We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow - you have got to see this”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Wildekrans Country House
Ranked #1 of 3 Elgin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 9, 2012

Wonderful place. Beautiful setting with a stunning garden at the base of the mountain, inspiring local artwork everywhere you look and personal service to rival the best. Our rather difficult trip timings were accommodated with creativity and charm, my food allergy became an asset as we were served the BEST food I have eaten in a long time and of course the walking and the wine.
Thank you so much to Alison and her team for a most memorable trip!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mgm522
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (103)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

92 - 98 of 103 reviews

Reviewed November 13, 2012

We spent the last two nights of our holiday in South Africa staying at Wildekrans for one of the Elgin Open Gardens weekends. From the minute we walked in we felt totally at home and relaxed. The combination of lovely setting, beautiful garden and the stylish and characterful nature of the country house add up to a very special place. And the welcome is exceptional. The wonderful hostess, Alison, and her excellent team seem genuinely to enjoy going the extra mile so that one has everything one can possibly want. Gorgeous comfortable beds with crisp white sheets, lovely unusual lighting, interesting original furniture ... coupled with a casual and relaxed atmosphere all contribute to an ambience of wonderful ease.

Breakfast is delicious. A big bowl of tropical fruit salad is served with yoghurt and home-made crunchy 'muesli' (not really muesli - better!). The usual cooked offerings are available, and toast comes with delicious home-made apricot jam. Dinner is available on week nights but pre-booking is necessary. It is served in a lovely outhouse dining room, decorated with original sculptures and wall hangings. The food is perfectly cooked: we had memorable kingklip in herb cream sauce, and the best pears in red wine I have ever had - I returned home armed with the recipe. A good range of local wines are available at cellar door prices, available on a help-yourself honesty basis from the kitchen and/or served with dinner.

Do stay here is you can - it is a lovely place.

Room Tip: The lovely suite has mountain view from the bed and can accommodate an extra bed in the sitting room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank An173dy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

This is one of the most relaxing places to stay. The garden is something to behold and we enjoyed the most amazing braai on a perfect Cape evening. The family love spending the weekend at Wildekrans as there is so much to do. This is an ideal spot to go to in order to recharge your batteries.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Malcolm C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2012

Stayed for three days of hiking on Green Mountain Trail. Excellent service, highly professional guides, master class lunch boxes. Country house had large comfortable rooms with an amazing garden including a pool. Good surrounding for evening walks and trail running. Very friendly with good service and great food + breakfast.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Timo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

My sister and I attempt to do an annual 'sister-time' slack packing route...never before have we experienced such indulgent luxury on a slack packing route...we spent four nights at Wildekrans Country House on a special request while doing The Green Mountain Trail...Alison Green and her amazing team went out of her way to accommodate our special request's, including dedicated sister-time and food allergies...the food is an absolute 'gastronomic' life experience and one could seriously consider a quite time out at Wildekrans even if only to experience the quality food and wine...the atmosphere is true therapy for the soul and one can't avoid unwinding no matter how stressed out...there is a stunning artistic tone to everything that is done which is a soul experience...and finally I am besotted with Arum Lilies and the home and garden abounds with Arum Lilies...my life is definitely altered...thank you so much!

Room Tip: All rooms have something special...you will not be disappointed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brenda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

We absolutely loved the setting of this beautiful old homestead. The gardens were spectacular and the rooms very comfortable. Breakfast was a real treat - their homemade apricot jam was some of the best I've ever had!

We stayed in the suite and loved opening up all of the windows and looking up at the mountain from our bed.

We will definitely be back!

Room Tip: The suite is a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CareyTownsed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

Our group of ten friends spent two nights at Wildekrans Country House as part of hiking the four-night Green Mountain Trail. This up-market slackpacking trail is quite strenuous for senior citizens, particularly the first day, but it is very well organised. The trail guides were very friendly and knowledgeable. The picnic lunches provided along the way were quite outstanding, as was the catering at both guest houses in which we stayed. Wildekrans is a lovely old-style country house with a beautiful garden, comfortable en-suite rooms and excellent food. The hospitality offered by Alison Green and her staff is outstanding.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elgin
8 mi away
Arabella Hotel & Spa
Arabella Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Kleinmond
860 reviews
2.9 mi away
South Hill Vineyards - The Guesthouse
7.1 mi away
Belfield Farm Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Wildekrans Wine Estate
Wildekrans Wine Estate
#5 of 9 in Botrivier
37 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Wildekrans Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wildekrans Country House

Address: Houw Hoek Village | N2, Houw Hoek, Elgin 7190, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Elgin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Elgin
Price Range: $125 - $137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Wildekrans Country House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only an hour's drive from Cape Town, this historic 1811 Cape Dutch homestead and cottage, set in a rambling country garden, is the perfect farm stay and country getaway. Wi-fi available on the property. Rosebeds, lawns and fruit trees cascade to the river and, silhouetted by a rugged mountain backdrop, provide a dramatic setting for a collection of contemporary art. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Wildekrans Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing