We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel with excellent hosts”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
South Hill Vineyards - The Guesthouse
Ranked #2 of 3 Elgin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 1, 2013

Very modern and stilish venue, great for a few night stays amongst the vinyards away from everything either on a couple or with the whole extended family.
However, every place is made special by the people, and you can see the care that the owner have put into this place. They are excellent hosts and the wine they produce is also quite good.
In fact this winery was recommended by a very good friend of us who is a Sommelier, and we would certainly recommend it to anyone travelling to South Africa.

We look forward to our next stay at South hill

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AlvaroGlezR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (55)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

51 - 55 of 55 reviews

Reviewed October 28, 2013

Wonderful stay at South Hill. Fantastic hospitality at a most tranquil venue, pleasant staff and great facilities. Definitely need to find the time to explore the area and would recommend using South Hill as a base to do so.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank Mark v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

I recently got engaged at South Hill Vineyeards, so I'll try not let the excitement make me too bias ;)

First off, Sandy was awesome. She organised everything so nicely from an admin perspective, and she was kind enough to let us stay just one night on the weekend (something most places don't allow).

We stayed in the pump-house cottage, which is simply awesome, in the sense that it's secluded, away from the madding crowd, has a dam and a jetty/deck where you can have supper if the weather permits, although we found it odd that the water was so low given all the rain at the time. The unit itself is quaint, and although not overly massive, is all a couple needs.

There's a single open-plan room - the bed is comfy and big and is separated from the lounge and kitchen by a chest-height center island. There's a beautiful, big, separate bathroom.

There's a closed jetmaster, which provided great heat, but would have been a tad nicer if it wasn't closed ;)

Outside, there's a wind-protected courtyard with a braai and a Jacuzzi - something we made relaxing use of, even though it was about 7 degrees Celsius outside! :)

All in all, it's a really awesome little spot. It may need a fraction of upkeep as I did notice a bit of damp (but it had been raining for a week solid!), but nothing serious.

The Elgin Old MacDaddy is just opposite the farm, about a kilometer away if you're looking for food, as the South Hill restaurant is currently closed.

As far as the Guest House goes, I've never stayed there, but a friend used that when he had his wedding there and I've been inside - it's really fantastic - so if you're more than a couple, it's a good option.

Of course, as a wedding venue it's a magnificent, all-in-one, and the wine tastes pretty good too!

I'd definitely recommend this spot to anyone!

Room Tip: The Pump-House is awesome, sleeps 2 and is away from the madding crowd. Perfect for a romantic getaw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2013

My husband and I stayed in the spacious and well-equipped Guest House, which we had to ourselves, for one night. We were on our way home to Cape Town and decided to find out what South Hill had to offer. The winemaker made us very welcome and showed us the Guest House and allowed us to stay at a reduced rate as they do not currently have a Chef. As there are several places closeby, including 2 Farm Stalls, at which we could purchase food items as well as restaurants, we were happy to stay and fend for ourselves. South Hill is situated in the Elgin Valley with views of the surrounding valley and hills. It has a large communal lounge, kitchen and 4 ensuite rooms downstairs and a large upstairs area suitable for a small family.Ideal place for a family group to spend relaxing time with all modern conveniences including a pool and braai area.

2  Thank Veronica W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2012

Very spacious villa in the middle of vineyards, everything is high standard. The rooms are super comfortable, the kitchen is perfectly equipped, the garden is very well kept and the owners were always willing to help. Very quiet place, would also be perfect to rent for a weekend with friends, but it's also big enough if you share it with strangers. The restaurant next door looks amazing, make sure it is open when you stay there.
Breakfast was served in the lounge and was very good.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to South Hill Vineyards - The Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Hill Vineyards - The Guesthouse

Address: 113 The Valley Road, Elgin 7180, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Elgin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Elgin
Price Range: $73 - $123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — South Hill Vineyards - The Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Guest House has 4 ground level double rooms en suite and an upstairs loft room en suite which sleeps 4. The Cellar Garden Suite sleeps 2 and has sweeping orchard views. Accessible either through the Guest House or its own separate entrance, the suite is completely self contained with a lounge area, kitchenette and outside garden braai area. In total the house has 6 bedrooms and sleeps 14. The Guest House has an open plan living/ dining and fully equipped kitchen. Outside we have a braai area with a pizza oven set alongside an informal, outdoors dining area and the swimming pool. A croquet set for the lawn and a boulé court are available. There is DStv in the living area and upstairs loft room. An iPod docking station and Wifi are set up in each of the bedrooms. The Guest House is serviced in the mornings. Available on an Exclusive Full Use or Individual Room Use basis. If taken on an Individual Room rate basis the rate includes breakfast in on on-site restaurant. Our Pumphouse Honeymoon Cottage which sleeps 2 is a secluded and self contained cottage with a pot belly fire place for cooler evenings. It has its own private courtyard with a Jacuzzi and braai facilities and is set overlooking one of the farms numerous dams. An iPod docking station is available. Feel free to join us for a wine tasting or a browse through our Art Gallery and Sculpture Garden with accompanying kitchen garden – open 7 days a week between 10h00 – 17h00. Our Restaurant is open 7 days a week for breakfast from 08h00 and lunches until 15h30. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your South Hill Vineyards - The Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing