We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“It was an adventure” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Parador Villa Parguera

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Parador Villa Parguera
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Lajas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“It was an adventure”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

Let's start with the good:

Great view from our 1st floor ocean view room. We were near the end (125) so it wasn't totally unobstructed but it was the Caribbean, and mangroves, and flowering trees and bushes (with hummingbirds included) so it was better than corn stalks.

The air conditioning worked.

The pool was nice.

Free parking and excellent location.


And now for the bad:

It reminded me of Howard Johnson's circa 1974. Which is the same as HoJo in the 60s so watch Mad Men and you'll get it.

We had hot water when we arrived. By the next morning we had tepid water. It stayed that way until we left. Our last night we had hot water. Front desk said it must be a breaker and someone would come to fix it. Never happened. It was late June so a tepid shower was fine.

When we first arrived we went to our room, turned on lights and discovered the 1 (yes, only 1) lamp didn't work. Not only was the outlet not receiving power but the lamp's plug was damaged. The maintenance person flipped the breaker so we had power but was going to leave the lamp for tomorrow since he didn't have any plugs. I suggested he go to another room and take a lamp that worked. He did that after some prompting.

Festival de San Pedro was June 29. Our room was less than 50 ft from the plaza where the festival was going on - there was no sleeping that night at all.


By the end of our stay I had chilled out enough that much wasn't bothering me but having come from El Convento in Old San Juan to Villa Parguera was a sensory shock.

Room Tip: Ocean view is a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MEEllsworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    112
    59
    25
    14
See reviews for
106
139
9
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013 via mobile

If you want great food, a great sea and bay view, direct access to the bioluminescent bay, to little islands near the hotel, a great night show, and feel like home... THIS is the place. We're locals who frequently visit the La Parguera and Poblado areas, who have stayed here before also and who love the place and service. No one like them. Would stay again and would definitely recommend to anyone looking for direct access to the sea and the bioluminescent bay, the mangroves, the Caribbean and date taste. Can't wait to plan a family and friends group to stay here soon again! :D

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelqueenpr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, null, Puerto Rico
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

We were a group of families that stayed for the weekend. The service was remarkable with clean rooms and the A/C systems worked perfectly. The pool was very good and the sea water activities close to the parador were tremendous. Being in the middle of the poblado, the location is perfect to enjoy night life activities at good prices without the hesitance of parking spaces. After a poll between the families about their experience, they will recommend the parador without reserves of any kind.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jorge R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013 via mobile

Booked 7 nights for a quiet family vacation. We initially were given a room that felt and smelled like a dungeon. We asked for a change and got room 110. Nothing to write home about. Didnt feel safe. The second night, we were bombarded with termites! They were on us, in the bathroom, beds. Yuk!!! We had a bad case of the heebie geebies! We were given room 223 which smelled musty and long hair on the beds. Spoke to one of the managers they had nothing else available. Needless to say, we checked out and they only charged us for one night. What a horrible experience.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank LeslyTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ponce, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

For years this have been the best parador in the western area. Rooms are clean, personel is courteous and ready to help and keep you satisfied with their service. Unfortunately, food isn't. And if you stay by the beginning of the week, available restaurants nearby are not open or not the best option. You have to drive up to Boqueron to enjoy a good sea food plate. It is good for relaxing, taking a trip to the canals, nearby islands or just watching splendorous sunsets.

Room Tip: avoid those nearby the AC generator or poolside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vilamed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013 via mobile

The hotel had everything to be good. The property is very nice but not well kept. The rooms are very nice size but the beds are too soft and the pillows are too hard. They have to take care of the urine smell in the lobby. Weekdays are better than weekends.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cristiane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Wyoming
Level Contributor
91 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

Its older but it has wonderful grounds overlooking the ocean with a great pool. The buildings are dated but its part of this places' charm and considering its age it is kept up quite well. The staff are friendly but certainly don't go out of their way. I would go back. Easy walk to food and drinks.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mainegnome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lajas
0.0 mi away
Parguera Plaza Hotel
8.0 mi away
Hotel Parador Guanica 1929
0.3 mi away
Turtle Bay Inn
Turtle Bay Inn
#1 of 3 in Lajas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 mi away
Combate Beach Resort
Combate Beach Resort
#1 of 4 in Cabo Rojo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 573 reviews
8.7 mi away
Aquarius Vacation Club
Aquarius Vacation Club
#1 of 5 in Boqueron
4.0 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
18.3 mi away
Mayaguez Resort & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parador Villa Parguera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parador Villa Parguera

Property: Parador Villa Parguera
Address: Rte 304 Km 3.3 | La Parguera, Lajas 00667, Puerto Rico
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Lajas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Lajas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Parador Villa Parguera 3*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Parador Villa Parguera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parador Hotel Parguera
Villa Parguera
Parador Hotel Puerto Rico
Parguera Puerto Rico
Parador Villa Parguera Puerto Rico/Lajas
Parador Parguera Hotel Puerto Rico
Parador Parguera Puerto Rico
Parador Parguera Villa
Parador Hotel Villa Parguera

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing