We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“A cozy place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Jamaca

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
La Jamaca
Ranked #1 of 3 Lajas B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Port Saint Lucie, Florida
Level Contributor
219 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“A cozy place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Went for three nights and was pleasantly surprised. This was a mid-week visit so the place was quiet as was the town of La parguera. This is a small, cozy hotel with a small pool and home made beach area with hammocks. many place to sit and relax in the outside lobby/pool area. A restaurant/bar is available for breakfast and dinner on the weekends. The beds/pillows and comforters are the best you will find. The staff is helpful. Kevin especially. Rooms are small but clean. Shower is hot. Pool or beach towels are available. Could use a little upkeep. But overall it is very good

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank doctorgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gemba24, General Manager at La Jamaca, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Dear Valued Customer,
Thanks for your comments and for recognizing our staff and property ammenities!! We work for it!! Looking forward to your visit again!

Regards
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

398 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    237
    109
    22
    17
    13
See reviews for
141
131
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
College Station, TX
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

It's a very nice family-owned inn. It has a lot of charm. Carlos was very friendly, gave us a lot of information about La Parguera, Guenica, and surrounding areas. Very quiet place! Rooms are very simple and unpretentious but charming in their own way. Each room has a porch with a hammock. We enjoyed our stay there.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OVD1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gemba24, General Manager at La Jamaca, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear Valued Customer,
Thanks for taking the time to write a review of our premises. We are please to know that we fulfill your expectations. Looking forward to your visit again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Review of La Jamaca, La Parguerra PR, 1/9/2013:

We tried to stay here in January of 2012, on our first trip to Puerto Rico. They never answered several emails, never returned a phone call. We found another place.

This year we tried again. They quickly answered emails and we reserved two nights.

The place definitely has a personality all its own. Funky would be a good way to describe it. There are odd things stashed here and there all over the property: a parking meter, ship portholes, light fixtures with bird’s nests in them, an oar, a ship’s lantern, small old pieces of rusty machinery, lots more. This is all an attempt at art, and it works. There are a couple of cats running around, the usual assortment of small lizards, birds coming and going, even a rooster that struts around like he owns the joint.

La Jamaca is designed for comfort, not for speed. It’s up in the hills above town, away from the noisy tourism-oriented places down by the ocean. You need a car; it would be a goodly hike down into town, and an even more arduous one up a couple of pretty steep hills to get back.

The rooms – ours at least – are small and spartan. A double bed, a small TV with cable, a serviceable bathroom, a balcony big enough to stash a cooler. That’s about it. The place seemed quite clean and there was some painting going on while we were there. True to its name, there are hammocks everywhere, probably more than a dozen. There are four right next to the cute little pool, more out back. Areas for laying around reading, writing or cruising the net on the wifi are nearly everywhere.

At one time the place had a full-service restaurant but while we were there (Tuesday and Wednesday) only breakfast was available and, we were told, dinner on the weekends. There is a little bar next to the pool. The staff is pretty small – a couple of folks. They were very friendly and checked in with us periodically to see if we needed anything while we were lounging in the hammocks. It was a simple matter to run a room tab that we settled at the end of our stay.

And it was quiet: it seemed as if we were the only ones there. Perhaps we were. At night it is VERY quiet, and if you listen carefully you can hear the surf half a mile away.

We had just come from the wildly frantic Three Kings Festival in Ponce and were getting ready to meet a high-energy friend in Rincon. La Jamaca functioned as a rest period, a place to just lay around, read, write, recuperate and generally do absolutely nothing of any consequence.

If you’re looking for a clean, quiet, affordable place to simply veg out, with just enough personality to make it memorable without being jarring, La Jamaca fits the bill.

Room Tip: the rooms on the second floor overlook the pool and you can see the ocean from the back of these roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mikedoolin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gemba24, General Manager at La Jamaca, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear Valued Customer,
Thanks for your review! We are glad that you were able to spend enough time in our premises to provide so many details!! It is our intention for our customers to have a peaceful time! Looking forward to your visit again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guaynabo, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

La Jamaca was great! Really close to La Parguera but with enough distance to avoid the noise. Was really easy to find the La Jamaca, just read the signs in the road. Alex (in front desk) was very helpful, he fixed our reservation and give us valuable advise for places to hang out. The only complaints about the place was about the time of the restaurant (breakfast until 10am and dinner until 8pm), I really wanna try the Sangria Bombon (maybe next time) and the size of the parking lot (for about 5 cars).

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ValekPR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gemba24, General Manager at La Jamaca, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear Valued Customer,
Thanks for your positive feedbacks and for recognizing our employees hospitality!! We definately agree that our place is well located and this is something that our customers love. We are glad you enjoy our place!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012


Very peaceful place certainly honeymoon place! Overall I would stay again loved that its apart from crowded areas. Employees very respectful. Enjoy the pool area. Beside jamaca everywhere very cool so u can relax while drinking or just being relax

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fr3sa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
llvvmmaa, General Manager at La Jamaca, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Dear Valued Customer,
Thanks for taking your time and provide such nice feedbacks to us! We sure appreciate your comments! Looking forward to your visit again!

Regards
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glen rock pa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

A nice family owned business. If your looking for a place for a shower and bed, along with swinging in a hammock this is the place. If your looking for luxury it is not. They were very helpful, we got a refrigerator and coffee maker which was great. Very laid back. John was also able to take us out on his boat for the day at a very reasonable price. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Puerto Rico is under developed so you have to ask around on how to get to beaches.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank coffee33GlenRockPa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gemba24, General Manager at La Jamaca, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Dear Valued Customer,
Thanks for taking the time to provide us with your feedback regarding our propery. It is our commitment to serve you and assure you have a great time in our B&B! You have been very assertive in commenting that our guesthouse is not a luxury hotel but do met all your needs! La Jamaca commitment is to providing our guests with nice and clean rooms, serve all your needs and assure you come back! We are looking forward to your visit again!

Regards
Manangement
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mayaguez, null, Puerto Rico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

It is quiet but has good facilities. The service is poor but there is an employee who makes a difference. A rather poor breakfast and the room is not well done. The bathroom is very small and the room.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gelson V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gemba24, General Manager at La Jamaca, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Dear Valued Customer,
Thanks for providing your feedback to us. La Jamaca commitment is to assure all of our guests feel comfortable from the moment they arrive until the moment they leave. From your comments it seems you were not comfortable with your room and our staff. It would of have been great that at the moment your were feeling uncomfortable you should of have reached one of our associates, I can assure they would of provided you with alternatives, particularly knowing that you were on your honeymoon! We try to please all of our customers but do recognize that it is impossible! Lets be realistic. Probably your expectations were higher with the room, we dont know, yet I do guarantee that if you werer looking for a room with additonal ammenities such as but not limited to a bathtub, shower caps, refrigerator, two king beds etc, you will have to pay much more that what you pay in our facilites, Our rooms are equipped with your basic needs such as soap, shampoo, towels, tv with cable, air conditioning, we have rooms with queen beds, double beds. Our facilites provide a pool for our customers, areas to lay down and relax in hammocks, pool bar, restaurant, free parking, wireless internet, but most of all a great hospitality!! Also if you need a coffee maker, refrigerator, iron board, blower we will provide it to you!! We are more that please to welcome you again in our premises!

Regards
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lajas
0.4 mi away
Parador Villa Parguera
0.4 mi away
Parguera Plaza Hotel
0.7 mi away
Turtle Bay Inn
Turtle Bay Inn
#1 of 3 in Lajas
4.5 of 5 stars 315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 mi away
Parador Combate Beach
Parador Combate Beach
#1 of 4 in Cabo Rojo
4.5 of 5 stars 553 reviews
8.3 mi away
Hotel Parador Guanica 1929
8.5 mi away
Parador Boquemar
Parador Boquemar
#2 of 5 in Boqueron
3.5 of 5 stars 192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Jamaca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Jamaca

Property: La Jamaca
Address: Reparto La Borde | Collinas La Parguera, Lajas 00667, Puerto Rico
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Lajas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Lajas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — La Jamaca 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Jamaca is a 13 room guesthouse which offers fully equipped accommodations. It is a place surrounded by trees. We have a swimming pool, restaurant open Fridays through Sundays, free parking, internet wireless, decks with hammocks for the use of guests. It is a property endorsed by the Puerto Rico Tourism Company. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Odigeo, Priceline, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your La Jamaca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Jamaca Hotel Lajas
La Jamaca Puerto Rico/Lajas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing