We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Probably one of the best places to eat in the area”
Review of The Milk House

The Milk House
Price range: $6 - $64
Cuisines: Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Situated in picturesque Sissinghurst, The Milk House is a village pub at the heart of the community. Every day the bar welcomes loyal locals, along with visitors from further afield, offering cask ales from Kentish breweries and a wide selection of wines that include offerings from the area's renowned vineyards. The Milk House offers a range of classic pub fare as well as a seasonal Dining Menu. A light Grazing Menu is available all day, while the terrace is home to a wood-fired pizza oven. On Sunday there's a choice of delicious roasts and there are wholesome choices for children too, all prepared with fresh local ingredients! The Milk House also has four beautiful bedrooms. Spacious and light, these have been styled to feel relaxing and home-from-home, with comfortable beds, luxurious en suite bathrooms and scenic views of the village and surrounding orchards. An overnight stay is completed with a hearty breakfast in the morning. The Milk House welcomes families and dogs and has an ample car park.
Cranbrook, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Probably one of the best places to eat in the area”
Reviewed April 22, 2014

It depends on what you like, but The Milk House is one of the best places to eat in the Sissinghurst / Cranbrook / Goudhurst area (and I live locally). I ate there with my family (two adults, three children & one dog) in the bar area after walking across the fields from Cranbrook. It was relaxed and friendly (the dining room is probably more formal - no dogs are allowed!) and the food was excellent and reasonable priced (I was expecting London prices). The decor is the fashionable 'Farrow and Ball' style but it is stylish and clean. It was also good to see the Old Dairy Brewery's 'Red Top' on tap (worthy of good marks in itself!). The local area needs good places like this so well worth it for a Sunday lunch with family or even an evening meal with friends. Look forward to going back! It looks like there will be a nice outdoor area in time for the summer (2014).

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Strings72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

606 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    218
    201
    101
    55
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Surprising value”
Reviewed April 19, 2014 via mobile

A very good meal on a Friday-service swift and friendly if a little inexperienced
The food was well done with some interesting options but by local standards well priced
One to watch and a good bar area with a decent selection of beers and wine again fairly priced

Helpful?
1 Thank S M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Relaxing Sunday lunch feel”
Reviewed April 19, 2014

We had heard good things about the Milkhouse but were even more pleasantly surprised. We came in for Saturday lunch and found it was so busy we should have booked! Having said that the food came out very quickly and was faultless. It all tasted so fresh and worth the price. The staff seem very observant and very well mannered, and the general atmosphere was very welcoming, everyone seemed to have a smile on their face.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Aeq100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
48 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Anniversary at the Milk House.”
Reviewed April 17, 2014 via mobile

My husband booked this as a surprise for me for our 10th Anniversary last night,he had asked for a special table but what we got was a table in an alcove with view of the wall for one of us.We eat out often and have to say we were not impressed with the service,getting drinks was slow we were not asked if we would like the wine list.We ordered wine before our starters but had to ask where it was,when the wine came it was just placed on the table usually in a restaurant you would expect to be asked to try it.The food was excellent and nothing to complain about at all.I am not a fan of having the salt and pepper in dishes where people have to use fingers,most unhygienic!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank dickocj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benenden, Kent
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Bringing some soul back into Sissinghurst”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

Thank god for The Milk House! What a gem to replace that old stinky pub. It's tone, vibrancy and soul is perfect. The decor is lovely. If I had the imagination and the sense of style I would decorate my own home like it. The tables are situated carefully, so that it stills feels like intimate dining but in a busy pub/restaurant. We went on the second night it was open and it claimed to have a limited menu but the classic British fish and chips were done to perfection. A meal for 2 people come to less than £40 and that's with 2 glasses of wine. So really good value for money. We took my daughter for a Saturday lunch and everything we ordered was really tasty. Slightly different atmosphere during the day, as it should be - more casual and less restaurant-y. Great for a family meal or an intimate dinner for two. Well done! Keep up the good work.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Caroline M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Milk House also viewed

 

Been to The Milk House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing