We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A real gem of a hotel.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Turtle Bay Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Turtle Bay Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Lajas
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Staten Island, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“A real gem of a hotel.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2014

Perfect location - close enough to all the fun in Parguera but just far enough from all the crowds. The room was lovely....two queen size beds, cable TV, large closets and modern bathroom. The staff was extremely friendly and had great restaurant and activity suggestions. The natural pool at Playa Rosada was breathtaking and diner at Club Nautico nearby was delicious (finally a restaurant with an attentive and fast service). This hotel is well taken care of and decorated with a flair of whimsy. Would definitely recommend Turtle Bay and visit again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Karen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    246
    72
    14
    7
    10
See reviews for
100
156
7
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2014

We stayed only one night since we were having a cycling competition early the next morning. Excellent location. Rooms are big, and totally clean. Actually I do believe this has been the cleanest hotel room I have ever seen. The whole property looks well taken care of. Beds and pillows are very comfortable. Staff is extraordinary. Turtle Bay offers free continental breakfast of which at that time we only grabbed the coffee which was excellent. A small pool sits in a spot to one of the sides of the Inn and we used it only for about an hour. Turtle Bay's location was perfect for us since we could walk up to Parguera and at the same time we could be away form all the noise. We already reserved another stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Frank O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZRR, Owner at Turtle Bay Inn, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Frank O- Thank you for such Fantastic review--the cleanest hotel room ever seen- is very close to what you can find in Parador Turtle Bay Inn-- that is our -"Quality signature"" -.Isn't more important to have a high quality place to sleep and relax than a very low price? Not sure why most people sacrifice themselves and family for just few coins. See you soon. Best regards-
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2014 via mobile

Affordable,super clean,friendly employees.
Excellent bed and breakfast.
You can visit El Faro lighthouse, Las Salinas and Playa Sucia.
Walking distant to"el poblado de Boqueròn".
We had a wonderful mini vacation.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Uraki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2014 via mobile

A perfect place to stay and explore the beauties of La Parguera. We stayed for 2 nights and 3 days. The staff was very caring and helpful, breakfast was delicious and we loved the fact that it's an Eco friendly hotel.
Things to do at La Parguera?!?
Kayaking
Boat trips
Visit close islands
At night go for some tropical dance fun

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Maria F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daytona Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2014

As an Operations Manager (over Front Desk and Housekeeping) at a major hotel chain, I have very high expectations when I travel. This quaint little bed and breakfast met, and exceeded, every single one of them.

We arrived late to the hotel (around 8pm on June 3rd) due to some minor travel hiccups that had left us feeling rather disappointed and nervous about the rest of our week on the island. We were prepared for the worst when our GPS (Google maps) took us for a few wrong turns into areas we really didn't want to be staying. The young woman who checked us in that night, and was always eager to assist us for the 7 nights we were there, was absolutely fantastic. I wish I had more people like her at my front desk. She was polite, courteous, everything you hope to see in someone working in the hospitality industry. The other young woman who primarily worked in the mornings was also wonderful, even if we did have a bit of a language barrier. My Spanish is nowhere near what it should be, but we were always able to effectively communicate. The next night of our stay, we got back around 1-2am due to some major complications on a tour we had taken. The gates were locked, which was slightly frustrating at that moment but added to my overall comfort with the added security. A quick phone call to the overnight front desk person was all it took to remedy our frustrations. He did not seem disgruntled at having to open the gate, but was understanding and polite, as was the entire staff.

Moving on to the room. We stayed in a single bed room. The first night we were there, they were having some water issues through the entire town, but offered us a room on the first floor where we could shower after our long day of travel. The a/c in the room was not turned on before we came in (understandable due to the eco-friendly nature of this property), but quickly cooled down to a very comfortable temperature. As a housekeeping manager, I was VERY impressed with the cleanliness of the room! Not a hair or speck of dust to be found.

The breakfast was simple, but also convenient. Breads, bagels, doughnuts, pastries, cereal, fruit, juice, coffee, and water. It was a nice, quick start to our days.

The hotel grounds were also meticulously clean. The pool was small, but we found a little friend to spend time with us while we laid out to sun (the green iguana in the photos). There is a small "bar" by the pool, but no dedicated bartender. However, the front desk was always happy to assist. (As an aside, a portion of all profits from rum sales on the island go towards benefiting the rainforest. So drink up!)

An important thing to note when choosing this hotel is the proximity to attractions and dining options. Most of the excursions, tours, or adventures we went on were at least 1-2 hours away, and there are only a few *GOOD* dining options close by. (Moons Bar & Tapas, Villa Parguera)

All in all, our week long stay was fantastic. It was a great place for us to get away, relax, and let our troubles melt away. I look forward to another great stay the next time we're in Puerto Rico.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RJLockwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZRR, Owner at Turtle Bay Inn, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
RJLockwood-- This is one of the most amazing reviews I have received in over five years of service. Having an Ops Manager of a big Hotel chain looking at our Operations- and describing us as -Phenomenal, Fantastic , Meticulously clean, Secure and in a nut shell- Exceeding High Expectations is just WONDERFUL-!! We are thrilled by the way that you were able to highlight all our strong areas and virtues. Coming from experts at your level-than humbly accept the fact that big is not synonymous of "best" or "better"-- convince me one more time that we are in the right direction of service and high quality facilities. Thank you for bringing up the staffing characteristics -I am proud of my team - who consist of young, energetic,local people that are very willing to represent in a very professional manner their Hotel-their Enterprise. Thank you for making our day-with such an Amazing review. Thank you, Thank you!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2014 via mobile

Excellent place to stay and would stay there again. The rooms had everything you needed and it was very clean. The parking lot and swimming pool was very orderly and clean. Turtle Bay had a few oddities that were not bad like the hotel clerk coming to the room with us when we checked in to make sure everything was good (like the tv remote working, which is always a problem) and detailed schedule of things around the hotel (like when is house cleaning). We did have to wear (or have somewhere) wrist bands so they knew who was staying at the hotel, and I wasn't sure why. If somebody did sneak in, they really couldn't take much from the hotel. The only slightly disappointing thing was the continental breakfast. As everything else, it was very organized and clean, but there wasn't much (bread, pastry, cereal, fruit, juice, and coffee).

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Taylor S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZRR, Owner at Turtle Bay Inn, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Taylor- Greetings!! With all respect you deserve, - I had to laugh when I read the title of your review- Most Organized Ever !!!! Wao, I have to admit that you were able to pick the essence of our concept--discipline, cleanliness and organization. In order to manage our facility in a very "LEAN" fashion we have to organize every aspect of the Operations so our guests will know exactly what to expect from our services. There is people like you that appreciates and likes that style- , but believe it or not there are others that can not manage it very well. But -such is life- is call diversity I guess. Thank you so much for the time taken to share your memorable experience. Please do-like you said at the beginning of your review- Come back again- and stay with us- the best option in the area of La Parguera-Lajas, PR.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2014

This is a great place to "escape" from the stress and rush of the metropolitan area. It has very comfortable rooms, with excellent cleanliness and security. The staff is friendly and very efficient.
There are several good places to eat at reasonable prices within walking distance. If you're looking for a small, cozy, safe place to stay, this is a great choice.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Myrna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZRR, Owner at Turtle Bay Inn, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Myrna B-Greetings; I just want to say- Thank you, Thank you, Thank you- for your comments about our Parador. We are very happy to be able to meet and exceed your expectations. Hope to have you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lajas
0.3 mi away
Parguera Plaza Hotel
0.3 mi away
Parador Villa Parguera
10.9 mi away
Combate Beach Resort
Combate Beach Resort
#1 of 9 in Cabo Rojo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Hotel Parador Guanica 1929
71.9 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
9.0 mi away
Aquarius Vacation Club
Aquarius Vacation Club
#1 of 5 in Boqueron
4.0 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Turtle Bay Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turtle Bay Inn

Property: Turtle Bay Inn
Address: Calle 6 # 153 | La Parguera, Lajas 00667, Puerto Rico
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Lajas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Lajas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Turtle Bay Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Turtle Bay Inn in the heart of La Parguera Bioluminiscent Bay in Lajas, Puerto Rico.New with thirteen modern and spacious rooms with Queen size beds, Free internet, parking and complimentary breakfast, dish network, laundromat, Swimming pool facilities and personalized service. Offers the elegance, prime service and amenities of a large hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Turtle Bay Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Turtle Bay Hotel Lajas
Turtle Bay Inn Puerto Rico/Lajas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing