We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pretty average” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Santosa Villas & Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Santosa Villas & Resort
Ranked #22 of 30 Hotels in Senggigi
Trento, Italy
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Pretty average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

At the time we visited we seemed to be the only western tourists. While the gardens and decorations are very nice, rooms and breakfast were just average. Didn't try the overpriced spa services. Staff completely forgot to provide the breakfast in a box for our early checkout, which was quite irritating. An otherwise totally average experience.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sbrombo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

433 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    135
    133
    64
    28
See reviews for
95
139
19
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Lombardia, Italy
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at The Santosa during our 4 day visit to Senggigi. The overall experience was positive but there are some remarks to be done.

The location is really convenient if you arrive by fastboat from Bali, as the pool entrance is literally on the beach by the boat arrivals. The main entrance is on Senggigi’s main street, where all restaurants, bars, tour operators, supermarkets and shops are located.

The common areas of the hotel are really nice: the large pool comprises an in-pool bar and several children facilities (volleyball net, floating rings), the bars and restaurants are nice and comfortable.

Buffet breakfast is good and abundant, with Continental and Asian options. Breakfast boxes are also available if you leave early in the morning for excursions.
The staff is well trained and kind, and they are pretty fast in responding to requests and queries.


The hotel is quite old; while common areas have been refurbished, rooms have been clearly left behind.

We booked a Superior room and were unpleasantly surprised as we were taken to the big old concrete building where these rooms are located.
The room interior was also disappointing: wooden floors were damaged, the furniture was old, no carpets or bedspreads. The bathroom was really old and shabby. Only two towels were provided and on the second day bath supplies (shampoo, handsoap, etc) were not replaced. In no way the pictures reflect the real conditions of the room, which was more suitable to a backpacker accommodation than to a 4-star resort.

Eventually we complained about the room and got upgraded to a Deluxe room. That was still old, but definitely better than the standard one. The building was nicer, the room was in better conditions and the bathroom was newer and much better.
If you stay at the Santosa, I would definitely recommend to choose a Deluxe room.

Avoid the SPA: it’s located in a very old and dreary area of the hotel, the towels and linens look really old and used, the rooms are dark and untidy. The massage itself was not bad, but the overall experience was not pampering or relaxing.

Last but not least, WiFi is really bad: the reach is poor in the rooms and connection keeps falling all over the resort.

While travelling around Lombok, we saw many traditional Lombok-style accommodations (with charming bungalows in the nature) as well as newly-built luxury resorts and boutique hotels. If you are willing to give up walking distance from Senggigi’s main street, I think there are better options a bit further from the most commercial area.

Room Tip: Avoid Superior rooms as they are old and shabby. Go fod Deluxe rooms or suites instead.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Giovanna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, UK
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

3 adults in 2 rooms in the main block, staying for 3 nights. The resort was great - lovely pool area and fantastic breakfast buffet included in the room rate. But the rooms were tired and in need of some tlc. Missing drawer knobs in both rooms - why weren't they replaced? No hotel info guide available (in the room or at reception) so had to find out about things ourselves, but friendly staff were very helpful. But overall good value for money and the resort area compensated. Senggigi itself was small and quite quiet buct the hotel location was good - right on the beach and close to a variety of decent restaurants

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bethepa2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

Hotel is nice , i assume it is one of the most luxurious one in the area
Nothing to say, very nice place
Just Sorry for the beach in the front of the hotel
Very very dirty and the small port is just few meters away

The pool area is great and service too

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Letizia35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

The very friendly staff at this hotel upgraded us to a luxury room. The bathroom is especially nice with a large open shower. The hotel pool with bar is huge and has a lot of amenities. The food in the seaside bar is good but a bit pricier than in smaller hotels.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank frasseg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

We stay there for 1 night, twi rooms, and I'll give my experience in pointers:
-rooms were dusty.
-eventhough we booked 2 months before and asked for connecting rooms, they couldnt accomodate it
-one of our rooms have problem with the door's lock. Its jammed. We were locked outside for hours. No quick response from the hotel. No Apologize at all.
-reservation for dinner was useless. They didnt prepare for us having dinner there. And the food were overpriced. And No high chair for babies..!
-They used to have a clean and beautiful beach, but now the beach was dirty. Too bad..!
-check out time was slow and boring, because, ONCE AGAIN, one of the room's lock was jammed and couldn't be opened..!!
-The only good thing was we only booked for one night there.
Stay there? No more, Please..!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ironsubekti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Senggigi hotels

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

not recommended this hotel for a family vacation .. room is still the old model,, the bed creaking,, requested extra beds are expensive half of the price of the rooms, bathrooms are always dirty and smell bad .. Foreign guests do not know the etiquette,, making out in public when many children are seen .. employees are not friendly,, play the price for foreign guests ..

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jebirin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Senggigi hotels
0.2 mi away
Kila Senggigi Beach Lombok
Kila Senggigi Beach Lombok
#11 of 30 in Senggigi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 754 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kebun Villas & Resort
Kebun Villas & Resort
#10 of 30 in Senggigi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 766 reviews
1.3 mi away
Holiday Resort Lombok
Holiday Resort Lombok
#6 of 7 in Mangsit
4.0 of 5 bubbles 657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Puri Mas Boutique Resort & Spa
0.4 mi away
Aruna Senggigi
Aruna Senggigi
#20 of 30 in Senggigi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pool Villa Club Senggigi Beach Lombok
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Santosa Villas & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Santosa Villas & Resort

Property: The Santosa Villas & Resort
Address: Jl. Raya Senggigi Km 8, Senggigi, Lombok 83125, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > West Nusa Tenggara > Lombok > Senggigi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Senggigi
#19 Spa Hotel in Senggigi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Santosa Villas & Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Senggigi, The Santosa Villas & Resort offers a range of accommodation styles from hotel to private pool villas with all amenities. The free form lagoon size pool, right on the beach, is the focal point of the resort to relax and enjoy the sun setting over Bali from the Sunset bar. Other facilities include bars, restaurants, 24 hour room service, tennis, kids club and conference center. Your home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, HotelsClick, Hotel.de, HRS and Despegar.com so you can book your The Santosa Villas & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Santosa Villas Hotel Senggigi
The Santosa Villas And Resort
The Santosa Hotel
Santosa Hotel Mataram
The Santosa Villas & Resort Lombok/Senggigi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing