We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
Travelocity
Agoda.com
$14
View deal
Orbitz.com
Hotels.com$26
ZenHotels.com
View all 14 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (130)
Filter reviews
130 results
Traveler rating
32
48
27
15
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
32
48
27
15
8
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
60 - 65 of 130 reviews
Reviewed December 7, 2011

We booked this hotel based upon trip advisor reviews, and the most recent couple have been right for the most part - the hotel is in serious need of renovation.

I'll start with a couple of plus points: the staff upgraded us on arrival to a nice big room and the pool is nice.

Now for the negatives... firstly I found that the wifi is mis-advertised. I booked via Agoda and everywhere in the description (like 3 or 4 times!) mentions wifi and internet connection, it also mentions such things on the hotel website itself. However upon arrival we discover that the wifi only works in the reception or restaurant.

Secondly, there are bugs everywhere! Thankfully none on the bed in our room, but there were lots of trails in the walls of the bathroom. We came back to the room once to find a trail of ants moving a dead fly into their hole in the wall, it was entertaining to watch for a few minutes but then quite disgusting. Outside of the room all over the grounds ants were everywhere! Around the pool there was not an inch of space on the floor that wasn't crawling with ants. A true sign of how run down this place is. As mentioned previously, even though they were not ALL over our room, you could tell that one dead insect would have the ants coming to claim it within minutes. Even though you couldn't see them the ants clearly ran the room!

Thirdly, breakfast is a disappointment. I could not see anything I wanted to eat, I'm not a fussy eater, toast and coffee will do me just fine. But when I could not identify any of the food on offer, either because it was an unknown nationality or because it was cooked so badly, that isn't great. Also all the food for breakfast was uncovered and flies were all over it.

Fourth on the list is the shuttle bus. Yes there was a shuttle bus that will take you into town (again advertised online) and we asked about it upon check in to which they confirmed. However when we came out of our room 30 minutes later to get the bus, they then pointed us to the timetable... only 4 buses run per day. It's not a big deal, the taxi to town is very cheap, however I don't understand why they couldn't have told us that when we asked!

Fifth, the little private beach attached to the hotel is not one you would sunbathe on. There is unappealing black sand and harsh waves. The whole thing is unappealing since there is only a small area with sand and a guy sitting there wanting to sell you stuff. Didn't really inspire me to lie there in my bikini.

Sixth, we needed to make a call to our next destination (Gili Trawangan) so we asked the hotel to help us use their phone (since the one in our room didn't seem to work.) They charged us for the call and it ended up being more expensive than making the call from our uk mobile phones.

All in all I think this hotel may have been nice one, but for the price bracket it is in and how it markets itself it was definitely disappointing. We cut our trip to Senggigi short and left after 2 nights for Gili Trawangan. I suggest fellow travellers do the same, or visit one of the nicer beach areas in south Lombok like Kuta.

Date of stay: September 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank 111_Ash
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marketing288, Public Relations Manager at Puri Saron Senggigi Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2019

Dear 111_Ash,
Thank you for your comments,I appologize for the problems that you encounterted during your last stay.This is not the type of review that we like to see and I assure you that I will be looking into each point that you have made.If it is convenient,I would like to discuss your experience further so that I might learn more about how to Improve our property and service for you and our other guests.Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to another chance to serve you.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2011

Although the staff is quite nice, like almost everywhere in that region, the hotel seems to be a bit outdated in its accommodations and the general maintenance could be improved since the prices compete even to hotels belonging to international chains.
The lobby and the entrance look quite great but do not expect the same style in your bedroom otherwise you will be disappointed like I was.
The room are big in size (and have aircon, tv and fridge) but deserves a three star hotel rating (old furniture etc). The restaurant serves very basic food too. As a conclusion, I would not recommend to stay there but feel pity for the staff that are all very nice.
I did not try the spa and was just trying to move out asap.
In general Senggigi does not seem to be the right place to go since it is overcrowded and seems today to face a consolidation phase due to an overwhelming tourism.
I was told that the South of Lombok is a better destination for the ones still looking for a genuine island atmosphere. Alternatives are the Gilis. Definitely not Senggigi.

Date of stay: July 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LuneLune
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marketing288, Public Relations Manager at Puri Saron Senggigi Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2019

Dear LuneLUne,
Thank you for taking the time to review pur property,your comments are very much valued.We appreciate your comments regarding our customer service and ongoing upgrades.Our staff are trained to provide only the best in customer service and we are pleased that you found value and hospitality during you stay,our commitment to investing in our property will continue with renovations to all areas. We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Puri Saron hotel Senggigi.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2011

Had villa / room overlooking pool. Hotel is great. Clean, well positioned, good / friendly staff, good food, cold drinks. Great pool.
Highly recommended! Should have booked through agoda rather than direct as it would have been a little cheaper , but no big deal. Walking distance to great restaurants . It was our second stay and certainly would go back.

Date of stay: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Coroona
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marketing288, Public Relations Manager at Puri Saron Senggigi Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2019

Dear Coroona,
Thank you for taking the time to review pur property,your comments are very much valued.We appreciate your comments regarding our customer service and ongoing upgrades.Our staff are trained to provide only the best in customer service and we are pleased that you found value and hospitality during you stay,our commitment to investing in our property will continue with renovations to all areas. We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Puri Saron hotel Senggigi.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2011

This breach front otel is situated well outside the town of Sengigi, which is inconvenient.
But if offers a one-way shuttle service to the town. Some restaurants there are willing to pick you up and return you to the hotel free of charge.
We stayed in a fairly large room on the upper floor, which looked out on dumpsite. Unfortunately, there was no balcony. The bathroom was very basic.
When we arrived the air conditioning had not been switched on. It took hours before the room was reasonably cool.
The beach was filthy and uninviting.

Room tip: Talk to the reception staff
Date of stay: May 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank VanRiebeeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marketing288, Public Relations Manager at Puri Saron Senggigi Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2019

Dear VanRiebeeck,
Thank you for taking the time to review pur property,your comments are very much valued.We appreciate your comments regarding our customer service and ongoing upgrades.Our staff are trained to provide only the best in customer service and we are pleased that you found value and hospitality during you stay,our commitment to investing in our property will continue with renovations to all areas. We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Puri Saron hotel Senggigi.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2011

I concur with every favorable comment regarding this property--especially as far as cleanliness, picturesque setting, and value for money are concerned. Reception was cordial; staff were friendly; grounds and accommodations could only be described as immaculate. Actually, the gardening is spectacular--in a lush, varied, and understated way.

As previously pointed out, rooms are dated but well maintained. Opened one year before the Asian financial meltdown in 1997, the Puri Saron was clearly intended for bigger things. Now most rooms above the ground floor are closed, and no money appears to have been invested in this property during the past decade. Like the rest of Lombok's tourist industry, the Puri Saron has suffered--the result of hard economic times, a pogrom that either wiped out or expelled the Indonesian Chinese, and intermittently poor airline service via Bali's Denpasar airport. As a result, hotel accommodations in Lombok remain a bargain, especially in comparison with Bali's ever-escalating room rates. Agoda offers the best deals and surest confirmations. My (superior) room at the Puri Saron was US$33, including tax, service, and breakfast. Food was just okay; there are better restaurants in town (Asmara, Da Quake, to name a couple). No shuttle service from the hotel to Senggigi, but Rp.10,000 taxis and motorbikes abound.

The only sour note: To Puri Saron's great dismay, an open-air karaoke has opened across the street. That racket continues until very late at night. In your room with doors and windows closed and a/c running, you can hardly hear the noise. But outside, there is much, unfortunate disturbance of the peace...

Date of stay: April 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MGBIndonesia
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marketing288, Public Relations Manager at Puri Saron Senggigi Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2019

Dear MGBIndonesia,
Thank you for taking the time to review pur property,your comments are very much valued.We appreciate your comments regarding our customer service and ongoing upgrades.Our staff are trained to provide only the best in customer service and we are pleased that you found value and hospitality during you stay,our commitment to investing in our property will continue with renovations to all areas. We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Puri Saron hotel Senggigi.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews