We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Memorable holiday...”
Review of Irish Cottages

Irish Cottages
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Aghnablaney
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Irish Cottages
Valletta, Malta
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Memorable holiday...”
Reviewed June 8, 2011

We stayed in Clover Cottage between 25/05/2011 to 01/06/2011. It was a wonderful week at the cottage which is equipped with anything you might think of. We felt very welcome - even by the rabbits crossing in front of the car and by the friendly sheep and cows in nearby fields. The surroundings are superb. Every year we spend our holiday in similar self catering accommodation and Clover Cottage beats them all; it is simply the BEST. Unfortunately we did not allow time for the hot tub which is our biggest regret. Recommended nearby attractions include Belleek pottery, Parke's Castle, Marble Arch Caves and Florence Court. For those driving it is advisable to cross the border to the Republic (5 mins drive from Clover) to refuel - it is much cheaper. A small suggestion to John would be to improve the wifi signal and speed in the cottage; otherwise it has created us the difficulty to find an equivalent property for our next holiday.

Paul & Marie

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mriley_malta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
28
11
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2011

Just returned from a 3 night stay in Shamrock cottage! Beautiful decor, surroundings and the perfect place to get away from everyday life! The cottage was immaculate and every need catered for! All 4 cottages are well situated on the site with easy access to the main reception to make use of the hot tub! My 2 yr old daughter made great use of the on site park. Beautiful views over the lough, the perfect place to have a BBQ! Very friendly approach both over the phone and in person by the owners. I would definitely recommend Irish Cottages to a friend and will be looking forward to booking with them in the future. I honestly did not want to leave!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KarenNorthernIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 1, 2011

If you are looking for 5* accommodation then look no further.
We were greated on arrivial by Noirin who showed us around the property, providing us with a description of how different bits and pieces worked in particular the hottub!

The cottage was beautiful and not too close to the other three cottages in the complex. Plenty of privacey as we enjoyed our breakfast alfrecso on the rear patio overlooking the open fields and view of the lake.

Most definately the best equipted kitchen I have ever been in. Graters, bowls, electric whisk, food processor. . .you name it. . .its there! Best of all is a Neff dishwasher, lets face it who wants to do dishes on ;your hols.

Noirin and John have created a home from home atmosphere in Clover cottage as it didnt feel like a holiday let. Plently of soft furnishings, nick nacks and wall art around the cottage. Spotlessly clean and very well maintained.

For all the men who enjoy a garden shed look no further . .each cottage has its own little shed with logs, BBQ, a sun loungers.

The little play park on site is in good condition with two swing sets, slide and playhouse. In this day and age it was wonderful to let our daughter play in safety knowing that the complex is gated and secure 24hrs a day. A plus is that you can see the play park from the Cottages.

All in all we had a wonderful week at the Irish Cottages, I would have no hesitation in recommending it to anyone who just wants to get away from it all.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank happyinbelfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
n.ireland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2011

Spent a lovely relaxing weekend in Bluebell cottage. The cottage had everything we needed, from kitchen equipment to garden furniture. It even had a bbq however March was not the time to be barbecuing. We stayed with children aged between 7 and 14yrs and they loved exploring the land around the cottage. Bluebell cottage has 3 very good size bedrooms with very comfy beds and plenty of storage. John and his mother Noreen have thought of everything even providing hairdyers and shampoo etc. I would have no hesitations recommending this cottage and hope to return sometime.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kezN.ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lovecottages, Owner at Irish Cottages, responded to this review, April 1, 2011
Many thanks for providing this review. We are fortunate to have a really relaxing and beautiful location. You must come back in the summer and try the bbq - great fun on the shore! All the very best for now and we hope to see you again at Irish Cottages.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belfast
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2011

Fantastic accomodation, fully equipt with all you need. great for just relaxing or there is plenty to do nearby.
owners very friendly - thanks Noreen and John.
hope to return

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BelfastWindy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lovecottages, Owner at Irish Cottages, responded to this review, April 1, 2011
Thank you for your review. We were delighted to meet you all and look forward to seeing you again - at Irish Cottages. All the best for now.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 18, 2011

Our 1st time staying the The Irish Cottage, and it will certainly not be our last. An amazing location, and in a few words - Peaceful, Tranquil, Stunning, Beautiful, Private, Friendly, Clean, Value for Money and an Amazing for You both, or your Family or you all together. If only we could visit more often. i REALLY CANT PRAISE THE PLACE ENOUGH.. Thank-you for having us !! Will Costello & Family x x

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WillCostello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lovecottages, Owner at Irish Cottages, responded to this review, April 1, 2011
Thanks for your review. It was lovely to meet you all. We are delighted you had a lovely stay. As you say, Irish Cottages is a Peaceful and Tranquil place. We look forward to seeing you again. Regards to you all.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2011

I have stayed in Bluebell Cottage four times. Twice with friends and 4 small children between us, once by ourselves and once with a group of friends.

Having stayed in many cottages in Fermanagh I can assure you that The Irish Cottages is the best of the best.

As other reviewers can confirm, every attention to detail is there from fabulous furnishings, lake views, playground, hot tub, fire with fuel and a welcome basket. John is fantastic (and patient!) at discussing your needs before you arrive and providing information while Noreen always greets us with a lovely smile and local knowledge.

The cottages are comparitively expensive during peak times if you are a family (ie not sharing the cost between several adults) but firstly the accommodation is worth the price and secondly there are off-peak discounts as well as loyalty discounts.

There are any amount of trips to do from the Ulster American Folk Museum, Belleek Pottery, Lusty Beg Island, and numerous National Trust properties and country parks.

My recommendation is go once and you will always go back! Enjoy!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leebur0901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lovecottages, Owner at Irish Cottages, responded to this review, March 16, 2011
Many thanks for your excellent review where you say, "Irish Cottages is the best of the best" - that is what we try to achieve for every visitor every time. We look forward to seeing you again at Irish Cottages.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Irish Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Irish Cottages

Property: Irish Cottages
Address: Portagaria Wood, Aghnablaney BT93 2BG, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Fermanagh > Aghnablaney
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Aghnablaney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Irish Cottages 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great for families, groups of friends, couples, honeymooners and professionals - whether you enjoy an active holiday or chilling out in splendid peace and quiet, this is the ultimate get away from it all location for your truly relaxing luxury break. You’ll especially enjoy tranquility on the shore of Lough Erne and as much relaxation as you can handle. From your cottage window you’ll discover spectacular surroundings in our haven of perfect peace and quiet. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing