We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful place to stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The EarthHouse

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Clunes
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The EarthHouse
Ranked #1 of 1 Clunes B&B and Inns
Sydney
2 reviews
“Beautiful place to stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

My husband and I stayed at The Earthhouse earlier on in the year in January as we were attending a Wedding in Byron Bay. Our stay was nothing short of amazing.

Jackie was the most accommodating host (with the best advice about where to eat and coffee!) and her dog Chocolate a lovely breakfast companion. The breakfast each morning was devine with homemade bread, muesli, fresh orange juice, fruit, coffee and tea enjoyed outside each morning overlooking the lovely scenery listening to the local native birds.

The premises is spotless and effortlessly styled with beautiful natural lemon myrtle shower products. You feel like you are staying in a place straight out of a magazine. Chic but grounded at the same time.

The setting of The Earthhouse is spectacular overlooking the valley and the location is super close to Bangalow and within easy driving distance to the Byron Bay centre. Since The Earthouse is out of the hustle and bustle of Byron Bay it is the perfect place to stay and explore the wider hinterland surrounds (Clunes, Possum Creek, Mullumbimby, Bangalow, Newrybar etc). This is definitely a place we will stay at again should we be returning to the Byron Bay region.

Room Tip: Either room (as there are only two) are as beautiful and peaceful as each other)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maya J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    1
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
2
19
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012

We booked two nights at The Earth House with the goal of having a private, secluded escape amongst the romantic beauty of the Bangalow countryside. We stayed a few days before Christmas, but booked this months in advance.

The Earth House comprises two small adjoining rooms, each with an open-plan bathroom and kitchenette area. It doesn't say so on the website, but it's worth nothing that these rooms are connected to the owners' private home.

The #1 thinig that hits you upon arrival is the view here, in the middle of the rolling hills ten minutes from Bangalow, and best of all, each room has a private 'deck' area with a table and chairs, allowing you to relax and soak up the scenery. We were elated to see this.

The rooms themselves are gorgeous, with beautiful decor and, of course, the wonderful rammed earth walls. Our first night was lovely. We were lucky to have nobody in the second room beside us, and although we hadn't known about the rooms' proximity to the owners' home, we felt we had privacy and loved sitting out on the little deck, staring out at the unbeatable view. We were also grateful for the barbecue available for guests' use. We hadn't really wanted to go out for meals elsewhere, so this worked out well and we looked forward to spending our weekend together in the lovely little cocoon of The Earth House. Please note, however, that kitchen provisions are limited, with no paper towel or kitchen cloth or anything like that, so if you're thinking of using the barbecue for dinner and breakfast, as we did, you may find the supplies insufficient.

Unfortunately, we didn't feel so positive about things on our second day, when a large number of guests arrived at the owners' house. Aside from there being a great deal of noise, which really disturbed our peaceful retreat, we no longer felt comfortable sitting out on our private deck, as it felt as though someone might walk past at any moment to do something or retrieve the two dogs who camped out with us so much of the time. (We are, luckily, dog people, so we didn't mind that.) We do appreciate that in the end, no one did interrupt us, but the upshot of this was that we felt really exposed, and actually kind of in the way of the owners' personal Christmas gathering. Consequently, we felt more comfortable just retreating inside and closing the blinds. Not a nice feeling and actually pretty frustrating when we'd paid $200 a night to get away from it all. We can't even imagine how much noisier it would have been with guests in the room next to us, too.

We really would have appreciated being advised of this full house in advance. This, at least, would have given us the option to decide for ourselves whether we still wanted to come, knowing that our peaceful retreat actually may not be so peaceful.

The Earth House's website reads so beautifully and so we had high expectations for our weekend there. In the end, though, our stay was not what we'd expected or hoped for. Despite the gorgeous view, the comfy bed and so on, we left feeling disappointed and a little ripped off, to be honest. We communicated as much to the owners via email afterwards (we simply left on the final morning, having paid in advance), yet they simply replied with a 'thank you for your feedback' email, so we're not sure how much they valued our input.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MissLC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackie B, Owner at The EarthHouse, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
We feel very disappointed that these guests felt so unhappy with their stay. However, in relation to this particular couple, we feel that they simply booked accommodation that was not suitable to their particular needs.

We do not mention in any of our advertising that there is a kitchen at EarthHouse, so it is no surprise that they were disappointed with the lack of cooking facilities! What we do offer is a unique guesthouse experience which includes a homemade continental breakfast daily - we are not offering self-contained, apartment-style accommodation and we have never claimed to.

We do offer the use of a BBQ, but it is up to the guest to purchase any additional items that they require for this (for example, paper towel). We offer the BBQ as an additional service to guests, however 99% of our guests are here to explore the beautiful hinterland and its many wonderful eating places, so it is rarely used.

We would also like to respond by saying that EarthHouse is not 'in' the owners home, but contained within an adjacent cottage, separated by a ten metre courtyard which has a covered walkway and outdoor fireplace. All the walls are built from 300mm rammed earth, so travelling sound has never been an issue and none of our previous guests have ever told us so.

During the four years that EarthHouse has been operating, we have never had any guests complain about us using our private home and having personal visitors. At no time during their two-day stay, did myself, or any of my four adult family members, see, or have any contact with these particular guests. Guest privacy is of utmost importance and is respected at all times. EarthHouse has never claimed to be a retreat that caters to those wanting absolute privacy as EarthHouse can accommodate up to two couples, in two separate rooms.

We did receive a letter of complaint from this couple after their stay, which we accepted and responded to. Their letter was most upsetting and included comments which are not included on the Tripadvisor comment.

If anyone considering staying at EarthHouse has any specific questions in relation to this particular couples' comments, we are more than happy to answer them in person.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland
Level Contributor
41 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2009

The EarthHouse is just fantastic ..... it's a new purpose-built B & B just out of the village of Clunes. The cottage is next to the main house, so you can be very private if you wish. The view from the bedroom and verandah is amazing, and the whole place is so tasteful and attractive. Bangalow and Byron Bay are very close, but you can go back to your quiet haven at night!! We'll be back!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jules52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The EarthHouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The EarthHouse

Property: The EarthHouse
Address: 334 James Gibson Road | 10 minutes from Bangalow, Clunes, New South Wales 2480, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Clunes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Clunes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
EarthHouse is a unique guesthouse, built from local rammed earth, situated in the picturesque hills of the North Coast of New South Wales. Located just 10 minutes from Bangalow on a 100 acre working farm, EarthHouse comprises of two independent suites, each with queen bed, large ensuite bathroom, dressing room, breakfast pantry, and an adjoining private courtyard. The EarthHouse philosophy is tasteful simplicity, inspired by and sympathetic to, the natural environment. Every care has been made to ensure the comfort of guests, whilst being sensitive to the earth from which it was built. Both rooms have spectacular views from the wide verandah, across the Corndale Valley and beyond to the Nightcap ranges. The EarthHouse began when owners Alastair and Jackie Black, moved to the area in 2005 from a sheep and cattle station in North West NSW. After many years of experience with renovating houses, they endeavored to build an ecologically sound house and cottage that included many of the best ideas from previous homes. The rammed earth approach to building was chosen because of its unique look, and its exceptional thermal qualities. A typical seasonal breakfast includes freshly ground local coffee, loose leaf teas, freshly squeezed juice, fresh seasonal fruit, home-baked sour dough bread, homemade spreads, muesli and yoghurt. EXTRAS Wine/champagne and cheese platters can be arranged for your arrival. Massages and yoga lessons can also be arranged. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing