We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful surprise”
Review of Lumley's Place

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lumley's Place
Ranked #1 of 1 Pniel B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Centurion, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful surprise”
Reviewed March 27, 2013

My wife and I stayed at Lumley's Place for 3 nights and were treated like royalty. The quest house is beautiful, the rooms are spacious and comfortable and beautifully decorated. Although the residential area in which it is situated is fairly modest, the area seems to be safe and is very quiet. The guest house is situated in one of the most beautiful areas and the view from the room was stunning. The service was excellent and very personal. I confidently recommend Lumley's Place and will certainly stay there again when visiting the Boland area.

Room Tip: Room no 4 has everything.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pieter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lumleys, Owner at Lumley's Place, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Thanking you for taking the time out to review us. I am glad that we made your wedding night special and thanking you for choosing our venue. it was fun assisting you in the garden and we do hope that the pecan trees are in full growth by now.
we do hope to see you celebrating your 1st anniversary with us. God bless you in your travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    22
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
22
39
2
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 20, 2013

We arrived at Lumley's the night of our wedding at 8pm. We were greeted by Benita who was more than happy to show us around and help get our bags to our room. The room was spacious and well-maintained, and our privacy was respected for the duration of our stay. Breakfast was lovely with a variety of fruit, yoghurt, breads, condiments as well as a hot English breakfast. The highlight of our stay was how welcoming and accommodating Benita was towards us. Every effort was made to ensure we had a good experience, which we definitely had. My husband definitely enjoyed the garden and even got to take home some plants! I would definitely recommend this place. :)

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cleo321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lumleys, Owner at Lumley's Place, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
thanking you Cleo for choosing our venue. Yes we enjoyed hosting you on your special night. We do hope that the pecan trees are in full growth by now. Remember they do take a few years before fruit bearing. We do hope to see you on one of your anniversaries. God bless.Benita
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 20, 2013

A 1st Anniverasy to remember:
Me and husband Francois just had THE best 1st Anniverasy celebration ever!!!
We got married on the 03rd March 2012, and celebrated it again on the 03rd this year.
The Saturday we first attended Solms-Delta's Summer Sunset Suppers and the main act Hotwater and the local bands from the farm (Optelband & Soetstemme )was just the best start we could have, they were cooking...
We left to our overnight stay at Lumley's Place, owner Antie Benita made this a night to remember.
We stayed in the (Peerboom room) with the best view of the mountains and Johannesdal and its surroundings, the room was so cosy, stunningly decorated, the perfect atmosphere & warmth for a 1st Anniversary, see a pic attached.
We wake up to a 5star breakfast, best service, so friendly from our hostess herself and Christelene ,the fruit was catered to our liking, warm freshly baked bread(I had this the last time I lived on Pickstones farm, now Alleue Bleue when I was a teenager still, what memories it brought back..)the full monty ,a continental &farmstyle breakfast, what a treat, thanks to Joy.
If this is how a 1st anniversary kicks off, I am so looking forward to all the others to come.
Therese & Francois Afrika

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Therese A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lumleys, Owner at Lumley's Place, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Thanking you mr & mrs F Africa for choosing to celebrate this important event at our establishment. I am glad that our staff and ourselves could contribute to your special occasion. Christolene and Joy loved the accolades as they all are very passionate about our guests as well as their jobs. Joy's freshly baked breads are awesome!!. Our valley has many events on offer from Oes Fees celebrations to local Bazaars and many a winter fair as well from Paarl, Franschhoek,Stellenbosch - all within easy travelling distance for a well deserved night at Lumley's Place thereafter. Wonderful blessings for the special anniversary once again. We have a surprise for you for the 2nd Anniversary . God bless Benita & Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marquartstein, Germany
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2013

Perfect location for travellers who want to stay in the area of Stellenbosch with easy access to Tokara and Delaire Graff estate. Very friendly hosts, spacious and clean rooms, unique interior and nice atmosphere. The breakfast sometimes takes a little time but it is worth waiting for. On very hot days, an air conditioning would be desirable in the upper 2 rooms.

Room Tip: The "peerboom" is the nicest room but can be hot and a bit sticky on very sunny days.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Otti S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lumleys, Owner at Lumley's Place, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
thankign you for this review mr Otto. We are humbled by your review and is glad that our passion towards our business and our staff reflects in their service to you and all guests. Peerboom does have a stunning mountain view - Groot Drakenstein Mountains - We have been negotiating with the air conditioning company since Nov 2012 for the best deal for our business. Unfortunately they only started a day after your departure- thus we currently are proud to announce that 3 of our 4 rooms as well as the breakfast area currently boasts air conditioners. We are thus fully geared for your next stay. i am also glad that you do like our breakfast. We are a small establishment thus we only have a few staff members and are continually training all staff to serve efficientlly . God bless and safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2012

We were scheduled to arrive at about 5 pm on Sunday the 9th of Decemeber. We were a party of 9 adults. We got lost and only checked in at about 9 pm. Because of th late check-in we did not manage the braai we had planned for that evening's dinner as we were so late. The hosts offerred there son's services to go and fetch some take aways for us. It felt like our home as we were allowed to swim and with 9 people checking in all at the same time - I am sure we must of woken up the neighbours. Breakfast was wonderful and they went out of there way to please us. Our accomodation that we had booked in Houtbay had been cancelled at the last minute and they contacted all the people they knew to try and get us a place to stay. THIS IS AN AWESOME PLACE TO STAY.

Room Tip: all the rooms were equally supurb
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cindy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lumleys, Owner at Lumley's Place, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Thanking you Ma'am for choosing to stay with us. it was good to see the relief on your faces when we could assist upon your arrival - that is what we are about - "sincerely yours" our logo and we do live up to it. We are a family run business thus my kids know that they need to assist our guests - or any visitor to our B&B, the best .

We are proud that your first experience in Cape Winelands was awesome and that we could contribute to that.
We thorougly enjoyed watching the kids as they had fun with the board games available in our venue. Good luck to the kids with their studies. God bless Benita & Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paarl, Western Cape, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 20, 2012

On 30 November 2012 we had a lovely birthday party for my mother at Lumley's. All the guests were so impressed with what Lumley's had to offer and the beautiful surroundings. We are so grateful to Mrs. Cyster for all her help, patience, the great food and hospitatilty. Myself and my mother and even some of her friends overnight there as well; the accomodation is superb and neat and we will defnitely recommend Lumley's to our friends, colleagues & family.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Prudence A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lumleys, Owner at Lumley's Place, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
What an awesome function it was. thanking you for entrusting your mothers special birthday function in our hands. I had fun planning the function with you and your mum.

thanks to all who has filled the rooms and stayed over for a funfilled evening as well as our scrumptious breakfast.

God bless you for the referrals to our venue and our services and thus assisting us in our growth.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2012

Great stay at Lumley's- we stayed over the night, as we had a wedding down the road. Perfect place for that. Benita and the staff were very friendly and helpful. Felt like i was staying at my aunt's place- very welcoming!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lumleys, Owner at Lumley's Place, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
"Sincerely Yours" - our logo - just means that ms Mcnab ,I am glad we made you felt at home. we are closely situated to most of the wedding venues off the R310 between Stellenbosch and the R45 (Molenvliet, Zorgvliet, Tokara,Clouds,Le POmmier,Boschendal,Alluee Bleue,De Kraal,Alluvia,Delaire Graff - all within 5km from us.

We recently mentioned at a networking session that we should name the area the WEDDING LANE . Do hope to have you back for a longer stay. Safe travels. Benita
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pniel
5.7 mi away
Eendracht Hotel
Eendracht Hotel
#3 of 16 in Stellenbosch
386 reviews
11.1 mi away
Spier Hotel
Spier Hotel
#4 of 16 in Stellenbosch
1,821 reviews
5.7 mi away
Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Banhoek Lodge
Banhoek Lodge
#1 of 112 in Stellenbosch
212 reviews
2.1 mi away
Clouds Wine & Guest Estate
Clouds Wine & Guest Estate
#2 of 52 in Stellenbosch
479 reviews
1.8 mi away
Le Pommier Wine Estate - Country Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lumley's Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lumley's Place

Property: Lumley's Place
Address: 5 Lumley Avenue | Johannesdal, Pniel, Stellenbosch 7681, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch > Pniel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Pniel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Lumley's Place 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located and Scenic mountain views,safe village neighbourhood, warm hearted villagers, friendly capable staff.4-En-suites,hearty breakfasts, small garden, pool for lazy summer days. Honesty bar and fridge in lounge all guests, Private Shuttle services to golf estates, Boschenmeer,Pearl Valley,Stellenbosch,De Zalze,Devonavale,15min drive to Cullinary Capital Franschhoek, 12min to Stellenbosch. 40Min to Cape Town international and 30min to nearest beach.Close to Wine tastings, Solms-Delta,Tokara,DElair Graff, le Pommier, Zorgvliet, Molenvliet all internationally known wine and event venues.5Min from Franschhoek Motor museum,15min from Franschhoek cullinary capital of Western Cape.Family owned B&B in rural village Johannesdal, Pniel- rich slave history, hands on service from owners, mobile spa services,10min LE Bonheur crocodile farm. 20Min to Butterfly World Klapmuts as well as Paarl, 19min to Madiba,Nelson Mandela statue and historic Madiba jail home at Victor Verster. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com and Cancelon so you can book your Lumley's Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing