms and a bathroom.laundry and toilet (separate).
The beds were so comfortable and the lounge chairs have recliners built in. We really felt at home.
I spent quite a lot of time sitting on the verandah reading and just looking at the view over the Stirling Ranges - it was so peaceful and relaxing.
On the Saturday night we had dinner in the restaurant on the property and it was wonderful - the tastes were delightful.
It is a great location also as Mt Barker and all the wineries is only about 15 minutes away and it is only about 60 kilometres from Albany.
Would recommend this place as one of the better places to stay.
By the way I could also get reasonable mobile phone reception as well.

Room Tip: Ask for the Blue Cottage - a bit more but wonderful.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Searene10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Kendenup Lodge and Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kendenup Lodge and Cottages

Address: 217 Moorilup Rd, Kendenup, Western Australia 6323, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Kendenup
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Kendenup
Price Range: $138 - $163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kendenup Lodge and Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Providing a variety of accommodation styles, situated on 40 acres of natural Australian bushland overlooking the Stirling Range in the Great Southern Region of Western Australia. Our onsite restaurant is a winner with all of our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Kendenup Lodge and Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing