We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Marvellous Milk House”
Review of The Milk House

The Milk House
Price range: $7 - $65
Cuisines: Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Situated in picturesque Sissinghurst, The Milk House is a village pub at the heart of the community. Every day the bar welcomes loyal locals, along with visitors from further afield, offering cask ales from Kentish breweries and a wide selection of wines that include offerings from the area's renowned vineyards. The Milk House offers a range of classic pub fare as well as a seasonal Dining Menu. A light Grazing Menu is available all day, while the terrace is home to a wood-fired pizza oven. On Sunday there's a choice of delicious roasts and there are wholesome choices for children too, all prepared with fresh local ingredients! The Milk House also has four beautiful bedrooms. Spacious and light, these have been styled to feel relaxing and home-from-home, with comfortable beds, luxurious en suite bathrooms and scenic views of the village and surrounding orchards. An overnight stay is completed with a hearty breakfast in the morning. The Milk House welcomes families and dogs and has an ample car park.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Marvellous Milk House”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

We spent a very comfortable night at The Milk House and absolutely loved it. We had their biggest room, The Dairy, which was beautifully decorated in calming neutral tones, crisp white bedding & divine curtains that were extremely effective at blocking out the morning light. The bathroom fittings are all top notch with plenty of towels and generous local pamper products. The vibe was very much boutique hotel rather than a room above a pub - definitely delivered more than we were expecting given the standard of B&B offerings locally - no contest! Breakfast was delicious a Full English with contemporary styling for him and very generous home made muesli for moi! We did have lunch in the bar area but will certainly be back for the main restaurant another time. Only suggestion would be larger cups on the tea tray in the room.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HLH-London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

610 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    219
    202
    102
    56
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Haywards Heath, England
1 review
“Excellent!”
Reviewed November 22, 2013 via mobile

Five of us dined at The Milk House for a special birthday lunch, ordered a variety of starters & main courses, along with wine to wash it all down. Not a crumb was left on any plate! The food was superb. Our waitress was very friendly & attentive throughout, nothing was too much trouble even though the place was packed. Infact, all of the staff we encountered were pleasant. We'll definately be returning.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank maddyco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rolvenden Kent
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A Good Lunch on a Wet Day”
Reviewed November 22, 2013

I paid my first visit to the newly refurbished Milkhouse for lunch on a miserable day.. It did not disappoint. The Bar and Restaurant were very busy but the service was friendly and prompt and the food was very good. I would particularly recommend the chocolate brioche bread and butter pudding.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank anneh222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Looks Great, Needs more on the menu”
Reviewed November 20, 2013

We used to use this pub many years ago, so thought we should give it a try now it has reopened.
They have done a complete refurb and it all looks great. The staff where friendly and polite. The food was a little bit of a let down, we all went for fish and chips and burgers as there was not much choice!! The food was good but we where expecting a lot more. If they improve the menu we would use the pub again.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alice H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tenterden, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Birthday Lunch”
Reviewed November 15, 2013

We noticed this pub had re-opened after many years as the Bull. Good size car park and in a nice village with Sissinghurst Castle ( NT) just up the road.

Good welcome from the staff and they seem to have time to talk, which to me, is good. We stopped for lunch and had an excellent burger and great fish and chips.

Good atmosphere, clean and new with a few old features from a listed building.

It was very well attended in the restaurant side and the bar which is good to see.

Very little vegetarian choice, which we mentioned and were reassured that it was in hand. We return and check this important point.

Great, we will return, perhaps to try the restaurant side next time.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Milk House also viewed

 

Been to The Milk House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing