We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rooms are not well maintained” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Santosa Villas & Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Santosa Villas & Resort
Ranked #22 of 30 Hotels in Senggigi
Singapore
Level Contributor
27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Rooms are not well maintained”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013 via mobile

the villas look nice from the outside but I stayed in the cheapest room so tts what my review is about.
The room looked old and was not well maintained. There was a cobweb under the desk, flush was dripping brown water on the toilet floor, powerpoint at the desk was faulty, shampoo and soap were not replenished.

Breakfast was nothing to rave about.lunch and dinner were all right.

The location is very good though. Its near the subset point, and just outside is the restaurant Square which is highly rated on tripadvisor. Convenience store also beside the hotel entrance.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fortheloveoftravel2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

432 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    135
    133
    63
    28
See reviews for
95
139
19
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Roskilde, Denmark
Level Contributor
191 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

The beautiful green gardens and attractive main buildings and bar area, as well as the wonderful location right next to the beach, are amongst the best features of this large hotel. The staff seemed friendly. An excellent breakfast spread was served in an open air dining room with views of palms around the swimming pool, but unfortunately muzak disrupted the peaceful pleasure of the early morning. The older wing of the hotel where my superior room was located also needed a re-fit and update; some of the furniture in my room was very worn out and a picture on the wall and/or new coat of paint wouldn't come amiss. However, it was great to gaze past the palms towards Bali from the balcony of the room. All in all, minor gripes aside, I would recommended this hotel as a good place to relax; the meeting faciltiies were good too.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Watchb4go.com

Helpful?
Thank lenemike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

This is a wonderful little resort on a slightly primative island. The beaches, however, are so dirty we would not go on to them. We found this to be the case on all the beaches on Lombok. The resort is well maintained with pleasant service and a nice pool area.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ServinStephane, General Manager at The Santosa Villas & Resort, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear Joan,
It was a pleasure to have you at the Santosa, and it is true that we had some issue on the beach in the past, but at last after almost 10 years of arguing with local government, 4 days ago, general cleaning and restoration of the beach to a proper experience to our guests has started, and I do hope you find time to revisit us in the future. A lot of beaches are stunning in Lombok and I fear you went to the wrong one. We will ask our staff to escort you next time to some of the best beach in Asia as they are on our island.
See you soon again in our little paradise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

This resort is worth to stay while you're in Lombok.Since most of our reason to go to lombok is to find peacefulness, it is actually what you will find in Santosa.It serves a good quality,a good place to stay,with a good access to Senggigi beach,and amazing view.Santosa is a place which i say,you could find your silver lining here.It is a place which will remain in your heart forever.Rare gems,you could even hear chirping birds.And best thing is,it's not crowded, far from town or car pollution.In the night, you could hear sound of waves,and crickets.You will expect a very quiet evening,but not a lonely one.It's one amazing experience.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank motohills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

The resort has excellent view of the sunset with Bali as the backdrop. The service is good, just that not all staff are well equipped with English but they are still very helpful and would get other english speaking staff to assist. The compound of the resort is very big n beautiful. Would be better if the swimming pool is cleaned from all leaves from the surrounding trees.

The resort is quite convenient too with convenient stores, restuarants and massage places just out the front gate.

Will look to stay there again.

Just to note that the sand at Sengigi Beach is black sand. Thus, if u are looking for white sand beach in Lombok, try Kuta side.

Room Tip: stayed at the ground floor of the deluxe room and we had an unexpected visitor , Mr Toad, visiting u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Neoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ServinStephane, General Manager at The Santosa Villas & Resort, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear Neoll,
Thank you fo you r review and comments, we do try to provide as often as possible some english training for our staff and hope that communication with all our guests can be efficient and polite at all time. With the rain in our gardens of 7 hectars we have a lot of frogs, and from time to time they can find their way to the terrace of the rooms and in rare cases in a room, lezards are often on walls eating mosquitoes, Lombok is a less developped and built destination offering a more Nature experience, so yes we do have little cute animals leaving on our land and they present no dangers, just a unusual accounter from time to time. We are just glade you enjoy your stay and do hope you will visit our wondeful island in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

negative: very badly maintained rooms, shabby furniture, no wifi, leakages in bathroom, poor a/c, no hotel info in rooms, block of standard rooms next to the side road quite noisy
positive: good bedding, nice garden, swift service
generally, no idea how the villa's are, but standard rooms are absolutely not worth. could not really see what was it that is "recently renovated" as claimed.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Natasa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ServinStephane, General Manager at The Santosa Villas & Resort, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Thank you for your review and comment, and sorry you did not find our rooms to your liking, we have looked into your comments and tried to find your booking without success, I would be gratefull if you could get back to me with the room number and dates of your stay as we could not find any booking with your name info. Hope to hear from you soon so we can check th room you used and get back to you.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Senggigi hotels

Klang, Malaysia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

the hotel environiment is nice and relax. good location. easy find food. but not shopping complex.

the room ok, clean and big but there need to do is clean up and renovation cos i see the lizards claims over the wall and also ant. the buidling and the room need to paint will look more newly.

buffet breakfast, a bit boring cos almost the same menu. Change everyday different menu. if stay long will get bored.

staff at santosa villas are friends, but their english not so well. And also their tourist information not well known. when i ask them. They should know everything.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janetszeyi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Santosa, General Manager at The Santosa Villas & Resort, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Thank you very much for your inputs and comments on our property and we will pass them on to our staff to improve. We are setting up a new Breakfast system by next week with a traditional food station with new dishes everyday that will make the experience lot more interesting.
We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again soon so you can witness yourselves the changes and improvements.
Thankyou again for your contribution and see you again soon in Lombok
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Senggigi hotels
0.2 mi away
Kila Senggigi Beach Lombok
Kila Senggigi Beach Lombok
#11 of 30 in Senggigi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 753 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kebun Villas & Resort
Kebun Villas & Resort
#10 of 30 in Senggigi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 765 reviews
1.3 mi away
Puri Mas Boutique Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Holiday Resort Lombok
Holiday Resort Lombok
#6 of 7 in Mangsit
4.0 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pool Villa Club Senggigi Beach Lombok
0.4 mi away
Aruna Senggigi
Aruna Senggigi
#20 of 30 in Senggigi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Santosa Villas & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Santosa Villas & Resort

Property: The Santosa Villas & Resort
Address: Jl. Raya Senggigi Km 8, Senggigi, Lombok 83125, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > West Nusa Tenggara > Lombok > Senggigi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Senggigi
#19 Spa Hotel in Senggigi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Santosa Villas & Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Senggigi, The Santosa Villas & Resort offers a range of accommodation styles from hotel to private pool villas with all amenities. The free form lagoon size pool, right on the beach, is the focal point of the resort to relax and enjoy the sun setting over Bali from the Sunset bar. Other facilities include bars, restaurants, 24 hour room service, tennis, kids club and conference center. Your home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your The Santosa Villas & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Santosa Villas Hotel Senggigi
The Santosa Villas And Resort
The Santosa Hotel
Santosa Hotel Mataram
The Santosa Villas & Resort Lombok/Senggigi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing