We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best eating place in 30 kilometre radius”

O'Callaghan's Delicatessen & Cafe
Ranked #2 of 12 Restaurants in Mitchelstown
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Irish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: O'Callaghan's Deli, Café and Bakery is a family run business established in 1988 by Pat and Mary O'Callaghan. O'Callaghan's has gained a reputation for providing fresh homemade food using locally sourced produce prepared with tender loving care, reflecting our motto: 'If your mother wouldn't pay for it, don't expect the customer to!' Located On Lower Cork St, Mitchelstown, O'Callaghan's Café serves food all day with extensive Breakfast and Lunch Menus. O'Callaghan's is the perfect place to break a journey, whether you have time to eat in or prefer to eat on the go, O'Callaghan's can offer everything you need!
Cork
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Best eating place in 30 kilometre radius”
Reviewed September 21, 2012

Had a fantastic open crab sandwich in and delicious dessert in O'Callaghans. My travelling companions had fish and potato wedges, and chips and nuggets. All excellently cooked and served. Restaurant is clean. Staff are friendly and polite - something very important no matter where you go. Having eaten here on many occasions, I cannot think of any time that I was unhappy with the food.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Powerpix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    35
    15
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Worth a detour.”
Reviewed August 27, 2012

We were heading by car from Dublin to Kinsale and O'Callaghan's had been recommended to make a detour for lunch if we had time. Barely 5 minutes off the motorway it was indeed worth it. Crab cakes, mushroom soup and excellent fish 'n' chips followed by coffees and a slice of coffee cake - yum! Bought a few items in the small deli on the way out. Filled with locals and muddy music goers attending a local festival .. all happy and created a great atmosphere.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ihanney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent quality food that's reasonably priced”
Reviewed August 12, 2012

Had a late lunch here last Wednesday - as always the specials on offer were excellent quality & value
Trying to find decent options for my veggie husband is always a trial but here it's never an issue

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jorandnj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castletownroche Cork
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Consistently Excellent”
Reviewed August 10, 2012

I work in Mitchelstown several days a week and invariably lunch in O'Callaghans either solo or with colleagues and friends. The food is always excellent - I have been dining there for 5 years and I have never yet had a bad meal. Once or twice I have ordered something that I wouldn't order again but that was due to personal taste rather than an inferior dish. The ingredients are always top quality and are well prepared and presented. I almost always go for fish - hard to beat. I see another review claimed O'Callaghans is dear - I think this is unfair - their meals are top quality and are cooked to order and very generous in terms of proportion. I usually opt for a half portion which is more than sufficient and at €8.50 offers excellent value. The less said about the desserts the better - try to avoid - too yummy! Highly recommended - excellent friendly and efficient staff too. By the way I have no connection to this business - O'Callaghans deserve to be highly commended as they serve delicious food week in week out!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheila O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Overpriced and staff a bit snippy”
Reviewed August 10, 2012

For a country town this place is over priced. The menu changes very rarely. The staff clear the table ways too quick i.e. when all the party have not finished. Seating is poor. Ordering service is confusing. Food is relatively ok.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank GlenGirlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed O'Callaghan's Delicatessen & Cafe also viewed

Mitchelstown, County Cork
Mitchelstown, County Cork
 
Mitchelstown, County Cork
Mitchelstown, County Cork
 
Kildorrery, County Cork
 

Been to O'Callaghan's Delicatessen & Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing