We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What an experience! (Cherry picking at the farm.)”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Klondyke Cherry Farm
Ranked #2 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Ceres
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“What an experience! (Cherry picking at the farm.)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013

We went cherry picking while staying at another establishment in the area. What an awesome experience, a must do if you are close by. The prices are reasonable and they have some ready made preserves that are absolutely delicious! You can go for a picnic and have a braai under the trees too, so make a day of it.

Room Tip: We did not stay, only went for an outing t the farm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PierreCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    34
    6
    0
    1
See reviews for
33
13
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

Really nice activity for a morning and the cherries are delicious and great value for money. Just wish they sold coffee or food there but Next time we will bring some food and drinks with. Toilets could also have been cleaner. Overall a fun morning out but dress warm (even in summer) and eat before you go or take food with.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cherith G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
105 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2013

We have stayed at Klondyke a good number of times over the past years so can give you a more up to date report for those wishing to go. There are 3 self catering options available on this working fruit farm. The largest is a multi roomed old style farm house and then quite close to it is the Duck Pond cottage (aptly named as its on the small dam) and then above the beautifully wooded campsite is the Cherry Cottage. Having also stayed at Duck pond, I can assure those that would like a really romantic midweek getaway during the cold months of winter, to spend it there and enjoy this tiny, cozy cottage with a quaint fireplace and all kitchen goodies etc.. Don't bank on the weekends being quite so romantic and quiet if the farmhouse has been booked as the large number of folk that can be accommodated there might ruin your idea of being 'alone' ! So always check in advance if its free to ensure your sanctity ... Cherry cottage on the other hand has two bedrooms and a large shared shower/ bathroom , cozy lounge with a great fireplace and a lovely little kitchen area where everything is provided, even the BBQ or Braai wood is provided free. It is simple but quaint, clean and well kept! The farm is also a working fruit farm so you may have a tractor or two pass by. The only issue that I have noticed which is becoming a negative and especially if you book the Farm House or Duck Pond cottage, is the noise made from the farm laborer s after hours music and wine parties! Cherry cottage is still saved from this as its further away and therefore more private. However, this is a beautiful part of the Ceres world and winter snow on the Matroosberg will have you in awe of the surrounding beauty !! There is also now WiFi available near the main house and is free so a short walk to get signal is nice for those that can't do without their FB fix ...

Room Tip: Cherry Cottage has two separate rooms , one with a double bed and the other with 2 singles.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andre J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2012

Highlight of visiting Ceres! Cherries are very good this year - sweet and the overall experience makes it worthwhile, especially the fact that one has several options to get to Ceres from Cape Town - very scenic routes.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Adelevanschalkwyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ceres
15.8 mi away
Karoo 1 - Hotel Village
Karoo 1 - Hotel Village
#1 of 1 in De Doorns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
20.0 mi away
Fairy Glen Private Game Reserve
24.3 mi away
Eikelaan Farm Cottages
Eikelaan Farm Cottages
#6 of 19 in Tulbagh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.0 mi away
Fynbos Guest Farm
Fynbos Guest Farm
#1 of 6 in Wolseley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
20.5 mi away
Aquila Private Game Reserve
Aquila Private Game Reserve
#1 of 1 in Touwsrivier
3.5 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
20.9 mi away
Big Sky Cottages
Big Sky Cottages
#2 of 6 in Wolseley
5.0 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Klondyke Cherry Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Klondyke Cherry Farm

Property: Klondyke Cherry Farm
Address: | Klondyke Farm, Ceres, Witzenberg Municipality 6835, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Witzenberg Municipality > Ceres
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Ceres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Klondyke Farm is a working fruit farm with cherries, pears and apples. We have 3 self-catering cottages and camping available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Klondyke Cherry Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing