We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dont expect to much” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Warung Paradiso

Warung Paradiso
Ranked #2 of 72 Restaurants in Senggigi
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $5
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Dining on a budget, Scenic view, Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Brunch, Cash Only, Free Off-Street Parking, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: On the beach.
Australia
Level Contributor
189 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 239 helpful votes
“Dont expect to much”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2013

I would have to start my review by saying the service was poor on our occasion of visiting Warung Paradiso, after reading reviews on TA we decided to try the #1 ranked in Senggigi and was astounded as to why or how it gets its ranking. Price is not the be all and end all.
I had three goes at ordering something from the menu, the first two were not available.
My third choice was good old Nasi Gorang, yep thats right #1 has Nasi Gorang to compare with other restaurants in Senggigi. I would say if its your last day/night in Indonesia and you want to use up the last of your Rupiah then come to Paradiso after all you can say you got sand between your toes and ate on the beach.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank HeatherAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lombok-Lush, Public Relations Manager at Warung Paradiso, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Firstly thankyou for staying at Qunci Villas, in my opinion one of the finest resorts in Mangsit Lombok. Such a fine venue and I am sure they would love to claim exclusive rights to the panoramic views at sunset, however everyone here has the same vista. You stated we didn't have your choice off the menu. That I am glad suprisingly because if we dont have the freshest of ingredients it will not be served. We are a small family local Warung with high standards for local cuisine. At least you ventured to our shoreline,sometimes we cannot perform to a 5 star resort and we dont want to. If this doesnt suit your tastes continue to stay in the luxury that you seem to be accustomed to on a 3rd world Island. Thank you for your comment. See you next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

664 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    342
    209
    79
    23
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York, NY
Level Contributor
107 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Simple and fresh good alternative if staying at Qunci Villas”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2013

Seems to be a family-run place. (Not sure what the "Australian owner" in other Tripadvisor reviews is referring to.) But they cook up a storm in their small kitchen. Pretty much fish or squid is the thing. They will bring the fish over to your table to show you when you order. A fraction of the price 1/4 or 1/5 what you'd pay at the fancy hotel restaurants nearby. This became our go-to place. Very close to Qunci Villas and Puri Mas.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank mikebern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“pleasant surprise.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

usually im the type to judge a book by its cover. but this little place was priceless. On the beach, a little place set up for the locals by some aussie ex pat. champion of a bloke by the way whom we met. without any snobry this place stays true to its safari roots. very humble. staff friendly and smiling. First night there we ate like horses, i think it came to around 11$ each with drinks.
food was fresh and full of great spices and flavours... second night there the beach setting was just as beautiful. one of the squids was a little over done. but all in all a great seafood experience.
just dont judge the place by the drive in.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank alabamashuffle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“POP OFF the beaten track, best seafood, honest price, homely environment.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

great spot on the sand a few meters from the water, basic asian flavour, fresh fish and seafood. Pure and simple.
Owner is very friendly and looks after his staff and customers.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrew654321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Rustic & Rewarding”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013

We stumbled on Paradiso as it wasn't far from where we stayed. On arrival it is very unassuming, but we were very impressed. We had a lovely fresh fish dish & beef Satay & a couple of soft drinks & it came to under $10AUD. The service was very good, unfortunately we only had the chance to eat here once but would return without hesitation.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Col_Val
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Warung Paradiso also viewed

 

Been to Warung Paradiso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing