We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun location, attentive waitstaff”
Review of La Jamaca

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
La Jamaca
Ranked #1 of 3 Lajas B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed February 13, 2013

We were only here for one day and can't really comment on the location, but we arrived late and they called me ahead if time to warn me about their office hours and then stayed late until we arrived. Its a really cute spot, and a great value.clean sheets, breeds and floors and a good experience.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tofupony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gemba24, General Manager at La Jamaca, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2013

Dear valued Customer,
Thanks for taking your time to provide such nice compliments! In La Jamaca is here to welcome you again!! Keep having fun!

Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (615)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

275 - 281 of 615 reviews

Reviewed February 12, 2013

excellent job with the staff especially "zulma pabon" and the bartender that's at night loved there kindness and will be glad to stay there again. i stayed January 18 -20 with my husben and kids we when't to the bio laguun that's next by and had a great time when we got backthe staff was waiting for us with so much kindness i was amaized i highly recommend you focks to stay there

Room Tip: any here u stay it's good cuz the place has everything close by
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Amanda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gemba24, General Manager at La Jamaca, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2013

Dear Valued Customer,
Thanks for recognizing the extraordinary work that our staff do daily!! We are committed to our customer, making sure that they feel welcome and at home!!

Regards
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

Went for three nights and was pleasantly surprised. This was a mid-week visit so the place was quiet as was the town of La parguera. This is a small, cozy hotel with a small pool and home made beach area with hammocks. many place to sit and relax in the outside lobby/pool area. A restaurant/bar is available for breakfast and dinner on the weekends. The beds/pillows and comforters are the best you will find. The staff is helpful. Kevin especially. Rooms are small but clean. Shower is hot. Pool or beach towels are available. Could use a little upkeep. But overall it is very good

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank doctorgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gemba24, General Manager at La Jamaca, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2013

Dear Valued Customer,
Thanks for your comments and for recognizing our staff and property ammenities!! We work for it!! Looking forward to your visit again!

Regards
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2013

It's a very nice family-owned inn. It has a lot of charm. Carlos was very friendly, gave us a lot of information about La Parguera, Guenica, and surrounding areas. Very quiet place! Rooms are very simple and unpretentious but charming in their own way. Each room has a porch with a hammock. We enjoyed our stay there.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank OVD1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gemba24, General Manager at La Jamaca, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2013

Dear Valued Customer,
Thanks for taking the time to write a review of our premises. We are please to know that we fulfill your expectations. Looking forward to your visit again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2013

Review of La Jamaca, La Parguerra PR, 1/9/2013:

We tried to stay here in January of 2012, on our first trip to Puerto Rico. They never answered several emails, never returned a phone call. We found another place.

This year we tried again. They quickly answered emails and we reserved two nights.

The place definitely has a personality all its own. Funky would be a good way to describe it. There are odd things stashed here and there all over the property: a parking meter, ship portholes, light fixtures with bird’s nests in them, an oar, a ship’s lantern, small old pieces of rusty machinery, lots more. This is all an attempt at art, and it works. There are a couple of cats running around, the usual assortment of small lizards, birds coming and going, even a rooster that struts around like he owns the joint.

La Jamaca is designed for comfort, not for speed. It’s up in the hills above town, away from the noisy tourism-oriented places down by the ocean. You need a car; it would be a goodly hike down into town, and an even more arduous one up a couple of pretty steep hills to get back.

The rooms – ours at least – are small and spartan. A double bed, a small TV with cable, a serviceable bathroom, a balcony big enough to stash a cooler. That’s about it. The place seemed quite clean and there was some painting going on while we were there. True to its name, there are hammocks everywhere, probably more than a dozen. There are four right next to the cute little pool, more out back. Areas for laying around reading, writing or cruising the net on the wifi are nearly everywhere.

At one time the place had a full-service restaurant but while we were there (Tuesday and Wednesday) only breakfast was available and, we were told, dinner on the weekends. There is a little bar next to the pool. The staff is pretty small – a couple of folks. They were very friendly and checked in with us periodically to see if we needed anything while we were lounging in the hammocks. It was a simple matter to run a room tab that we settled at the end of our stay.

And it was quiet: it seemed as if we were the only ones there. Perhaps we were. At night it is VERY quiet, and if you listen carefully you can hear the surf half a mile away.

We had just come from the wildly frantic Three Kings Festival in Ponce and were getting ready to meet a high-energy friend in Rincon. La Jamaca functioned as a rest period, a place to just lay around, read, write, recuperate and generally do absolutely nothing of any consequence.

If you’re looking for a clean, quiet, affordable place to simply veg out, with just enough personality to make it memorable without being jarring, La Jamaca fits the bill.

Room Tip: the rooms on the second floor overlook the pool and you can see the ocean from the back of these roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mikedoolin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gemba24, General Manager at La Jamaca, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2013

Dear Valued Customer,
Thanks for your review! We are glad that you were able to spend enough time in our premises to provide so many details!! It is our intention for our customers to have a peaceful time! Looking forward to your visit again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

La Jamaca was great! Really close to La Parguera but with enough distance to avoid the noise. Was really easy to find the La Jamaca, just read the signs in the road. Alex (in front desk) was very helpful, he fixed our reservation and give us valuable advise for places to hang out. The only complaints about the place was about the time of the restaurant (breakfast until 10am and dinner until 8pm), I really wanna try the Sangria Bombon (maybe next time) and the size of the parking lot (for about 5 cars).

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ValekPR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gemba24, General Manager at La Jamaca, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2013

Dear Valued Customer,
Thanks for your positive feedbacks and for recognizing our employees hospitality!! We definately agree that our place is well located and this is something that our customers love. We are glad you enjoy our place!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2012


Very peaceful place certainly honeymoon place! Overall I would stay again loved that its apart from crowded areas. Employees very respectful. Enjoy the pool area. Beside jamaca everywhere very cool so u can relax while drinking or just being relax

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Fr3sa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
llvvmmaa, General Manager at La Jamaca, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2012

Dear Valued Customer,
Thanks for taking your time and provide such nice feedbacks to us! We sure appreciate your comments! Looking forward to your visit again!

Regards
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lajas
0.4 mi away
Parador Villa Parguera
8.3 mi away
Aquarius Vacation Club
Aquarius Vacation Club
#1 of 4 in Boqueron
351 reviews
10.3 mi away
Combate Beach Resort
Combate Beach Resort
#1 of 8 in Cabo Rojo
716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Parguera Plaza Hotel
16.3 mi away
Hotel Colonial
Hotel Colonial
#2 of 4 in Mayaguez
137 reviews
27.6 mi away
Rincon of the Seas Grand Caribbean Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Jamaca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Jamaca

Address: Reparto La Borde | Collinas La Parguera, Lajas 00667, Puerto Rico
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Lajas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Lajas
Price Range: $83 - $126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — La Jamaca 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Jamaca is a 13 room guesthouse which offers fully equipped accommodations. It is a place surrounded by trees. We have a swimming pool, restaurant open Fridays through Sundays, free parking, internet wireless, decks with hammocks for the use of guests. It is a property endorsed by the Puerto Rico Tourism Company. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your La Jamaca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Jamaca Hotel Lajas
La Jamaca Puerto Rico/Lajas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing