We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfort, hospitality, location!”
Review of Ballinwillin House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ballinwillin House
Ranked #1 of 5 Mitchelstown B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 24, 2013

My husband and I spent 2 nights in this first class B&B and would return in the blink of an eye! The room was large, comfortable and clean, well decorated and welcoming. The bathroom was large with good water pressure. The breakfast was to die for! Everything was made on the farm, the bacon, sausages, eggs, oat cakes. . . you get the picture! Our hosts were extremely welcoming and warm, and we felt totally at ease. We will certainly return when next in that lovely part of the world.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank F00tn0te
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (75)
There are newer reviews for Ballinwillin House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 75 reviews

Reviewed May 17, 2013

I am just home after 3 nights at Ballinwillin House with the Mulcahy family. I travelled on my own for a quiet break mountain biking and horse riding. Miriam and Pat are the most amazing hosts. Words can't describe and its not often I'm stuck for words! ..... from their very warm, very homely welcome, to the wonderful quirkiness of their farm (deer, wine and boar plus other friends!) to Miriams wonderful cooking (all home produce) and Pats tour of the wine cellar and farm. Any guest would be extremely fortunate to have the opportunity to visit this beautiful home. As busy as Pat and Miriam are they are great to make the time they spend with their guests dining, chatting and sharing ideas. How lucky am I to have had a break like it. Thank you very much to all involved. CS.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank csavage10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

We had no plans to visit Mitchelstown, but time was not on our side. We were looking for something less expensive, but all the B&Bs in town were full, so we had no option but Ballinwillin House. We were lucky.

This is a beautiful house, with comfortable and tasteful accommodation, owned and managed by a delightful couple. Pat and Miriam are superb hosts: warm, welcoming, interesting, and very good company, the sort of people you can imagine being lifelong friends.

I hope to go back.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2012

Beautiful home, grounds and farm animals. Just to get up close to a heard of Irish Red Deer was a real experience. Accommodations were clean, tastefully decorated and modern. Breakfast was out of this world. Stayed two days and wish we had stayed much longer. We will return. The town of Mitchelstown just a few blocks from the B&B is picturesque with several historic site. A drive to the Mitchelstown Caves is also well worth the effort.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dmcdon2851
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

No where will you get a home as welcoming or as inviting as the Mulcahy's in Ballinwillin House. Rooms and accommodation are spacious. Breakfasts are excellent. The best of Irish. Very helpful to anyone researching ancestors in the area. Private grounds. Safe parking.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Powerpix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2012

I stayed at Ballinwillin House with my husband and 2 kids for 4 days recently and we loved it - it was our home away from home. Pat and Miriam have a wonderful gift for making people feel comfortable and after a while we really felt that we were staying with friends rather than just renting rooms. The rooms, by the way - two doubles on the top floor of the cottage - were the best we stayed in during our whole trip to Ireland. I can't recommend Ballinwillin highly enough - especially if you're tracing family history as Pat and Miriam help out with their local knowledge and contacts and also if you like wine - as Pat is a fine host in his wine cellar!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank c_mallow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2012

Stayed here over the weekend with my partner. We had the Mulcahy room downstairs in the courtyard.The owners of the business where not around on our visit but we were looked after by Margeret. Great Host and very friendly. The room was very comfortable, modern, clean and spacious. The breakfast was lovely and we had a great chat with a very nice couple who were also staying. Overall very good but it was a pity that we didnt get to sample some of the wines available but hopefully next time.

Room Tip: More than just a place to sleep
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mick-jay-irl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mitchelstown
11.1 mi away
Kilcoran Lodge Hotel
9.3 mi away
The Grand Hotel Fermoy
24.9 mi away
Midleton Park Hotel
Midleton Park Hotel
#1 of 2 in Midleton
719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.7 mi away
Springfort Hall Country House
23.1 mi away
Baileys Hotel Cashel
Baileys Hotel Cashel
#1 of 2 in Cashel
610 reviews
9.1 mi away
Abbeyville House
Abbeyville House
#1 of 7 in Fermoy
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ballinwillin House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ballinwillin House

Address: Mitchelstown, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Mitchelstown
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Mitchelstown
Price Range: $104 - $108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ballinwillin House provides an unique experience that combines luxurious accommodation, wine and artisan food. The newly-refurbished courtyard is home to exceptional guestrooms and private relaxation area and now available for bookings.Your hosts, Pat and Miriam Mulcahy have created a restful and luxurious offering on the farm, blending modern expectations with the natural beauty of the surroundings. Farm tours are available where safe walking tracks welcome adults and children. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Ballinwillin House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing