We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relax!!!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ceres
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mount Ceder Guest Cottages
Ranked #3 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Ceres
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Spent last weekend here. So relaxing and peaceful, even though the resort was full. Absolutely perfect. They have a small shop for essentials, breakfast was great and the weather was cold but clear. Everything just 100% for us. Visited the nearby caves and bushman art. Very interesting. Well worth the visit.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LovethailandCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (74)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 74 reviews

Reviewed May 20, 2013

This was the second time we visited Mount Ceder, and every time we loved the peaceful well maintained farm and chalets. There is so much to do on the farm, from mountain biking to canoeing to horse riding to just lazing in front of a log-fire. The splendor of nature on the farm is breathtaking!!!
We visited the farm in May, the weather was magnificent, hot and clear skies during the days and cold and crisp during the nights, also, the bedding and linen provided were perfect.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank Jacquesheidi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

This is probably one of the best - if not THE best - place we have stayed at in South Africa (and we travel widely). The setting is absolutely stunning, and the chalets are magnificent. We stayed in Puntjie and wanted to live there for ever!! Its position was just perfect, overlooking the river and valley, with beautiful autumn colours (trees and bushes) in the foreground and mountains ahead. There is nothing to beat relaxing in Puntjie's outdoor jacuzzi, with a cool glass of white wine, just taking in the views. In fact, chalet is far too humble term for Puntjie - it is a house. It is beautifully designed and appointed, with everything you might need.
The staff at Mount Ceder were simply brilliant too - so friendly and willing. The receptionist was so cute and helpful; and Gladstone was a delight, helping us in all sorts of ways.
The food was great too.
The area is lovely - with so many walks and interesting places to visit.
Thoroughly recommended, and we will definitely return.

Room Tip: It just depends on the size you'd like, and how isolated you would like to be. We loved Puntji...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve1942
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

I have visited the Cederberg many times before but Mount Ceder is a gem of a place to stay. We stayed in the cheaper houses but the facilities were spotless and clean and worth every penny. The more expensive houses are more than worth while with fantastic views over the mountains and river. This is a must stay place.

The staff and management were wonderful and it was really a treat to have such friendly hosts. I forgot my I-pod in the unit and I thought I would never see it again but we have been away for only a few hours when they phoned to inform me that they found it. They even arranged delivery to Cape Town. That is fantastic service and that kind of honesty is hard to find.

There are loads to do in the area. Hiking, mountain biking etc and the swims and kayak in the ri

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JStapelCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

Our 7th return to Mount Ceder and in no way did it disappoint. The scenery is spectacular. The option to just sit around and totally relax in absolute quiet is there as is the option to tackle mountain bike trails, horserides or hikes. The Cederberg wilderness caters for all levels of activity. A short drive will take you to Sanddrif with its exceptional wine farm, opportunities for tasting, and opportunities for unique hikes. Access to the Wolfberg cracks, the Arch and the Maltese Cross via clearly marked trails make this an opportunity for both the novice and experienced hiker, though an at least moderate degree of fitness is required. There is an observatory with enthusiastic astronomers explaining the skies and an opportunity to view through some of the larger more powerful telescopes. The kids will love this. This is all an easy drive from Mount Ceder and allows one to return relaxation in very comfortable chalets at Mount Ceder. Our preference is to book either Waboomhoek, Blinkberg or Klipbokkop as they are a little removed from the rest of the cottages and have their own unique sense of stillness and beauty. The facilities are excellent - fully equipped and with an excellent Braai (barbecue). Wood is obtainable at reception. The breakfasts at the reception area are typically South African - generous, tasty and served under the watchful eye of ex-malawian, Gladstone. Now, Gladstone is a gem! His welcoming smile and attention to guest satisfaction is worthy of the concierge position of the most well appointed 5 star hotels. its a remarkable spot in a remarkable wilderness.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GlobalWonderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

We stayed in Puntjie for three nights and loved every minute! The jacuzzi with an awesome view of the Cederberg is wonderful! The house is well equipped and very comfortable and cosy. There is a fireplace inside the house and a covered braai outside. This was the second time that we stayed in Puntjie and we will definitely return! We loved the isolation and privacy. Without any cellphone reception or television one gets time to recharge and relax. We took a day trip to the Stadsaal caves. It is absolutely amazing! You can buy an entrance permit from reception.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laetitia_coetzee1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

Having stopped off by chance, we were booked into Puntjie. No words can describe the serenity of the next few days. Long walks followed by refreshing dips in the river surrounded by fish. Utterly sublime. We cannot wait to return.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Novijka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ceres
21.2 mi away
Wolfkop Nature Reserve
Wolfkop Nature Reserve
#4 of 21 in Citrusdal
148 reviews
39.6 mi away
Inverdoorn Game Reserve
11.2 mi away
Kagga Kamma Nature Reserve
Kagga Kamma Nature Reserve
#1 of 2 in Kagga Kamma Private Game Reserve
410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Die Vlei Citrusdal
Die Vlei Citrusdal
#11 of 21 in Citrusdal
5 reviews
23.5 mi away
Citrusdal Country Lodge
Citrusdal Country Lodge
#3 of 7 in Citrusdal
45 reviews
47.2 mi away
Klondyke Cherry Farm
Klondyke Cherry Farm
#2 of 12 in Ceres
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mount Ceder Guest Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Ceder Guest Cottages

Address: Cederberg Mountains | Koue Bokkeveld, Ceres, Witzenberg Municipality 6836, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Witzenberg Municipality > Ceres
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Ceres
Price Range: $23 - $186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mount Ceder is situated in the Cederberg and offers 3 and 4 star self catering accommodation. Each cottage is fully equipped with towels, linen and cooking equipment. The are lends its self to hiking, swimming in the river, exploring the rock art in the mountains or just bird watching and relaxing from your patio. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing