We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Majestic Cederberg experience”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ceres
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mount Ceder Guest Cottages
Ranked #3 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Ceres
Certificate of Excellence
Kempton Park, South Africa
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Majestic Cederberg experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

We stayed in Puntjie for three nights and loved every minute! The jacuzzi with an awesome view of the Cederberg is wonderful! The house is well equipped and very comfortable and cosy. There is a fireplace inside the house and a covered braai outside. This was the second time that we stayed in Puntjie and we will definitely return! We loved the isolation and privacy. Without any cellphone reception or television one gets time to recharge and relax. We took a day trip to the Stadsaal caves. It is absolutely amazing! You can buy an entrance permit from reception.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laetitia_coetzee1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    19
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
16
32
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

Having stopped off by chance, we were booked into Puntjie. No words can describe the serenity of the next few days. Long walks followed by refreshing dips in the river surrounded by fish. Utterly sublime. We cannot wait to return.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Novijka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

We arrived not knowing what was waiting, but were pleasantly surprised by the 6-sleeper cottage "Klipbokkop" situated on a little hill, overlooking the valley and river. Lots of privacy, beautiful sun-deck, and a heated Jacuzzi (remember to switch on ahead of time).
This place is good for all-year-round breaks - have not been there in summer, could be hot.
Good beds, kitchen is reasonably well equipped, good fridge. There is a fireplace for heat, and an outdoor barbecue (covered) that works well.
Has the feel of "best kept secret". There is no mobile phone reception, so your break from the world will be good & proper. Gravel roads to to get there, so not for low-profile sportscars.

Room Tip: The cottage has a "main" bedroom with double bed, closest to the Jacuzzi. A "win&quo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JaapScholten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

This property is amazing, my wife and I went for two nights to enjoy the tranquil surrounds of the Cederberg.

We found the lodge online and did not know what to expect but we were amazed at how well run it is.

We stayed in the Melkbos cottage which is about 2km from the Main reception area. It was great, private and eco friendly with gas geyser and stove. LED lights at night and no TV or cellphone reception. great to get away from technology for a few days!!!

We highly advise folks to go horse riding, even if you have no experience the staff look after you well and it is well worth the money.

The food is also good if you do not want to braai everytime, just book prior.

Thanks to all the staff at Mount Ceder for a great weekend break!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SkipperZA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Level Contributor
46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2012

I am probably being a bit biased in this review seeing that the Cederberg is one of my most favourite weekend destinations in the Western Cape. We stayed in Blinkberg and the setting is simply amazing. You can simply relax or take a hike, swim in the river or my personal favourite take a horse ride with Rachelle. We didn't utilise the restaurant so I can't comment on that. All in all a lovely place to spend a weekend.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JennyBCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ceres
21.0 mi away
Wolfkop Nature Reserve
Wolfkop Nature Reserve
#4 of 21 in Citrusdal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
23.3 mi away
Elephant Leisure Resort
Elephant Leisure Resort
#1 of 21 in Citrusdal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ukholo Lodge
Ukholo Lodge
#7 of 21 in Citrusdal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.2 mi away
Kagga Kamma Nature Reserve
Kagga Kamma Nature Reserve
#1 of 2 in Kagga Kamma Private Game Reserve
4.0 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
0.0 mi away
Die Vlei Citrusdal
Die Vlei Citrusdal
#11 of 21 in Citrusdal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
47.2 mi away
Klondyke Cherry Farm
Klondyke Cherry Farm
#2 of 10 in Ceres
4.0 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mount Ceder Guest Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Ceder Guest Cottages

Property: Mount Ceder Guest Cottages
Address: Cederberg Mountains | Koue Bokkeveld, Ceres, Witzenberg Municipality 6836, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Witzenberg Municipality > Ceres
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Ceres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mount Ceder is situated in the Cederberg and offers 3 and 4 star self catering accommodation. Each cottage is fully equipped with towels, linen and cooking equipment. The are lends its self to hiking, swimming in the river, exploring the rock art in the mountains or just bird watching and relaxing from your patio. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing