We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lumley's Place - Excellent!”
Review of Lumley's Place

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lumley's Place
Ranked #1 of 1 Pniel B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 27, 2010

June 2010

My name is Dave Calvario. I am the Dean of Students at Waynesburg University, located in Pennsylvania, USA. We are a small Presbyterian institution. Faith, learning and serving is at the core of our institution’s values.

I led a group of nine Waynesburg University students on a mission service trip to the Cape Town area, May 20-June 3, 2010. We partnered and served with students from Stellenbosch University during our stay. Part of the trip immersed us in the richness of South Africa’s history and culture, and part of our trip was in direct service in Gugulethu. Everywhere we turned we were greeted by warm and welcoming individuals.

For me, this was my third mission service trip to beautiful South Africa. While in the Stellenbosch area, we stayed at Lumley’s Place, a Bed & Breakfast in Pniel. Benita and Peter have a lovely place that is new, clean and an outstanding staff. We were treated like royalty. I highly recommend Lumley’s Place. They will spoil you.

Go Bafana Bafana!

Sincerely,
Dave Calvario

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cal1125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LumleysPlace, Owner at Lumley's Place, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2013

thanking you for this raving review. thanks for sharing your life and travel experiences with us. We have learnt so much from your group, the diski dancing and so much more. thanks for the promotion of our venue and village as such. 2010 was an outstanding year for us and you and the students contributed to much of that as well. Do hope to host you and your group on your next trip to University of Stellenbosch, again. Go well!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (88)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

84 - 88 of 88 reviews

Reviewed July 14, 2010

My friend and I were looking for a cozy B&B to spend a night in the Cape Winelands after our full day of wine tasting. This place was amazing! We stayed in the Blue Gecko room. It is beautifully decorated, very cozy, and the views from the building of the surrounding valley are incredible! What an amazing getaway location. I only wish we had been there in the summer to enjoy the pool.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chiaracruciano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LumleysPlace, Owner at Lumley's Place, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2013

thanking you for review. We are glad you and your friends enjoyed your stay whilst travelling our beautiful country. We do cater for all ages and love it when young adults finds our venue and village awesome as part of their travels. God bless you in your travels and do hope to see you reserving a room on your next trip here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2010

During our visit to Cape Town, we decided to head out into the Cape Winelands to check out the countryside and of course the wine. Found Lumley's Place to be an absolute hidden gem! An unbelievably beautiful venue with great views of surrounding mountains. Owners and staff we're very friendly and helped organize an excellent wine tour. The rooms are cozy and since we visited in the winter were very thankful for the in-floor heating! Will definitely be back!!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JohnnieToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LumleysPlace, Owner at Lumley's Place, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2013

thanking you for this rave review. thanking you for al the assistance in creating marketing blocks for our establishment. it was much appreciated. we have learnt so much from all the advise given. we do hope to host you on your travels to SA and thus Pniel again. We have awesome guided hiking trails and the views from the Silvermines are awesome and you need to experience to appreciate. God bless you on your travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ton m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LumleysPlacePniel, Owner at Lumley's Place, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2016, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank akewesterlund78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LumleysPlacePniel, Owner at Lumley's Place, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pniel
1.5 mi away
Banhoek Lodge
Banhoek Lodge
#2 of 115 in Stellenbosch
263 reviews
6.5 mi away
Boord Guest House
Boord Guest House
#43 of 115 in Stellenbosch
106 reviews
7.7 mi away
Le Verger
Le Verger
#65 of 115 in Stellenbosch
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lumley's Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lumley's Place

Address: 5 Lumley Avenue | Johannesdal, Pniel, Stellenbosch 7681, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch > Pniel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Pniel
Price Range: $100 - $143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lumley's Place 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located and Scenic mountain views,safe village neighbourhood, warm hearted villagers, friendly capable staff.4-En-suites,hearty breakfasts, small garden, pool for lazy summer days. Honesty bar and fridge in lounge all guests, Private Shuttle services to golf estates, Boschenmeer,Pearl Valley,Stellenbosch,De Zalze,Devonavale,15min drive to Cullinary Capital Franschhoek, 12min to Stellenbosch. 40Min to Cape Town international and 30min to nearest beach.Close to Wine tastings, Solms-Delta,Tokara,DElair Graff, le Pommier, Zorgvliet, Molenvliet all internationally known wine and event venues.5Min from Franschhoek Motor museum,15min from Franschhoek cullinary capital of Western Cape.Family owned B&B in rural village Johannesdal, Pniel- rich slave history, hands on service from owners, mobile spa services,10min LE Bonheur crocodile farm. 20Min to Butterfly World Klapmuts as well as Paarl, 19min to Madiba,Nelson Mandela statue and historic Madiba jail home at Victor Verster. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Cancelon and Booking.com so you can book your Lumley's Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing