We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the most complete hotel i ever been”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Falkensteiner Hotel & Spa Carinzia
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tropolach
Certificate of Excellence
Brescia, Italy
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“the most complete hotel i ever been”
Reviewed March 20, 2014

this hotel features its own ski rental, it's literally 20 meters away from the express gondola to nassfeld/hermagor ski area.
it's fully serviced, restaurant is great with service and wine selection. the spa is the quintessence of space and relaxation. rooms are very comfortable with great wiew.
garage for your car. all the staff is very pleasent, i will definetly go back there every winter.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank massimo f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manuel F, Leiter Front Office at Falkensteiner Hotel & Spa Carinzia, responded to this review, March 22, 2014
Dear Massimo,

WOW! Thank you very much for that praise! We are always pleased to respond to good feedback, but always specially enjoy to respond to such excellent feedback. We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay and our services and are looking foward to welcome your again

Your Falkensteiner Hotel Carinzia Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

660 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    332
    222
    73
    22
    11
See reviews for
188
319
13
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Any
English first
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Level Contributor
251 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 240 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2014

The hotel is inconspicuously quite big, with enough parking space for its clients, coming by car almost without exception. Location excellent, right at the entry to the Nassfeld lift system. Reception fine and efficient, even though I did not see a number of bellboys I would expect in a ****S hotel. A well desgined and equally well kept wellness part, with a sizeable pool almost entirely outside, heated to the very amicable 30-31 Celsius.

Our room was fine and spacious enough. Not everybody would be enchanted by the transparent glass shower, probably, though one can easily draw a curtain and enjoy privacy. The only negative remark I would have is the extremely spartan array of the small bathroom items. Actually, liquid soap and plastic hair covers were the only items I remember. Faux pas on this level! My additional remark would be a very poor choice in the mini bar.

Breakfast excellent in choice. Dinner – well, unfortunately we just stayed there for approx 24 hours, so we only had one, and it was a buffet style except for the served dessert. Clearly one can thus not evaluate the overall cusine level of the hotel, as quality was camouflaged that particular evening by quantity. Still, the dishes we tried were as correctly prepared as they can be in such circumstances. One comment – the dessert, profiteroles of vanilla and caramel with apricot sauce were one of the best desserts I have ever had, including all the top restaurants. Chapeau! Relatively nice wine selection, relatively bearable markups for a wine country.

My sole major disappointment was the daily bar, a big one opening also on a terrace. Service was definitely sluggish both in approaching the guest and in serving him, the only case I observed in the hotel. Indeed, perhaps one person can not do it all, but I did not sense any speed even while being the only guest seated, and it grew far worse with five tables occupied. As the hotel encourages Trip Advisor commentaries, I would also strongly recommend a more serious approach in their choice of wine. The morning sparkler offered free for breakfast was also the only one I could get by glass during the two days I nourished my injured knee in the bar area. A completely miserable generic off-dry prosecco of the supermarket level. Kindly find at least a palatable mid-range one, I would gladly give you a helping hand with my wine experience… Unrelated to the service, I am not particularly happy to tolerate hoards of bathrobe-clad folks sitting in the bar area. Especially so as hotel guests can enter wellness area directly and entirely unnoticed.

In spite of some criticisms I made, the overall experience was very positive. Probably the best hotel in the Nassfeld skin area, at least for the time being. Note, however, that it is primarily a family hotel with all implications.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ZahtevniGost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manuel F, Leiter Front Office at Falkensteiner Hotel & Spa Carinzia, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear ZahtevniGost!

Thank you very much for this great and very detailed feedback. We especially enjoyed the praise of probably beeing the best hotel in the nassfeld skiing area. Your detailed feedback offers us an excellent overview of the guest experience in our hotel, thus allowing us to fine tune our service level. We are looking foward to welcome you again for a longer period so you have time to do a full test of our kitchen. We hope, that by now you made a full recovery from your knee injury.

Your Falkensteiner Hotel & Spa Carinzia Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
72 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2014

The hotel as it is, I would say great. You cannot find any mistake in the services, rooms are excellent. The location is also pretty good, just a quick walk to the ski lift.
The food I would regard a bit of a misunderstanding of fine dining: the quality is high, the chef is good in making them on a high level, but the portions are very small. The usual solution is offering a menu of 5-7 different meals, or serving less, but a bit bigger portion. Here they serve less, but only a tasting size, which is not good (especially if you ski a lot during the day).
The wellnes are is outstanding, however a bit too small, especially with the pools. Sauna, relaxing is fine.
The biggest negative is probably the pricing which is very high in all means, but that is a 'personal feeling' category. I also felt the receptionist a little bit amateur compared to the rest.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laszlo J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manuel F, Front Office Manager at Falkensteiner Hotel & Spa Carinzia, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Dear Laszlo,
thank you very much for praising our service and our food. As we are sure you know we offer a 5 course menu with a selection of salads and cheese or buffet once a week. With our food we aim to exceed our client expectations. Let me use your feedback as opportunities to urge all our guests to contact our service team if you want to have an extra portion or regarding other wishes. Our kitchen team will be happy to comply.
We hope to be able to welcome you again at our hotel and then deliver an even better experience.
Your Falkensteiner Hotel Carinzia Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasschaat, Belgium
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2013

This Falkensteiner Carinzia Hotel was absolutely fantastic ! We had a great stay here. We
would definately recommend this hotel to anyone going to Karinthië(Kärnten). Friendly hotel
staff, greats rooms, great breakfast and diner. For us it was a 10/10 ! Alain and Cindy Brasschaat Belgium

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ALAIN V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manuel F, Leiter Front Office at Falkensteiner Hotel & Spa Carinzia, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear Alain V,

thank you very much for your kind feedback. We appreciate your recommendation and are glad to read, that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We sincerely hope to be able to welcome you again in the future.

Kind regards

Your Falkensteiner Hotel Carinzia Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Level Contributor
106 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We stayed there for just 3 nights and enjoyed ourselves a lot. Rooms are big and comfortable, cuisine is excellent. One of the key features is a great spa, featuring many saunas, treatments, an indoor and outdoor pool plus more. A cozy bar, a billiard room, as well as many recreation opportunities makes this both a relaxing wellness or an active sports holiday destination.
There's a golf course nearby, a skilift within walking distance etc.

Room Tip: Ask for a room looking at the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aaron M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manuel F, Front Office Manager at Falkensteiner Hotel & Spa Carinzia, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
Dear aaronmarko,

thank you very much for your feedback. We are very glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We are looking forward to welcome you with us again.

Kind regards
Your Falkensteiner Hotel Carinzia Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salzburg, Austria
Level Contributor
325 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

what a place, ideal to take some time out. the friendly staff will really try to spoil you from the time you check in until you sadly have to leave. Food, what a great experiance. The quality is superior followed by fantastic presentation and excellent taste. We will definately go back there again.

Room Tip: Try to bet a room not facing the parking area. It can get a little noisy with people walking through...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hermann b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgrade
Level Contributor
164 reviews
142 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 239 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2013

Stayed there for 7 days and have really nothing to complain about. Everything was good, the food, the comfortable rooms, beds, pillows, spa was excellent, everything felt fresh and clean, the ski lift is 100m away, friendly staff etc etc.
The only thing I can complain about was the music from the bar/restaurant nearby which played very loudly every morning starting at 8am and in the night finishing around midnight so it was hard to get some quality sleep, but it doesn't belong to the hotel so they cannot do anything about it. Maybe if there are rooms which do not have the mountain view then those would be more quiet I would assume.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moncic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tropolach
3.3 mi away
Falkensteiner Hotel Sonnenalpe
Falkensteiner Hotel Sonnenalpe
#1 of 1 in Sonnenalpe Nassfeld
293 reviews
7.6 mi away
Alpen Adria Hotel & Spa
Alpen Adria Hotel & Spa
#5 of 13 in Hermagor
152 reviews
7.3 mi away
Weissenseerhof Hotels
Weissenseerhof Hotels
#2 of 14 in Weissensee
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.6 mi away
Thermenhotel Bleibergerhof
Thermenhotel Bleibergerhof
#2 of 2 in Bad Bleiberg
75 reviews
2.2 mi away
Robinson Club Schlanitzen Alm
19.1 mi away
See-Villa Hotel
See-Villa Hotel
#1 of 15 in Millstatt
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Falkensteiner Hotel & Spa Carinzia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Falkensteiner Hotel & Spa Carinzia

Property: Falkensteiner Hotel & Spa Carinzia
Address: Troepolach 156, Tropolach, Hermagor 9631, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Carinthia > Hermagor > Tropolach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tropolach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Falkensteiner Hotel & Spa Carinzia 4.5*
Number of rooms: 160
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Falkensteiner Hotel & Spa Carinzia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Falkensteiner Hotel And Spa Carinzia
Falkensteiner Hotel Carinzia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing