We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean & Friendly”
Review of Casa Maria Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Casa Maria Hotel
Ranked #4 of 6 Port Maria B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 22, 2012

My Husband and I stayed here for almost two weeks in June. My Husband is a local and we started our trip at his family place in the country. We were going to stay at the hotel for only two or three days but ended up loving the comfort. The hotel is not fancy or new but it is very very clean and the staff is so friendly and kind. It was my first time in Jamaica and I fell in love with it. I wanted to stay...lol

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GabiJW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (50)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

28 - 34 of 50 reviews

Reviewed June 5, 2012

My husband and i stayed at the Casa Maria Hotel for a few days in July 2011. We had a wonderful time. We wanted to get away from everything and just stay at a place where we could relax and feel at home. Very Clean facility, very friendly staffs that went out of their way to assist you with anything you needed. When we got up in the mornings we usually go out and return to the hotel late in the evenings. Whenever we got back, the room would be spotless, our things were safe, and we just felt at home with everything. We are going back this year for a few days and we are definitely looking forward to this stay. Wonderful hotel and i would recommend it to anyone who isn't interested in the hustle of the regular resorts in Negril, Ocho Rios, Mobay etc. This is the Place to stay.

Room Tip: Room 14 on the second floor is so comfortable and cozy. We loved it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Faye907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2012

We recently stayed at the Casa Maria Hotel for a conference. We were very disappointed. We had a deluxe ocean front room, that included barking dogs at night and road noise. The hotel is in need of major reservations. The rooms were very small, but I must say they were not dirty. The food was mediocre, at best and not much variety. They served steak one night that could not even be cut with a knife, let alone chewed. Compliments to Angie, Cortney and Ricardo (bar tenders and waitresses). They were great. The beach across the street is so bad. Trash and more trash. Also, there is a little shanty type restaurant/bar. They did not seem to have more than maybe 3 cars at the place all week. This is where there were 4 or more dogs. At night they let a doberman or similar looking dog out to guard the place. He is the one that did the barking. The hotel is 2 hours from the airport and there is not much nearby.
Could not in all honesty recommend this hotel unless you are not picky about your accommodations and if you don't mind being away from everything and don't mind barking dogs, road noise and totally trashed beach.

Room Tip: Noisy rooms due to road noise and barking dogs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Saddle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerWAState, Owner at Casa Maria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2014

I emphasis with you regarding the barking dogs which were owned by a person leasing the beach front property. I am pleased to report that lease has been terminated and the shanty and dogs are gone and will not return. The beach is cleaned frequently; however, it only takes one heavy rain storm to trash it again. In addition the rooms have been renovated with furniture and linens. Food and service is much improved. We hope you will give us another try in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2012

I must truly say that Casa Maria Hotel provided us with very good service and ambiance.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Verona L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2012

I attended Casa Maria Hotel for a workshop and as a facilitator i experienced difficulties with my equipment. The willingness of your marketing officer, Christopher to go beyond the call of duty and provide enabling service is the definition of exceptional customer service. I am truly impressed and look forward to a return visit.
Casa Maria Hotel is better than Galina Breeze.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank c w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2012

First I must say compliments to the chef, the meal was first class. Secondly, the staff have mastered the Art of Excellent Customer Service.

Your staff are welcoming and knowledgable.
well done.

They deserve a pay raise.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sherrie_Clair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2012

The view from the room was excellent,food was great.Will be back again.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Harold S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Maria
13.6 mi away
Silver Seas Resort Hotel
Silver Seas Resort Hotel
#17 of 35 in Ocho Rios
275 reviews
8.4 mi away
Hunter's Rest Villa B&B
Hunter's Rest Villa B&B
#1 of 4 in Tower Isle
1 reviews
0.8 mi away
Galina Breeze
Galina Breeze
#1 of 6 in Port Maria
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
GoldenEye
GoldenEye
#1 of 2 in Oracabessa
336 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Casa Maria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Maria Hotel

Address: Highway A3, Port Maria, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Mary Parish > Port Maria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Port Maria
Price Range: $99 - $144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Casa Maria Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Casa Maria Hotel gives you an authentic Jamaican experience with beautiful views of the bay, gorgeous sunrises, cool ocean breeze, friendly Jamaican staff, sparkling pool, and excellent Jamaican and International cuisine. Away from the tourist hustle but just 30 minutes from the bustling tourist center of Ocho Rios if you wish to go to town. Enjoy the peace, quiet, and intimacy of rural Jamaica at this wonderful hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Casa Maria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Maria Hotel Jamaica/Port Maria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing