We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor service”
Review of Red Lion Inn - CLOSED

Red Lion Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $49
Cuisines: Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Loughborough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Poor service”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

I visited this pub for lunch on Easter bank holiday along with my wife and youngest son after viewing the Olive Branch web site. Its about 25 minutes away from where we live and although the food was good, it was no better than pubs nearer to where we live with less acclaimed credentials

That said we were happy with our meal. The main problem was the chaotic service. Upon arrival we were handed the menus in the bar, given rough directions to our table and left to make our own way there.

We asked for our sons main course to be brought out at the same time as our starters and had to enquire when it was coming as we were finishing our first course.

We asked for more drinks & these took an age to arrive so resorted to going to the bar ourselves for the final round

The time taken for each food course to arrive was too long

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rob030468
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

293 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    149
    82
    32
    22
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dorking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Food”
Reviewed March 31, 2013

This is by far one of the best food pubs we have ever visited. The service, warm open fire, glorious food and cosy ambiance is fantastic. it is a must if you are are visiting the area, but be warned book early and do not drive, the wines are great.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank patricia t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melton Mowbray, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Warm welcome on a cold day”
Reviewed March 30, 2013

On yet another bad weather day we decided we needed somewhere warming to cheer us up; we were not disappointed.

The Red Lion manages to balance "pub" and "restaurant" admirably. We started in the bar on a cosy settee in front of a log fire drinking a fine guest beer. Then moved to our table where we started with their speciality warm bread.

The mushroom risotto was excellent, as were the Lincolnshire sausages - from a named farm. It was simple and beautifully cooked. We had pannetone pudding with an egg custard sauce; light and tasty.

Service was pleasant and efficient.

All in all an great experience.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FredPittwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
59 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Great quality food in a congenial atmosphere.”
Reviewed March 20, 2013

It's a while since we last visited the Red Lion. As we'd arranged to meet six friends there we were slightly apprehensive. Would it live up to our hype?we needn't have worried. The drinks in the bar were unhurried, menus distributed and orders placed. Very relaxed and comfortable. Our table was ready with iced water already there. No need to request which is always a nice touch. The bread arrived warm and delicious. Delicately flavoured with honey and pumpkin seed it is specially made to a Red Lion recipe and is superb! Starters were all judged to be excellent. Mussel risotto full of flavour, a savoury panne cotta with Stilton and walnut was a delightful surprise, the only problem that it was too small a portion! Fish and chips in a beer tempura batter was crisp and light and , according to our American friend,"orgasmic" ! Fortunately she refrained from doing a Meg Ryan! The pork chop was tender and cooked to perfection served with a creamy mashed potato and just enough vegetables. The sausage and mash was served with a rich gravy and met with full approval. Desserts were equally good. The bread and butter pudding served with a marmalade ice cream was excellent. The ice cream with a little sharpness against the richness of the pudding. Cappuccino mousse was considered delicious. All in all a very good experience.
The manager and chef came to the table to see that we'd enjoyed our meal and we found out more about their local suppliers and promised to return!
We spend much of the year in France. If only we could get this quality of food for this sort of money! Do try!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Peroma1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melton Mowbray, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Ladies that like to lunch”
Reviewed March 19, 2013

My dear friend and I do like to get out and about for lunch as often as we can and I can quite safely say we have eaten at most of the establishments in the Rutland and Vale of Belvior area. The greeting at the Red Lion was poor the service was poor but I do have to say the food was rather lovely. My friend and I will not be returning, we would prefer to take our custom to many other places with a warm welcome and friendly service.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lorna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Lion Inn also viewed

Stathern, Leicestershire
 
Branston, Lincolnshire
Langar, Nottinghamshire
 
Clipsham, Rutland
Redmile, Nottinghamshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing