We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Worst Vacation Ever! DO NOT STAY HERE” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casa Maria Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Casa Maria Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Port Maria B&B and Inns
Nyack, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Worst Vacation Ever! DO NOT STAY HERE”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

I am currently in Montego Bay Jamaica as I am writing this review. I arrived on the Island October 23rd and is scheduled to depart on October 30, 2012. I have never stayed in St Mary before but due to the nature of my business I decided to stay the whole week there. Upon arrival on Tuesday I drove straight to St Mary in the pouring rain which marked the arrival of Sandy (which I had no idea about until arrival). Anyway on arrival at Casa Maria (I had already reserved a room in advance) I was shown to an old dingy room with three beds actually jammed on each other and literally no space to turn in the room, and the back door was rotten down. My friend who escorted me to the hotel took one look at the room and decided it was not safe (let me back track a little upon paying for the room the receptionist handed me a key and pointed to the stairs and told us the room # and we were left to find it on our own which was no easy task due to the convoluted way in which the numbers are).

After calling downstairs to the reception she came up and showed us two other rooms which were no better but we decided on a room with 2 single beds which was just placed against the wall as there were no bed heads and the pillows were so soft and almost invisible that even putting them together did not help to let them feel as pillows. The TV didn't work and the bathrooms were horrible and the face basin looked like it wasn't clean for years, not to mention the towels in the bathroom that were supposed to be white and looked more like brown there was only on bath and one wash and they both looked like something that you would use to clean the floor, that's how brown and torn they were (thankfully I had brought mine with me).

Shortly after checking in my friend left and I was alone at the hotel, then the rain started really pouring and blowing in over the balcony which overlooked the sea and I could hear dogs barking all evening but couldn't really say where it was coming from. As the rain started pouring more heavily I layed down to take a nap but I could feel little rain drops dropping in my head ever so often but I thought it was my imagination and I slept like that all night and kept waking because of it.

On Wednesday morning at 7:00 am there was a knocking on my door I opened the door and two men just barged in without introducing themselves and went to the back door leading towards the balcony to close the shutter (by this time the wind had started really blowing and the rain coming down). Apparently the shutters were not tied down properly as they kept bagging with loud nosie as the winds picked up, now this went on from 7:00 am until 2:00 pm when there was another knock on my door and two other guys barged in again went passed me to open the back door leading to the balcony, low and behold the lock was broken and one of them had to take the lock off with a knife he had they finally secured the shutter and left one of them I think his name was Wendell asked me why did I not call them to fix it.

I wen to lay down again and about 3:00 pm there was another knock on the door and some one came to fix the broken lock. By 3:30 there was another knock and someone came to mop off the balcony by this time the weather had gotten really bad and Sand had made landfall. The water was still coming through the window more noticeably and so I told one of the workers and they said they would have to get some old towels to stuff the windows. By this time I asked for a change of room and was told that they would have to check with the manager to see what he says. That took another half hour before they decided to move me. To my surprise they were moving me in a room nex to the one I was in which was even more smaller and smelly. The literally had to move an old dingy smelling mattress out of the room and tolde me that the manager says I should stay there the night and he would move me into something better, at which time I got a little perturbed.

I told the workers that that room was not worth all the money I paid for it and they asked me what's wrong with the room and I said "I have done a lot of travelling matter of fact travelling is my hobby and that is the worse place I have ever satyed". I said very calmly and nicely "imagine I am a guest in your hotel and your manager is on premises and given the circumstances and the weather he didn't even have the courtesy to check with his guest staying at the hotel (and yes, I was the only guest hed had there) was comfortable and ok, thats when Mr. Everton Maxwel flew up to the room and started mumbling and making excuses why he did'nt come up. He then left me in the same room by this time the water had started pouring into the room beneath the door and the worker Wendell had just came back with a mop and saw the water and told me I cannot stay in that room any longer at which time they moved me to another room.

At this time it was 4:30 pm the electricity and water had gone out since 11:30 am and I enquired what am I supposed to do in the dark and no water, the worker told me that they were going to wait and in the evening they would provied me with a lantern and a bucket of water. I lay down and fell asleep and by about 7:00 pm there came another knock on the door and the cook who acted as reception and cook all day his name is Chris handed me a big white bucket of water in case I needed to use the washroom and anything else. That was all I say of any of the workers for the rest of the night. Approximately 8:00 am Thursday morning I went downstairs for a walk and met the manager all he said was "good morning" and that was it.

Upon returning from my walk I asked the receptionist if she had any information on the status of the light and water she didn't so I told her I need to leave I couldn't staty there with no water, light, phone or food and which time she informed that "If I want she could turn the generator on so I could get some water and light" I didn't and asked to speak to the manager about getting a refund and was told he left for the town and would be notified upon his return. Shortly after the receptionist came to my room and inform me that Mr. Maxwel agree to refund me the balance of my payment but would not be able to do so until the electricity came back and he has no idea when that would be. I inquired if I could not be refunded the difference in cash seen that I need to find another hotel and was told absolutely not. The manager still did not come out and appologize for any inconveniences or even offered me a ride to a nearby hotel that had water or light, I was left to figure it out on my own. Plus I was charged the full amount the two nights even though I had not light or water. While I understand the hurricane was unforseen I also understood that there was a generator at the hotel that they didn't see necessary to turn on on my account.

I think Mr. Maxwel needs to take a class in hotel management and courtesy before continuing in this business and while I had no problems with the seclusiveness of the hotel there is a lot of work to be done there to at least clean it up and make it presentable, they are badly in need of new sheets and towels and toilet accessories that place needs a paint job and there is just a lot to be done to make this hotel competitive in the hotel industry, I am quite frankly surprised they survived this long. This is my fourth trip for this year and I like to travel but this is the worst hotel I have ever stayed and will not stay here again not even for free.

Room Tip: They were all disgusting
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    18
    5
    4
    5
See reviews for
7
12
4
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2012

My Husband and I stayed here for almost two weeks in June. My Husband is a local and we started our trip at his family place in the country. We were going to stay at the hotel for only two or three days but ended up loving the comfort. The hotel is not fancy or new but it is very very clean and the staff is so friendly and kind. It was my first time in Jamaica and I fell in love with it. I wanted to stay...lol

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GabiJW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2012

My husband and i stayed at the Casa Maria Hotel for a few days in July 2011. We had a wonderful time. We wanted to get away from everything and just stay at a place where we could relax and feel at home. Very Clean facility, very friendly staffs that went out of their way to assist you with anything you needed. When we got up in the mornings we usually go out and return to the hotel late in the evenings. Whenever we got back, the room would be spotless, our things were safe, and we just felt at home with everything. We are going back this year for a few days and we are definitely looking forward to this stay. Wonderful hotel and i would recommend it to anyone who isn't interested in the hustle of the regular resorts in Negril, Ocho Rios, Mobay etc. This is the Place to stay.

Room Tip: Room 14 on the second floor is so comfortable and cozy. We loved it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Faye907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massillon, OH
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2012

We recently stayed at the Casa Maria Hotel for a conference. We were very disappointed. We had a deluxe ocean front room, that included barking dogs at night and road noise. The hotel is in need of major reservations. The rooms were very small, but I must say they were not dirty. The food was mediocre, at best and not much variety. They served steak one night that could not even be cut with a knife, let alone chewed. Compliments to Angie, Cortney and Ricardo (bar tenders and waitresses). They were great. The beach across the street is so bad. Trash and more trash. Also, there is a little shanty type restaurant/bar. They did not seem to have more than maybe 3 cars at the place all week. This is where there were 4 or more dogs. At night they let a doberman or similar looking dog out to guard the place. He is the one that did the barking. The hotel is 2 hours from the airport and there is not much nearby.
Could not in all honesty recommend this hotel unless you are not picky about your accommodations and if you don't mind being away from everything and don't mind barking dogs, road noise and totally trashed beach.

Room Tip: Noisy rooms due to road noise and barking dogs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Saddle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerWAState, Owner at Casa Maria Hotel, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
I emphasis with you regarding the barking dogs which were owned by a person leasing the beach front property. I am pleased to report that lease has been terminated and the shanty and dogs are gone and will not return. The beach is cleaned frequently; however, it only takes one heavy rain storm to trash it again. In addition the rooms have been renovated with furniture and linens. Food and service is much improved. We hope you will give us another try in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft Lauderdale
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2012

I must truly say that Casa Maria Hotel provided us with very good service and ambiance.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Verona L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kingston jamaica
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2012

I attended Casa Maria Hotel for a workshop and as a facilitator i experienced difficulties with my equipment. The willingness of your marketing officer, Christopher to go beyond the call of duty and provide enabling service is the definition of exceptional customer service. I am truly impressed and look forward to a return visit.
Casa Maria Hotel is better than Galina Breeze.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank c w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2012

First I must say compliments to the chef, the meal was first class. Secondly, the staff have mastered the Art of Excellent Customer Service.

Your staff are welcoming and knowledgable.
well done.

They deserve a pay raise.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sherrie_Clair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Maria
4.4 mi away
Tamarind Great House
Tamarind Great House
#2 of 2 in Oracabessa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
6.3 mi away
Moxons Beach Club
Moxons Beach Club
#2 of 3 in Boscobel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
12.2 mi away
Jamaica Inn
Jamaica Inn
#1 of 36 in Ocho Rios
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.0 mi away
Pineapple Court Hotel
Pineapple Court Hotel
#13 of 36 in Ocho Rios
3.5 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
0.8 mi away
Galina Breeze
Galina Breeze
#3 of 5 in Port Maria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
3.8 mi away
Goldeneye Resort
Goldeneye Resort
#1 of 2 in Oracabessa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Maria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Maria Hotel

Property: Casa Maria Hotel
Address: Highway A3, Port Maria, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Mary Parish > Port Maria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Port Maria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Casa Maria Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Casa Maria Hotel gives you an authentic Jamaican experience with beautiful views of the bay, gorgeous sunrises, cool ocean breeze, friendly Jamaican staff, sparkling pool, and excellent Jamaican and International cuisine. Away from the tourist hustle but just 30 minutes from the bustling tourist center of Ocho Rios if you wish to go to town. Enjoy the peace, quiet, and intimacy of rural Jamaica at this wonderful hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Casa Maria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Maria Hotel Jamaica/Port Maria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing