We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Good café in a busy location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Papa Besar Cafe

Papa Besar Cafe
Ranked #7 of 68 Restaurants in Senggigi
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $8
Cuisines: Asian, Indonesian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Drinks, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Delivery, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Comfortable air conditioned dining inside or outside under a flowered Trellis or umbrella table. Second floor balcony is available for smoking. Catering and meeting/conference services are available. Wi-Fi internet service and cable television are available for customers. Entrance to the building is handicapped accessible.
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
64 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Good café in a busy location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

It was our first dining experience after we arrived in Senggigi. We choose this café because of the good ranking in Tripadvisor. The location is a little bit busy and if you like to sit outside you can observe the traffic jam with a lot of honking scooters and legendary “Lombok Ferrari’s”. The food quality is good, the stuff is friendly, and the various kinds of snacks and main dishes are available. The taste of the food - we found it a bit adjusted to the needs of European people. Overall, we were satisfied with Papa Besar Café.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Elena A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    147
    96
    27
    11
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
51 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Excellent food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

Great food, was very flavorful and very reasonably priced. Fastest internet in Senggigi. The staff was incredibly friendly and accommodating. We were surprised by the delicious food, as we had originally just gone there to use the wifi! Quiet little restaurant, not pretentious, nothing too fancy, just really good food. Try it!

I had the Spiced Chicken #1. Was very good.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Esther P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
39 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Unbelievably overrated!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

At here for lunch as I saw papa bear's was rated as no.3 restaurant in senggigi.

Prices are fair for the standard of dishes as I would describe the food as a small step above home cooking.

Staff seemed uninterested and cafe lacked atmosphere. It actually felt awkward and unwelcoming with no music or banter.

Can't say the experience was unpleasant but we will not he returning.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank oj_sb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surabaya, Jawa Timur, Indonesia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Cozy and good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

Cozy and homely cafe .. good food and beverage and cheap..try the spiced chicken..the sauce is very good..
the zinger is so good..u should try it when visit senggigi

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Christopher T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Ok Food, Great Onion Rings.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

Very quiet inside BUT is airconditioned. The onion rings were awesome as was the sataybut the GadoGado was not up too scratch.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank BKellyCaruana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Papa Besar Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Papa Besar Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing