We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Summers Day Lunch”
Review of The Milk House

The Milk House
Price range: $7 - $68
Cuisines: Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Situated in picturesque Sissinghurst, The Milk House is a village pub at the heart of the community. Every day the bar welcomes loyal locals, along with visitors from further afield, offering cask ales from Kentish breweries and a wide selection of wines that include offerings from the area's renowned vineyards. The Milk House offers a range of classic pub fare as well as a seasonal Dining Menu. A light Grazing Menu is available all day, while the terrace is home to a wood-fired pizza oven. On Sunday there's a choice of delicious roasts and there are wholesome choices for children too, all prepared with fresh local ingredients! The Milk House also has four beautiful bedrooms. Spacious and light, these have been styled to feel relaxing and home-from-home, with comfortable beds, luxurious en suite bathrooms and scenic views of the village and surrounding orchards. An overnight stay is completed with a hearty breakfast in the morning. The Milk House welcomes families and dogs and has an ample car park.
Reviewed July 3, 2014

Four of us visited The Milk House the weekend before last having seen it whilst driving through Sissinghurst. No problem parking as there was plenty of space. Two of us had fish and chips, one had a chicken caesar salad with poached egg and anchovies and the other had a burger. We all enjoyed our meals and were very pleased with the speed and quality of service. If we happen to be nearby in future we will definitely visit again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Shaun22062012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (643)
There are newer reviews for The Milk House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

490 - 494 of 643 reviews

Reviewed July 2, 2014

Had a very nice meal here, the service is very slow and to be honest very poor. Was disappointed to be told when I asked for the 'homemade' burger to be cooked rare that environmental health wouldn't allow this ( but they seem fine with open salt and pepper ramekins to be on the table to be used where dirty fingers can be dipped in!) having had a burger rare in different pubs many times in the past I feel that either the burger is NOT homemade or the chef doesn't have confidence in the meat he is buying from his butcher ( if he has one). Shame so I ordered something else which was very good! Desert menu is slightly pretentious and would have preferred a more hearty offering.

Overall it was a pleasant meal that was let down by the service and the lack of conference in the produce that they are buying.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank D976571
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah A, Owner at The Milk House, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback - we would like to assure you and our readers that everything we serve is prepared in our kitchens. Our meat is sourced from Park Farm in Hawkhurst and is delivered fresh every day. After our recent visit from environmental health (when we received the highest standard of 5 stars) we were advised by the Health Officer that burgers should not be served rare. They offer the same advice to everyone they visit - and we choose to take their advice because of the potential risks associated with serving mince rare. We take food hygiene very seriously and take every step to protect our customers and our business.
We're disappointed to hear that our service was sub optimal - there is never an excuse for poor service and can assure you that your feedback has been noted.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2014

A second visit to The Mil House to try the pizza menu from their new pizza hut in the new landscaped garden - fantastic. Great choice, great taste, great price and great service. Recommend this for a family outing.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Ruth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2014

Went in with a friend of mine on a Sunday evening. To try a pizza from the new pizza oven. Was told that they had run out of tomato sauce so could no longer offer pizzas. (Fair enough) ordered something else. Only for the next person to walk up to the bar and order pizzas !!!!! Either you have pizzas or not! Went to the bar to mention the issue to be told I know! No apology! Disappointing for a pub that's normally great.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Name5762
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2014

We have just arrived home after spending 3 nights at The Milk House with 6 other friends what a great time we had. The Staff could not have been any friendlier and could not do any more for us the food was delightful. Would definitely recommend thIs Hotel / Gastropub and will be going back for more

2  Thank JennyDavidWanstead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Milk House also viewed

 

Been to The Milk House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing