We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“wonderful relaxing break” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Limepark Arts Center & Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Armoy
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Limepark Arts Center & Cottages
london
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“wonderful relaxing break”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2008

We have stayed in Limepark on four occasions now and have thoroughly enjoyed the experience each time - which may explain why we keep going back!

We have stayed in the Blacksmith's Cottage, Ned's Loft and twice in the Little Pig's House. Each of the cottages is decorated in its own particular style and to a high standard. The original stone walls are exposed and it appears that the owners have tried - successfully - to preserve the unique characteristics of each of the old buildings. The cottages are a wonderful blend of the old - the stone walls for example - and the new - fabulous bathrooms, kitchens and DVD players - and we always feel very comfortable and very much at home when we stay. In fact, we perhaps feel a little too much at home as once or twice we have skipped plans to go out and about exploring the local countryside and have just settled down in front of a huge log fire to relax and enjoy a nice bottle of wine! Another favourite aspect is the underfloor heating - it is fab when it is cold and wet outside and it's such a lovely surprise to get out of bed on a chilly morning, step on the stone floors and find that they are warm underfoot - bliss!

We have found Melanie (Limepark's owner) to be a wonderful hostess - always on hand to assist, but never crowding her guests. The location is quite handy for visiting sights such as the Giant's Causeway, the Bushmills Distillery and the rugged North Antrim coast and lovely beaches, whilst still being relatively handy for shopping in towns such as Coleraine and Ballymena.

If you are looking for a break in the country in accommodation which is just that little bit different and where you can take things at your own pace, we would thoroughly recommend Limepark.

  • Liked — staying somewhere a little bit different from the usual chintzy 'they all look the same' hotel rooms + the underfloor heating!
  • Disliked — love the accommodation.
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tara_marc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
27
62
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
belfast
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2008

Me and my husband stayed in Neds loft. Well what can i say it was just beautiful, the bedroom and bathroom our the best bits, the bathroom has a lovely roll top bath and walk in shower and the bathroom is huge.
it has all the old lovely stone u would expect to find in a cottage the bedroom was beautiful too huge bed that u nearly had to step up to.
The cottage was well equipped and there was a tv/dvd and plenty of dvds to chose from in the dvd libary.
cottage was spotless all over.
Very peaceful, tranquil location, no one bothers you in fact you would not even know there was anyone round you.
Location ideal if you have a car, we went to coleraine for the day but ballycastle is 6 miles away and is a lovely drive.
Your not that close if you want to eat out etc so bring supplies until you find your bearings.
Melanie the owner was on hand next door if we needed anything.
there was a big gams room ideal if you have older children they had a snooker/pool table, table tennis, hockey games plenty of books/dvds, and board games,very well equipped and thought out.
We just went for a peaceful weekend without out two toddlers and came back lovely and refreshed after a weekend of doing nothing but chilling out.
The only thing i would change was a small weclome tray like a pint of milk maybe some butter and sugar, there was kindly coffee and tea left out , but we had brought stuff for a fry and typical forgot the condiments.
we will be back and maybe try and different cottage as they all look beautiful, thank you melanie for a lovely stay, it was outstanding!!!!

  • Liked — old style cottage, the roll top bath, the location, the peace and quiet and the area!
  • Disliked — Nothing it was beautiful
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank boo1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2007

With boring you with all of the details, we arrived at Limepark under
less than idea conditions that had nothing to do with LImepark. Melanie was simple charming to us, made our room available on short notice and just made a feel right at home. She is doing a wonderful job of fixing up the original buildings and really providing a true artist retreat. We are thinking of going back and taking a work shop with a very well know local artist.

HIGHLY Recommend the Limepark Arts Center in Antrim, Northern Ireland
if you are look for a place to paint or just want to stay at a lovely
self serve lodge.

  • Liked — The uniqueness of the stone walls in every room
  • Disliked — Had to travel into town for food and supplies...Facilities on site but no food service (unless catered)
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank positive-vibes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2007

Seeing all the positive reviews I felt I must also commend Melanie on Limepark. I travelled there with my boyfriend last December for my birthday and found it just to be a gorgous place. The cottage (don't remember which one I was in) was just lovely, I don't know where to begin! The bedroom was downstairs with a little door leading out to the lawn and it was gorgous, fab furniture in a country style/ gothic way! Upstairs was unreal, the must lovely sitting room with a log fire! Their were also books and DVDs available to use during our stay along with a pool table! Even though it rained (and I mean lashed! My boyfriend went to the shop and I though he'd never get back as the weather was so bad), being in Limepark was like being in your own little world! Loved it!!!

  • Liked — Just loved it all!!
  • Disliked — Nothing!!
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank salutkitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire, England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2007

We've just returned from spending a week in the Little Pig's House at Lime Park cottages and we can honestly say it's the best cottage we've ever stayed in and Melanie is so helpful and welcoming.
I chose it firstly because they would let us take our dog but as we were booking quite late she only had the studio cottage left. It's a converted farm building ( all the cottages are) with a hand built kitchen, lovely living area and a 'settle bed' which was very special. It also has a big bathroom with walk in shower. There is a sweet garden which you share with one other cottage- but we never saw the other people, so had it to ourselves.

The renovation has made brilliant use of space and has all been done so tastefully and uses all the best materials.

I would definitely recommend the Pig's house for a couple and I'm sure all the other cottages will be of the same standard.

  • Liked — The fabulous quality of the conversion
  • Disliked — Liked everything
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CarolCh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelanieLimepark, owner at Limepark Arts Center & Cottages, responded to this review, August 21, 2007
Thank-you very much for your very kind compliments and I'm delighted that you enjoyed your holiday.
Reviews like this really help our business.
Melanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisburg, Kansas
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2007

We visited Northern Ireland for six days in May and two of our nights were spent at a lovely self catering cottage near Armoy. The Limepark cottages are beautifully restored buildings from a former farm turned into 5 star cottages. This was our favorite stay of our entire trip and the owners could not have been more helpful or friendly. We stayed in a cottage that had a beautiful well outfitted kitchen, T.V. and DVD player, power shower and a lovely tub to soak in. The decorating is tasteful and suits the surroundings. There is free internet provided in the game room. There are several different cottages, with different arrangements for sleeping. Some are one bedroom and some can accommodate a large family. You feel like you are staying in a small village. The location is peaceful and quite but still close to the sites of Northern Ireland such as the Giant Causeway, the Glens of Antrim, etc. Ballycastle is a few miles away and it is a lovely town with friendly people, an outstanding bakery, several restaurants, grocery store, and nice shopping.

I highly recommend this part of the country and if you are lucky enough to stay at Limepark, you won't soon forget it. I want to go back already.

Helpful?
3 Thank rjhawk54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelanieLimepark, owner at Limepark Arts Center & Cottages, responded to this review, August 26, 2007
Many thanks for your comments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Armoy
9.8 mi away
The Bushmills Inn Hotel
The Bushmills Inn Hotel
#1 of 3 in Bushmills
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,631 reviews
12.3 mi away
Brown Trout Golf & Country Inn
6.8 mi away
Marine Hotel Ballycastle
Marine Hotel Ballycastle
#2 of 2 in Ballycastle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.9 mi away
Galgorm Resort & Spa
Galgorm Resort & Spa
#1 of 6 in Ballymena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,675 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Hedges Hotel
The Hedges Hotel
#3 of 16 in Ballymoney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
3.1 mi away
Gardenvale Bed & Breakfast
Gardenvale Bed & Breakfast
#14 of 16 in Ballymoney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Limepark Arts Center & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Limepark Arts Center & Cottages

Property: Limepark Arts Center & Cottages
Address: 37 Drones Road | Armoy, Armoy BT53 8XJ, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Antrim > Armoy
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Armoy
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury 5* Historic Self-catering Cottages, Wilde art gallery and studio's nestled between the famous north coast and beautiful glens of Antrim.Facilities Include:-6 Luxury Cottages-Wedding Venue-Corporate & Events Venue-Free parking-Free Wifi or Ethernet connection -Gym-Games Room (Pool, Snooker & Table Tennis)-Grass Tennis Court-DVD rental-Access to Fishing Rods *limited amount-Access to Bikes *limited amount-Croquet Lawn-Borrow a BBQ ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Limepark Arts Center & Cottages Hotel Armoy
Limepark Arts Center And Cottages
Limepark Arts Center & Cottages Armoy, Northern Ireland - County Antrim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing