We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Old hotel, clean room! Great POOL!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Santosa Villas & Resort
Ranked #21 of 30 Hotels in Senggigi
Makassar, Indonesia
Level Contributor
86 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Old hotel, clean room! Great POOL!!!”
Reviewed August 14, 2012

First thing, the hotel staff are very nice and smiley. The room service men are helpful and totally wants the guest feel homey. The furniture, as the hotel looks old, are quiet vintage and smell old but the wodden floor feels clean and smooth. We stay in what they mark as terrace room which have a balcony facing the garden. The pool is huge and fantastic, the kids love it, so do I as it face tru the beach, altough you can not see the beach directly from the pool. The bathroom also old but clean, the ceiling look older than the bedroom. The bathtub very standard but as long as all clean and the hot water running smooth, it's OK for us. We enjoy our stay, especially because the great pool. Probably will come back to stay at the suite room.

Room Tip: Pool view maybe more interesting, terrace room are so average.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Desiree R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Santosa, General Manager at The Santosa Villas & Resort, responded to this review, August 16, 2012
Thank you for your comments and we do proceed at this time in the upgrade and renovation of most of the rooms in the main building, not in construction but in massive clean up so that your next stay will be more enjoyable. Rest assured that I will pass on to our staff your input as to better serve all our guest, we do hope to see you again in Lombok and at the Santosa.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

440 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    138
    135
    65
    28
See reviews for
97
140
19
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 9, 2012 via mobile

Ok enough stay, $70/night through Agoda. Rooms are sort of bare bones. Very spotty wifi, only available in lobby. Had to ask many times just to get the correct login info. Wouldn't it be easy to just hand a copy to guests?

Our real problems began after we left. My fiancé had forgot an expensive pair of glasses in the room. After emailing the hotel three times with no response, we finally got through on a Skype connection and received terrible customer service. It seemed to be all about how we could help them, not how they could help us. Easily could have been delivered to the our next hotel in the Gili's, but now we are waiting in Kuta for the glasses. Fingers crossed they arrive before we leave the country. They hopefully will finally be shipped, four days after our first email. Stressful way to end our trip. Thanks a lot Santosa staff.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Johaan_CA_USA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Santosa, General Manager at The Santosa Villas & Resort, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
Thank you for our review and comments, and I do believe you have received your forgotten glasses by now, It is correct that internet was troublesome while you stayed with us as telkom was doing some maintenance on the fiber optic cable, That also explained why calling with skype was not the best way to communicate. I was at the front office when you called and the line was so bad that we could not understand a word, but despite all this we emailed twice the Warung Cho Cho ( without answer) where you stayed and called them to make sure they were aware that your glasses had been already sent by express courier to your Bali stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Senggigi hotels

Bandung, Indonesia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2012

Visited this resort in December 2011. It is very well located at the center of Senggigi. The beach was okay, better go to one of the Gilis for much better beach activities. But if you aim for swimming, the pool is great especially for kids.
The breakfast was delicious and the choices were abundant.
We stayed in a standard room which was clean. It has a verandah where you could sit and enjoy the greenery. The bathroom is quite small.
The service was okay, but it took them years to get me a hairdryer.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dharwiyanti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Santosa, General Manager at The Santosa Villas & Resort, responded to this review, July 27, 2012
On behalf of the management we would like to thank you for your comments and to make sure your next stay with us is better, be advised that we have started to put hairdryer in all rooms, it was long overdue.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2012

The Santosa occupies a huge piece of land along Senggigi beach.
The area is planted with vast trees and smaller plants which made the environment very refreshing and relaxing.
I believe the plants did their work to make the air fresh and the environment cooling.


I was delighted with the welcoming feel of the lobby, which has simple set up but comfortable feel.
The staff is efficient in the check-in process. The bar: Gili Bar served great cocktails and I especially like their Sambuka. The torch at the entrance adds the tribal feel unto the bar.

The room is however, badly maintained.
First of all, the door at the verandah could not close properly.
Secondly, the tap seems not in perfect condition (leaking when change to shower) and last and worst, there is cokroach in my bathroom!!!
This was really terrible and the staff did not feel sorry about that. When I reported them this situation, their only reply was: Okay, I will send housekeeping to check.

I hope the management could do something on the room maintenance so that Santosa will have a perfect environment for holiday.Otherwise, the trees, the plants and the huge green and fresh compound would be put to waste.

Room Tip: You may want to choose the private villa...The hotel block is just poorly maintained.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank stevechai07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Santosa, General Manager at The Santosa Villas & Resort, responded to this review, July 19, 2012
Dear Steve,
Thank you very much for your inputs and be certain that we will look into our staff response to guests issue so that they relize the urgency of the metters when it comes to your confort.
I do agree that the rooms are old and we are working on renovation and upgrade for most of the rooms in ouir main block and I do agree with your comment that Suites and Villas are better as they were part of our 2008 renovation. Please do accept my apologies for an average experience, and I do hope that you will visit us again so that you can fully experience our island
Thank you again for your infput as it is highly appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Level Contributor
270 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

my friend invited me here for dinner. i order jumbo prawn was very delicious but selfish very hard. i suggest chef on this restaurant must cutting that food before serve. if you like europe food just try here

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amazinggirls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kawasaki, Japan
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2012

I have visitied this hotel as a part of our trip to Lombok, but was very disappointed in the very beginning to see the room. The standard room which was booked by our agent was a very small damp, dark and dirty room and was not even close to a room of 2 star category. Additionally the bathroom was small with no facilities like hairdryer or handtowels, also the linen and bathroom towels were old, torned, faded and spotty. New morning whole bathroom was filled with lakhs of small flying creatures which created a hell havoc. The only good thing was swimming pool and restaurants which gave it a standard look of decent resort. I would not suggest anyone to use a standard room in this hotel unless they wish to ruin their mood and trip.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank VandanaTomodachi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2012

We spend 4 days and 3 nights at this resort on the 21st-24th June,

//Airport-Resort
Took quite a while to go to the resort from the airport, but you can just pay IDR 200.000 pay the cab driver than using a travel agent you save IDR 50.000. We got really hungry when we reach Lombok, so we stop by first to RM Bengkel at Mataram (cheap,welcoming,tasty food) then stop by at Lombok Pearl shop, It's along the way to go the Resort. Then, just get some food supplies for snacking at the Hotel.

It took us 1,5 hour to get to the hotel, just because it's a new airport. If it's the old airport, it's really near the Resort - approx. 20min.

//Resort (central Senggigi)
We stayed at the Deluxe Terrace It's really nice hotel, and The pool size is just amazing, you can also walk around the beach and get some young coconut just near the beach when you walk to your left. Then if you go from the beach to your right side there's a place to shop it's an Art market, and heaps of food outside the resort, 24hour Indomaret and ATM branches

Tips :
Instead you walk all the way outside to get some food, Just access it through the beach.

We went to Gili Trawangan and Gili Meno as well, the coolest thing ever is that we went there using a traditional boat to get there and we took it just from behind the hotel which is from the beach where we stayed, we don't need to travel all the way to the "Pelabuhan Lombok"
we took the boat just FROM THE HOTEL :D

//Travel and Tour
We got all the help from the Travel agent to organize all of it,
They help us pick the best resort to stay at, and our trips
We just said that we want to go to Gili and then other places for some souvenirs,
the travel agent is super helpful and friendly, and the tour guide is just really nice,
and dedicated to his work. And made us fall in love with Lombok, and certainly will come back really soon.

To help you guys organize your travel, this guys helps me A LOT!
CATUR LTA travel
Wayan - 0819 1744 8808

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PieOfTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Senggigi hotels
1.1 mi away
Kebun Villas & Resort
Kebun Villas & Resort
#13 of 30 in Senggigi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 779 reviews
1.6 mi away
Kila Senggigi Beach Lombok
Kila Senggigi Beach Lombok
#10 of 30 in Senggigi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 788 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Resort Lombok
Holiday Resort Lombok
#7 of 7 in Mangsit
4.0 of 5 bubbles 704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Puri Mas Boutique Resort & Spa
1.8 mi away
Aruna Senggigi
Aruna Senggigi
#18 of 30 in Senggigi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
4.1 mi away
The Jayakarta Lombok, Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Santosa Villas & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Santosa Villas & Resort

Property: The Santosa Villas & Resort
Address: Jl. Raya Senggigi Km 8, Senggigi, Lombok 83125, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > West Nusa Tenggara > Lombok > Senggigi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Senggigi
#18 Spa Hotel in Senggigi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Santosa Villas & Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Senggigi, The Santosa Villas & Resort offers a range of accommodation styles from hotel to private pool villas with all amenities. The free form lagoon size pool, right on the beach, is the focal point of the resort to relax and enjoy the sun setting over Bali from the Sunset bar. Other facilities include bars, restaurants, 24 hour room service, tennis, kids club and conference center. Your home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Booking.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your The Santosa Villas & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Santosa Villas Hotel Senggigi
The Santosa Villas And Resort
The Santosa Hotel
Santosa Hotel Mataram
The Santosa Villas & Resort Lombok/Senggigi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing