We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent staff and good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Hunters Rest

The Hunters Rest
Ranked #1 of 11 Restaurants in Mitchelstown
Cuisines: Irish, Bar, Pub, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Cork,Ire
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Excellent staff and good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013

My wife,daughter and I have eaten here many times over the years and the staff here are exceptionally helpful even though they are usually very busy(especially at weekends) and always take the time to have a chat with us and our 7 year old daughter.The food here is consistenly good and is well priced and we usually have trouble finishing the portions.My only complaint is the giant TV screen, when seems to dominate the whole dining area especially when there is football on,but from a dining perspective I have no complaints.....will be back again.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gerard O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    49
    12
    10
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cork
Level Contributor
80 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Delicious”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

Four of us stopped here for a meal on our homeward journey. What a great surprise..
The food was fantastic, fresh, perfectly cooked meats, crisp vegetables, beautiful sauces. The homemade desserts were outstanding. The place was really very busy but the service was fantastic. The very pleasant young girl brought our food promptly with a lovely smile. Best of all was the price we paid. The best value for money, excellent food, excellent service all at an excellent price. Make a visit, you wont be disappointed.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BETTYCork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“great food good staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2013 via mobile

2 of us had starters and mains good size portions and staff are very efficient and friendly. Very good value for money and huge menu to choose from. One dessert which was tiramasu not sure if it was home made did not look it that would b only fault I could find will definitely go back

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank nice2bnicefuzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkcaldy, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great Staff and Lovely Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013

We had a family get together at the Hunters Rest recently ,and both the food, and service were really good. It was very busy on the day we visited, so the locals wont find anything new in this review, as they know great value when they see it....... Not much more to say except its a really nice well run establishment.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FifersScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
45 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Dependable”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013

We had dinner at The Hunter's Restaurant and found our meals solid, dependable and tasty.

Food and service was decent and reliable. It was one of a few restaurants recommended to us as visitors to Mitchelstown and it suited our needs just fine. The menu was varied and we enjoyed our meals.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Travedia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Hunters Rest also viewed

 
Mitchelstown, County Cork
Mitchelstown, County Cork
 

Been to The Hunters Rest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing