We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Location and Superb Wine”

Fresh at Paul Cluver
Ranked #2 of 9 Restaurants in Elgin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Nestled in the heart of the Elgin Valley, Fresh takes residence on the magnificent Paul Cluver Wine estate, with panoramic views of the majestic Groenland Mountains. Our ever-changing menu has at it's heart seasonal, sustainable and locally sourced produce.
Plaka, Greece
Level 6 Contributor
166 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Excellent Location and Superb Wine”
Reviewed March 7, 2013

Unique and super restaurant set in the Paul Cluver complex up in Elgin. Excellent meal in a superb setting.

Also the Paul Cluver Sauvignon Blanc was the the very best we tasted on this trip to South Africa

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lefkoseikos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    118
    36
    6
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fresh and delicious food served with a big smile in a gorgeous setting!”
Reviewed February 11, 2013

This was my first time at Paul Cluver and I contacted Joan, the owner of Fresh restaurant via the telephone as I needed to curate a set menu for a corporate group of 16 people.
She was immediately willing and helpful and helped me put together a heavenly menu.
When I arrived at the estate with my group, we were delighted to find that Joan had created a beautiful large table for us, VIP style, overlooking the magnificent lawns.
The service was phenomenal with Joan welcoming us personally and taking us through the menu plus up to 3 lovely smiling waitresses helping to serve.
The food was delicious; amongst the starters was a chopped up farm-style Caprese salad with tomatoes grown on the farm and a delicious buffalo mozzarella, springbok carpacchio and figs with blue cheese wrapped in parma ham. Main courses were equally delicious. By the time it came to dessert we were all sufficiently full, but one or two indulged in home made lemon meringue and hot chocolate pudding which looked amazing!
I will definitely be back, if only to be in that beautiful setting and Joan's warm hospitality.
A definite stop for travellers heading to or from Hermanus!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Eamon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Delicious food, attentive & friendly service, in a beautiful setting”
Reviewed February 10, 2013

The restaurant itself is very lovely with picturesque patio seating and cozy indoor seating as well, and the service was fantastic from the start with the owner and chef, Joan, constantly passing by to take our orders, make sure we were happy and to make interesting conversation. In addition to all this, and most importantly, every course we tried was cooked and presented perfectly and beautifully - we could not have been happier and left feeling very stuffed and promising we would come back the next time we were in the area. A great experience.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BarcaKris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Superb setting complimented by gorgeous food”
Reviewed February 8, 2013

I was invited to Fresh at Paul Cluver Wine Estate by my Godparents and was suitably impressed by the superb setting and gorgeous food. This is well worth visiting for any traveler going from Cape Town to Hermanus. All those at lunch that date loved their food!!!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Southboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Exactly as the name indicates - FRESH”
Reviewed February 7, 2013

Superb.
On the Paul Cluver estate, this intimate restaurant is a gem. The food is fresh, simple and delicious. Most is grown either on the estate or sourced locally. The service is personal and friendly - the menu explained from a blackboard. We had a lazy lunch on a sunny Cape day, the location is picturesque [beautiful estate], and with the meal and great service, made for a memorable occasion. Already planning a return visit - would recommend.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JC_Sydney_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fresh at Paul Cluver also viewed

 
Grabouw, Western Cape
Sir Lowry's Pass, Western Cape
 

Been to Fresh at Paul Cluver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing