We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More than just a b&b”
Review of Ballinwillin House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ballinwillin House
Ranked #1 of 5 Mitchelstown B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 1, 2012

Booked Ballinwillin as a base for mountain biking and hill walking in the galtees. We got much more than what you'd normally expect from a b&b. The hospitality and service was second to none. Miriam and Pat are enthusiastic hosts and have very interesting stories to tell. We really enjoyed the wine tasting experience with Pat which was followed by a superb dinner cooked by Miriam.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BYRNEPB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (75)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

57 - 63 of 75 reviews

Reviewed August 30, 2011

We visited Ballinwillin partly due to the recommendations on this site.
We were two couples, us with a 15 month old baby.

We got such a warm welcome and all requests were met with a friendly 'can do' attitude.
The rooms were clean and smartly furnished in a contemporary style and it was quiet and resting... perfect for the baby to toddle around too.

We had a lovely tour of the farm and as the sign inside the entrance read 'arrived as strangers and left as friends.'

The food was fantastic too, simple... But what with having put the baby down, really convenient to be able to eat in. Ballinwillin's venison and wine were superb too.

I would have no reservation in recommending BH to other families or couples.

Room Tip: We were downstairs, perhaps the biggest room... all of the rooms are of a good size and decor though...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrew D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2011

Ballinwillin House is a most welcoming and relaxed place to stay. We were travelling to West Cork and this was a very good place to break the trip and very easy to find just off the Motorway. The room was very clean and tidy and had plenty of space.. in the morning-All you would expect of a good Irish breakfast and more. Mitchelstown was a quiet and interesting small town with some interesting walks which can be seen on the tourist boards in the main square.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RevJohnK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2011

This place is a gem! The hosts Patrick and Miriam are full of interesting ,funny stories and its more like staying with family than at a B&B. The room was lovely, we had full reign of the farm and of the house. Its the best few nights sleep i'd had in ages. The wine's are lovely and the breakfast was everything you'd want.
I will most definitely be back!

Room Tip: they have courtyard off the house with 4 more rooms. If you want more privacy stay there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank caspereire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2011

What a gem! My husband and I stayed two nights with Patrick and Miriam, and wished we could have stayed more. The room was large, comfortable, and nicely decorated. The breakfasts are fantastic - almost everything sourced right there on the farm, so fresh. I hear the dinners are even better! Miriam and Patrick are lovely hosts and so interesting to talk to. Hopefully one day we will be back - we have already recommended Ballinwinnin House to ur Irish friends.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank OldTownTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2011

With a lack of places to stay in Mitchelstown, this place was a real find in every way.
Stayed on Easter Saturday, accomodation was very good and the hosts second to no-one.
Excellent breakfast very locally sourced food ( from their own farm) and hosts made sure that you were well looked after showed a real interest in you.
We stayed for 6 nights in Ireland in a different place every night but nothing was as good as Ballinwillin and that included the renowned O'Gormans restaurant with rooms on Dingle Peninsula.
We will return

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DangelaBarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2010

Stayed in Ballinwillin House during our mtb weekend in Ballyhuara (it just 20min drive form Mitchelstown). The hospitality from Patrick & Miriam was just excellent!! We couldn’t ask for more. The room cosy and warm with a the highest quality details that make you feel like you are staying in a 5 star hotel. Breakfast was prepared for the time we wanted and it was just delicious. Pat organizes for us a wine tasting from his own wine yard in Hungary – it was an amazing and brilliant experience. We would definitely highly recommend the place to anyone!!! And we already can’t wait to visit Ballinwillin House again.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Everlast0282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mitchelstown
9.3 mi away
The Grand Hotel Fermoy
11.1 mi away
Kilcoran Lodge Hotel
17.7 mi away
Springfort Hall Country House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.1 mi away
Baileys Hotel Cashel
Baileys Hotel Cashel
#1 of 2 in Cashel
618 reviews
9.1 mi away
Abbeyville House
Abbeyville House
#1 of 8 in Fermoy
129 reviews
10.7 mi away
Ballyhoura Hostel
Ballyhoura Hostel
#1 of 12 in Limerick
363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ballinwillin House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ballinwillin House

Address: Mitchelstown, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Mitchelstown
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Mitchelstown
Price Range: $95 - $107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ballinwillin House provides an unique experience that combines luxurious accommodation, wine and artisan food. The newly-refurbished courtyard is home to exceptional guestrooms and private relaxation area and now available for bookings.Your hosts, Pat and Miriam Mulcahy have created a restful and luxurious offering on the farm, blending modern expectations with the natural beauty of the surroundings. Farm tours are available where safe walking tracks welcome adults and children. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Ballinwillin House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing