We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another excellent stay at the Farmhouse”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sissinghurst
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sissinghurst Castle Farmhouse
Ranked #1 of 3 Sissinghurst B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 10, 2011

This is our second stay at the Farmhouse and it was again a lovely experience. We stayed in a different room to our last stay and it was just as nice, if not nicer than the previous room. Sue and Fraser are excellent hosts and are very helpful with local knowledge. We sat in the garden after a lovely day out and it is in a beautiful location. The breakfast was as good as we remembered from our last visit. It is a good location to explore the treasures of Kent.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paz752451
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (151)
There are newer reviews for Sissinghurst Castle Farmhouse
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

130 - 136 of 151 reviews

Reviewed March 31, 2011

What a perfect find. First off, the website already extends a warm welcome, providing extensive and specific information and photos about the property, accommodation and services. Secondly, the response from Sue Thompson was very swift. Out of 7 or so properties in the region I contacted, this was the second response. Although it was not possible to stay for the whole week, Sue recommended another property close by for us to move on to, and which met our needs.

Arriving at Sissinghurst is also a beautiful experience. It helped no doubt that the sun was shining, and indeed shone during the whole week of our stay in Kent. However the house indeed has been masterfully restored and updated, yet has kept it sense if time and grandeur (although not in the least stuffy). We received a warm welcome from Sue, Frazer and Inca, the aging and very affectionate black Labrador.

For me, it was a real piece of luck that Frazer is CEO of Chapel Down vineyard nearby, since the main purpose of my trip was to do a wine tour in the region to prepare for a wine tasting presentation on English wines for the Brussels wine circle.

Nothing was too much – cups of tea and ginger cake in the afternoon (guests have a dedicated sitting room and dining room, both of which are splendid). Sue even offered to drive us to and pick us up from a local restaurant, although I declined, thinking this went beyond the call of her duty!

The room was beautifully appointed, and there was nothing lacking – spanking new flat screen TV, everything needed to make team, coffee, biscuits, and water. The bathroom was really well designed with a wonderful walk in shower. The only point I would make is that the washbasins are a little small for a bathroom – but it wasn’t a big deal. Large thick fluffy towels were provided and really Sue was just really mindful, providing anything she saw that might have been missing, or needed.

Went on a really long winery tour yesterday, and went directly to the local pub for some food. On the way back, saw a big fat badger crossing the lane. It’s so nice to get a real taste of the countryside!

Room Tip: All the rooms are equally sumptuous.
  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jubruxella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2011

What a treat to walk out of this elegant residence and into the gardens of Sissinghurst. Sue and Frazer are marvelous hosts and especially helpful and courteous. Their touch pervades the house. Our room was tastefully appointed and spacious. Breakfast was high quality and delicious. We enjoyed all our excusions to historic houses in the area and returning each day to this house.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank historybuff28970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2011

We had a great stay here. My son had a room facing the green and tower and my husband and I had a room with a view of the sheep in the beautiful meadows. Sue, the proprietor was a lovely person, very helpful and made us feel very welcome. She recommended and made reservations for us at 2 great pubs. The rooms are very nicely appointed and breakast is prepared personally for each guest. Inca the Labrador is the best B&B dog around! The gardens are on the
property and well with a visit. This is a good place to base yourself
when touring southeast England.

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luv2travel36461
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2011

We stayed here with some friends as a 50th birthday treat and what a treat it was. Very comfortable relaxed and welcoming.
The grounds are superb and the views spectacular. Can't recommend it highly enough!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stevejcompton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2011

We made two days trip to Kent during our three weeks stay in London in last June. We took rent-a-car from Gatwick Airport and stayed at the farmhouse.
The B&B was elegant enough to stay after enjoying the elegant garden. So we enjoyed the whole atmosphere of inside and outside of the house too. And also having breakfast was enjoyable because the meal was very good and we shared the table with a senior couple from America and talked with them.
When I had booked the B&B by e-mail, I had bothered Sue with many questions and she had been kind enough to give me thoughtful advices many times. Thanks to her, we were able to avoid too busy schedule and enjoy driving itself around the wonderful area of Kent. We only visited the Garden on the first day and Leeds Castle next day, and that was appropriate and enjoyable enough for us. We found it was pretty hard for us to get the right way at a big roundabout such as one near the Airport. It took us time to return the car.
I am sorry I was not able to express our gratitude well to Sue and her partner. They seemed too busy having many guests for me to talk to in my bad English.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hayashi1625
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2010

Even without it's history and proximity to the garden at Sissinghurst, the Farmhouse is a beautiful stay in its own right. The rooms are exquisite, the beds the most comfortable you can imagine,breakfast and dining room superb and the host Sue is welcoming,down to earth, friendly and most helpful. Looking out of the window at all the beauty and hisory of Sissinghurst on the doorstep was just wonderful, I only wish I had been able to stay longer. It is advisable to hire a car, or book a tour guide for the stay in Kent as it would be a bit difficult to visit the gardens and sights without transport. Sue is able to help with recommendations for tour guides and this is the option I would take next time I visit.

Thank you Sue for your wonderful hospitaliy (and the Ginger cakes!)
Denise Forrest

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DenisePugs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sissinghurst
2.4 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cranbrook
320 reviews
5.3 mi away
Star & Eagle Hotel
Star & Eagle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Goudhurst
148 reviews
5.0 mi away
Little Silver Country Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
London Beach Country Hotel & Spa
13.1 mi away
The George in Rye
3.4 mi away
Wilderness Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sissinghurst Castle Farmhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sissinghurst Castle Farmhouse

Address: Sissinghurst Castle Farm House Biddenden Road, Sissinghurst TN17 2AB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Sissinghurst
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Sissinghurst
Price Range: $129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Victorian grandeur and quirkiness of the Farmhouse has been retained in an extensive refurbishment offering luxury accommodation and high quality hospitality within the stunning historic setting of The National Trust's Sissinghurst Castle. Just 100 yards from the World famous gardens and in the glorious Wealden countryside, the seven en-suite bedrooms and quality hospitality will ensure a truly memorable stay. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sissinghurst Castle Farmhouse Hotel Sissinghurst

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing