We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Trying the new place!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Milk House

The Milk House
Price range: $6 - $62
Cuisines: Pizza, British, Bar, European, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special occasions, Bar scene, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Situated in picturesque Sissinghurst, The Milk House is a village pub at the heart of the community. Every day the bar welcomes loyal locals, along with visitors from further afield, offering cask ales from Kentish breweries and a wide selection of wines that include offerings from the area's renowned vineyards. The Milk House offers a range of classic pub fare as well as a seasonal Dining Menu. A light Grazing Menu is available all day, while the terrace is home to a wood-fired pizza oven. On Sunday there's a choice of delicious roasts and there are wholesome choices for children too, all prepared with fresh local ingredients! The Milk House also has four beautiful bedrooms. Spacious and light, these have been styled to feel relaxing and home-from-home, with comfortable beds, luxurious en suite bathrooms and scenic views of the village and surrounding orchards. An overnight stay is completed with a hearty breakfast in the morning. The Milk House welcomes families and dogs and has an ample car park.
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Trying the new place!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2014

This is very nice refurbished new establishment, with a very nice open feel to it. The food is excellent, and was presented with a smile. So nice to have something a little different. The only downside, and by no means a criticism, is that it is in such beautiful little village, that it could be more sweetly,and countryfied in its' decor. It is very big and open, and looks more like it is in a town than the charming village of Sissinghurst. Go for the food!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Giselle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

565 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    203
    183
    97
    52
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Needs more variety in menu”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2014

I haven't ever eaten in the restaurant, only the bar area. I left 2 reviews previously, mostly positive, and I still like the atmosphere and the decor, but the menu really does need some changes. I don't think it has changed much (if it all) in the 6 months it's been open, and there are only 6 different main meal choices, none of which are vegetarian. It would be so much better if they were able to add even just 1 vegetarian dish to the bar menu, otherwise it stops people like me coming back.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank phatwajones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah A, Owner at The Milk House, responded to this review, March 8, 2014
We are delighted to hear you have typically enjoyed your experience at The Milk House and appreciate your constructive and thoughtful feedback - we have made some changes to our Classic Menu since we have opened - but in comparison to the 3 complete menu changes we have made to the Dining Room, they are less significant.

We take your point in the spirit intended and will make sure have some seasonal variation on The Classic Menu, whilst remaining within the pub classic confines.

We very much hope we'll continue to enjoy your custom.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staplehurst, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Food - not great”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

Great taste and service but portion sizes very very disappointing. The pork amounted to 2 tiny slices and a spoonful of veg. Malt toast that went with rice pudding was burnt - disgusting to taste and could be smelt as it was brought out. We thought originally that a candle has set light to something near us!!! We complained at the time but were not offered an apology or discount on the bill.
As a local resident we had envisaged using this restaurant frequently - but now doubt very much that we will return.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank bursar_bethany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah A, Owner at The Milk House, responded to this review, March 8, 2014
We're really sorry to hear you were disappointed with our food portions. We have worked hard since we opened to make our portions size consistent and believed we had made significant progress - we have raised this point with the kitchen team and will ensure our pork main course is consistently sized, this is the first feedback we've had of this nature on our most recent launched menu.

We agree that if your malt toast was burnt upon arrival we should not have charged you for it. We hope that you might come back and enjoy a different experience at The Milk House - our mid Winter Dining menu has, in the majority, been very well received and positively reviewed. We remain determined to offer delicious food at reasonable prices in a comfortable and inviting atmosphere.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Battle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Milk House Experience left a Sour Taste !”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014

Despite hearing mixed reviews from various good friends about this refurbished Pub, that used to be The Bull for many years, & knowing it had only been open for a few months, I decided to take my wife there to celebrate her Birthday, accompanied by two other couples. I had personally popped in a few days beforehand to say that it was her Birthday & could they lay on something special when the desserts were ordered, to which the repsonse was 'yes'.

Unfortunately, the evening was a disaster.....starters were ordered & a few of us had the quail breast, which turned out to be complete with bones - well, that was interesting ! Moving on to the main course, I actually discussed how the chef would cook a rare ribeye steak, rather than medium rare - a rare steak was duly ordered which turned out to be medium rare, accompanied by anaemic looking (& tasting) french beans OK ish chunky chips. However, two of the ladies, including my wife, ordered the Sole (which didn't specify on the menu which type i.e. dover or lemon) & the Supervising Waitress didn't know either & didn't even think to check with the chef & report back. Anyhow, the soles arrived, badly undercooked & had to be sent back, together with hard new potatoes - replacement soles arrived but were somewhat 'mushy' so not enjoyed at all.
Moving on to the desserts.....when an apple crumble actually got completely forgotten & when asked whether we wanted coffees & we asked what sort of Irish Coffees were available & told 'we don't do Irish Coffees' , frankly enough was enough & I demanded to see the General Manager. Oh, nearly forgot....the Supervising Waitress didn't know what a Grand Marnier was !!
The General Manager arrived, with a sort of complacent grin on his face & when told of the above catalogue of complaints, didn't apologise but merely made a feeble excuse about how young the staff were etc. - not good enough I retorted & quite honestly, this GM seemed incredibly young himself & clearly inexperienced.
The final straw was that nothing was produced in an effort/attempt to acknowledge my wife's Birthday & the evening was deemed a disaster.
In fact, two of our friends just got up & walked out in disgust.
The General Manager was challenged about what he was going to do about the bill, which in the event was unacceptable so we told him what we were going to pay & left, making it quite clear we would not return.
A great shame & with a full Restaurant & car park, The Milk House is behaving in a very complacent manner in my opinion.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah A, Owner at The Milk House, responded to this review, March 8, 2014
We are always disappointed to receive reviews like this one. Sadly there are people who make a point of frequenting establishments such as ours, and ensuring there is no way they can leave without a reduced dinner bill or in our case barely covering their drinks. They abuse their position as self appointed critic and make things not only unpleasant for everyone involved but sadly for other diners in the dining room and in this case also our bar customers. An unfortunate experience all round, which will not be repeated with this customer again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tenterden
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A must eat venue”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2014 via mobile

As a party of four we all found this venue to be excellent. The bar was busy even for a Saturday night. The bar staff gave exteamly quick and pleasant service.
The restaurant was also busy, a sign of its popularity. One good point is the tables are far enough apart to be private.The staff showed us to our table and allowed just about the right time to study the menu. Food, wine and service was of first class. WILL go again soon

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Milk House also viewed

 

Been to The Milk House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing