We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent overnight stay in the country”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sissinghurst
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sissinghurst Castle Farmhouse
Ranked #1 of 3 Sissinghurst B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 11, 2012

My wife brought me here for my 40th birthday treat. We had visited gardens before and said that we should come back to stay in the farmhouse. Felt at home and very welcome as soon as we arrived with tea and cakes in the sitting room.
The whole experience of our stay was brilliant, we cannot fault it and we will definitely be coming back.
Thank you Sue for your excellent hospitality.

Room Tip: Sissinghurst room (their most prestigious)
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shawn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (151)
There are newer reviews for Sissinghurst Castle Farmhouse
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

108 - 114 of 151 reviews

Reviewed April 1, 2012

The house is right on the doorstep on Sissinghurst Castle itself, so ideal for getting in early before the crowds arrive. Fraser and Sue made us feel very welcome and our room, Hazledean was lovely, a huge big bed and a great view over the main tower. It's also a great spot from which to explore some of the other great National Trust places in Kent.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bridget t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2012

The best bit about staying here, apart from the wonderful view of Sissinghurst Castle tower has to be the magnificent sumptuous super king-sized sleigh bed in the Hemsted room, which totally enveloped us in clouds of luxurious white duvet. I would definitely recommend this room, for the view and the two windows, providing a lot of light. If it hadn't been for wanting to see the castle and the grounds, I'd have gladly stayed in the room the whole time.

The bathroom was a little on the small side, but adequate and worth it to have a private bathroom, as this has been added to the original room.

Breakfast was well-cooked and presented, but perhaps not as generous as it might be, but this did not deter from a fabulous stay.

Our host was most welcoming and I loved the dog roaming around aimlessly in the hall not really bothering anyone, but I'm a dog person.

The whole place is steeped in history and the renovation has been done tastefully. I loved the big staircase and the whole feel of the place. It was a bit more expensive than our usual B&B rates, but worth it for the luxury bed and historical experience.

Would happily return. Thank you!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jet B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2011

A lovely experience again. A beautiful room in a fantastic house. Great views from our room. Sue, Fraser and Inca the dog are excellent hosts! Thoroughly recommend it. Will be back again next year.

Vicky and Greg

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iqbal k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2011

A wonderful bed and breakfast, which is more than a farmhouse, it is a beautiful grand house with a very warm welcome, luxurious bedrooms and scrumptious breakfasts... thank you for a fabulous way to spend my birthday!

Room Tip: Choose a room on the back of the house for views of the castle and gardens.
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CJRiches
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2011

I stayed at the Farmhouse in its pre-National Trust lifetime. Loved it then. Now it is even better, with great new interior decoration and bathrooms. The Nat'l Trust outdid itself in preserving the character of the original, but with a new luxurious feel.
I'm on foot, so the location is perfect for going around the gardens (outside the moat) before breakfast, going again when it opens, walking into Sissinghurst, heading out to Cranbrook for shopping and eating at the George.
I'm glad Sue is the proprietor; she is so relaxed and eager to help in any possible way. We hated to leave, and plan to come back in the springtime...the bluebells in the woods are incredible.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Betsy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2011

We were in Sissinghurst for a Golden Wedding celebration and decided to make a weekend of it. Wanting to visit the gardens we choose Castle Farmhouse as it close by, indeed it is part of the estate. A delightful old house with a carefully updated interior taking account the history of the building. The welcome was warm with a cup of tea. we had time for a short walk round the lakes before dinner in the village 20 minutes walk so that both of us could enjoy some wine. A perfect nights sleep, a beautiful day of warm sunshine and a freshly cooked breakfast. Cannot think of what more one would want from a B & B

Room Tip: Leave the choice to the owner
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Middlemiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sissinghurst
2.4 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cranbrook
320 reviews
5.3 mi away
Star & Eagle Hotel
Star & Eagle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Goudhurst
148 reviews
5.0 mi away
Little Silver Country Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
London Beach Country Hotel & Spa
13.1 mi away
The George in Rye
3.4 mi away
Wilderness Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sissinghurst Castle Farmhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sissinghurst Castle Farmhouse

Address: Sissinghurst Castle Farm House Biddenden Road, Sissinghurst TN17 2AB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Sissinghurst
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Sissinghurst
Price Range: $129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Victorian grandeur and quirkiness of the Farmhouse has been retained in an extensive refurbishment offering luxury accommodation and high quality hospitality within the stunning historic setting of The National Trust's Sissinghurst Castle. Just 100 yards from the World famous gardens and in the glorious Wealden countryside, the seven en-suite bedrooms and quality hospitality will ensure a truly memorable stay. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sissinghurst Castle Farmhouse Hotel Sissinghurst

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing