We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service and accommodations”
Review of Turtle Bay Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Turtle Bay Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Lajas
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Oakland, California
2 reviews
“Great service and accommodations”
Reviewed June 2, 2013

I can't remember how my boyfriend and I found Turtle Bay Inn, but I am very glad we did. For a very reasonable price we received top-notch service from the extremely kind owner and staff. We really appreciated their focus on running a "green" hotel. I was a little worried that the solar-heated water might mean lukewarm showers, but there was no such problem -- even first thing in the morning when lots of guests were showering, there was always more hot water than we ever needed. It was certainly one of the newest and nicest hotels in town, and I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ilse S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZRR, Owner at Turtle Bay Inn, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Ilse S- Thanks for taking the time to comment about our services,staffing and facilities. It is encouraging to hear new comments such as -your appreciation for real Hot Water for a nice and relaxing shower first thing in the mornning. Sometimes we take for granted those details unless is absent and we then complaint about it. We have three turbo solar water heaters with a capacity to hold 750 gallons of hot -hot water. This storage capacity should be sufficient to provide hot water for all our guests for a minimum of a week..
This is one of the many amenities and characteristics -that make us different to the rest in the area- and have positioned us as the TOP Ranked Hotel In La Parguera. Was a pleasure to assist you-and we hope to see you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    266
    77
    14
    7
    12
See reviews for
113
163
8
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed May 30, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights. I absolutely enjoyed our stay. You would think since its in the center of a residential area that it wasnt going to be grand. I was mistaken. It was clean and comfortable. The complimentary breakfast in another area (air condtioned) was a plus. The pool is quite small but if
your just there for an overnight stay or even 2 days it wouldnt matter(I know we didnt). The doors are a little light. Need heavier doors. You can hear very clearly in the hallway. The drinks were reasonable and not cheaply poured. The home sangria was fantastic. I would stay here again and recommend anyone for a short stay. Restaraunts are a short distance with great food! 2 thumps up!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lillybelle1226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZRR, Owner at Turtle Bay Inn, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Llilybelle1226 - Thanks for taking the time to comment about our services,staffing and facilities.
Home made Sangria is unique-since it is made with a mix of juices, wines, ground fresh fruits and Vodka, Interesting that we have received lately many positive comments about our Tortu Sangria- , when it has been compared to famous Sangria brands advertised in the area. Nothing more relaxing than a couple of Tortu Sangria drinks while seating in our pool, freshing up from a sunny active day-such as the ones, you can only have when visiting La Parguera-Lajas Puerto Rico.
Was a pleasure to assist you-and we hope to see you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lajas, Puerto Rico
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2013

For a while I researched hotels. I live in Puerto Rico but i had a special someone coming over and i wanted us to stay in a nice place. I came across an advertisement of the turtle bay inn in the Tourism Center and when i read it was an Eco Friendly Hotel and i was intrigued by it. So i decided to visit the facilities and as soon as i got there i was recieved by the Owner, Zulma, who treated me very nice and made me feel welcome and showed me the hotel. Within minutes i knew it was the right place. It was extremely clean and well kept. Last week we stayed there for 4 days and we had a really nice time. Is a small hotel but it has a homey feeling, very quiet and everybody is so nice and attentive. The rooms like i said was really clean, pretty, spacious and the bathroom was really nice. The bed was comfy and you have cable tv in the room. If you are looking for a nice private place where you will get awesome service turtle bay inn is for you. We will be back soon :)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BarbsPR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TBIPuertoRico, Owner at Turtle Bay Inn, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
BarbsPR Greetings!! And Thank you, thank you, thank you for such encouraging words about our Eco Friendly and Boutique Hotel. It is so wonderful when people recognizes the effort we make to convert their stay in an unforgettable one-- . In the same way, guests like you are the reason for us to be in this Tourism Industry.
Hope to see you back soon!!! Was a great pleasure to serve you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
1 review
Reviewed April 22, 2013

From the moment we arrived to the moment we left, all was as expected. Modern and clean facilities with excellent staff. Would recommend this place to anyone and also will like to return in a near future.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Milt C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TBIPuertoRico, Owner at Turtle Bay Inn, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Greetings Milt C-and Thank you so much for your review rating and recommendations. We are committed to exceed expectations. Our service Quality bar is being moved upwards everytime that we receive compliments like yours.We are proud of our facilities but more than anything of our staff and personalize service. You are welcome anytime. Our pleasure to serve you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnutport, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013

We stayed at the Turtle Bay Inn last week for two nights. Very happy to be a five minute walk from the noise of La Parguera... Hotel was clean, and the staff very helpful.

My main issue is that guests are not allowed to bring coolers into the hotel. There are no fridges in the rooms, which is fine, so long as coolers are allowed, but they are NOT. So, we had to keep our coolers in our car and continuously bring items to our room to be consumed immediately. My guess is that the hotel wants to sell beverages to guests, and if they are allowed coolers, then the guests will have no need to buy. As guests, you have to sign a form agreeing to all policies, including that about the coolers.

I'm also not wild about having to wear the orange plastic wristbands at all times, that cannot be removed. This is a perfect way to be identified as a tourist immediately, which is not the way I like to travel.

Don't get me wrong; this is a nice hotel at a reasonable price. However, the cooler policy has to go!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KLPCLT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TBIPuertoRico, Owner at Turtle Bay Inn, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Greetings KLPCLT; We appreaciate very much your comments, highlighting the areas that make us different to competition; Condition of Facilities, Quality Control of Cleaning Process, Staffing and Location. Is important to clarify the coolers rule and why it exist. First of all, I do not believe that there is anything wrong with promoting the sell of our bar beverages. It should be a complement to the lodging earnings in any Hospitality bussiness. Secondly, not having electrical coolers inside rooms is part of our Sustainable Policy, to avoid wasting Energy. Guests with a special need to refrigerate a food item or medicine- can ask at Front Desk for assistance and we will storage it for you at no cost..Thirdly, and not least important is Safety and assurance of a peaceful environment. Due to very bad experiences at our location in the past -we had to stop this allowance. There are "guests"that can not understand the concept of discipline and "boundaries". Parties inside rooms or at the pool area that were not necessarily appreciated by the rest of the guests- made us eliminate this item immediately.Those that have visited other Hotels were ice coolers are allowed- knows what I am referring to. Not nice- and not safe. Hope to see you back soon in Puerto Rico and in Turtle Bay Inn. .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 19, 2013

The building is high-quality, and scrupulously clean.

However, there is no ice machine (no refrigerators) and when you ask for ice you get a very small quantity. I think the desire is to sell you beverages rather than cooling your own.

In addition, although free Internet is advertised, it is only available in the lobby and by the pool, not from the rooms (our room was directly overlooking the pool and could not receive).

On some days, the breakfast was extremely limited. Generic cereals and toast. We learned on the last day that a hot breakfast (oatmeal, and Sometimes eggs) was available in another location, but there was no sign of such in the breakfast area.

And finally, if roosters and dogs interrupt your sleep, this is not the place. This is not under the owners' control, of course.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZRR, Owner at Turtle Bay Inn, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Ms Susan:
I thought I had personally answered your inquires regarding our amenities specially the breakfast issue that you presented before you left-but obviously you still have doubts. Is very important for us to ensure that you and all future Guests have clear that we take very seriously our advertisement Policy. If you visit our Website and opens the Amenities section, you will find what you get for what you pay. The universal definition of Continental breakfast is one that may include sliced bread with butter/jam/honey, cheese, meat, croissants, pastries, rolls, fruit juice and various hot beverages. It is served commonly in the continental Europe, North America, and elsewhere, as opposed to the English breakfast served commonly in the UK. Turtle Bay Inn advertises and serves everyday a Continental and not and American or English brkfst. On weekends TBI adds free of charge scramble eggs, oatmeal or pancakes. Free wi-fi is not advertised in the rooms; is in the Lobby and Pool area only. Your room was on a second floor -not by the pool. Ice machine and refrigerators in all rooms is not advertised either, since is against to our Sustainable Policy as an Eco-Hotel. No need to waste energy and increase our carbon footprint. Hotel has a Soda machine at very-very affordable prices. You did not mentioned however, how wonderful the laundry facility was for you-after two weeks visiting the Island. No hotels in the area has that amenity. As your husband mentioned- you had great American breakfast at another Hotel on the Island but you had to pay a lot more for your stay. It surprised me-that you as Birdwatchers-did not like Roosters-but is part of the Fauna that you are going to find in the South and Center of Puerto Rico. A unique alarm sound that matches a great cup of coffee in the morning. We protect our environment and neighborhood-and will never change it for the noisy traffic of a Metropolitan area. This is Inland Puerto Rico-with unique Natural Reserves with Bio-luminiscense bays,Mangrovees keys, Spectacular Coral Reef Walls,and a unique variety of birds. We are very proud of our Facilities and Services and will do everything possible to continue giving the extra -mile;--always protectiing our Guests budget. Thanks for taking your precious time to make your concerns public. Hopefully this will take our followers to the Amenities section, and avoid future false expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2013

While we only stayed here for one evening, the staff was very accommodating with a late-night check-in and an early check-out. The rooms were clean and spacious and the bathrooms were well-sized, with a comfortable stand-up shower.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank VeronikaSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZRR, Owner at Turtle Bay Inn, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
VeronicaSF

Thanks for taking the time to describe your experience at Turtle Bay Inn. Very peculiar the way you title your comments-Short but Sweet-.Others can call it - good impression at first sight.I can see that you have ranked few other Hotels-and that tell us that you have good experience discriminating between- excellent, good, fair and poor service/hotels.We are honored to be part of the Hotels you have considered to be overall on the high side -top qualityone.
Hope to see you back one of these days-for us was a real pleasure to have you staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lajas
0.3 mi away
Parguera Plaza Hotel
10.9 mi away
Combate Beach Resort
Combate Beach Resort
#1 of 9 in Cabo Rojo
687 reviews
0.3 mi away
Parador Villa Parguera
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Hotel Parador Guanica 1929
9.2 mi away
Parador Boquemar
Parador Boquemar
#2 of 5 in Boqueron
203 reviews
9.0 mi away
Aquarius Vacation Club
Aquarius Vacation Club
#1 of 5 in Boqueron
336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Turtle Bay Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turtle Bay Inn

Property: Turtle Bay Inn
Address: Calle 6 # 153 | La Parguera, Lajas 00667, Puerto Rico
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Lajas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Lajas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Turtle Bay Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Turtle Bay Inn in the heart of La Parguera Bioluminiscent Bay in Lajas, Puerto Rico.New with thirteen modern and spacious rooms with Queen size beds, Free internet, parking and complimentary breakfast, dish network, laundromat, Swimming pool facilities and personalized service. Offers the elegance, prime service and amenities of a large hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Turtle Bay Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Turtle Bay Hotel Lajas
Turtle Bay Inn Puerto Rico/Lajas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing